Second SIM / Backup SIM/ Bank only SIM Plan VI, Airtel, Jio, BSNL

The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.
Meanwhile me with 2 jio sims.
Primary one with that 189 plan for every month.

For secondary sim, I recharge twise or max to max thrice in a year with the same 189 plan as of now

jio doesnt need to be reacharged for incoming service right?
Meanwhile me with 2 jio sims.
Primary one with that 189 plan for every month.

For secondary sim, I recharge twise or max to max thrice in a year with the same 189 plan as of now

jio doesnt need to be reacharged for incoming service right?
No currently they're also putting some restrictions , I guess after 2 or 3 months the incoming calls will be stopped ( told by those annoying agents from jio who spam for recharge) , but I'm receiving sms and calls till now, last reacharge was in July

if you buy a jiophone handset and then there is Rs 75/- for 23 days plan
And then that number/SIM can be used in another phone?

On bsnl sim (soon to be jio)
I think to maintain "santulan" it might be made ASNL.

My primary number is 15 year old and is on Airtel. I usually recharge for 56 or 84 days with whatever is the cheapest "unlimited" 5G + unlimited local+ISD plan there is at that time. No intention of porting it anywhere because I can objectively say that Airtel is much better one among the two very bad top providers in the country as of now which is a duopoly now for all practical reasons.

Secondary (kinda spam-catcher) number is now on Jio.

== warning: uninteresting text wall ahead | TL;dr: sob story of experience with BSNL ==

My secondary number is only a few days younger than my main number (yeah, I had the foresight of using a spam-catcher number when I was getting no spams 😀.. actually I was younger and fresh out of college so the reason was slightly different - kinda not "sharing" the main number a lot with a lot of people 😛) was on Vodafone and then when I pretty much stopped using it and the first cheap plan purges started (I guess after the death of DoCoMo etc; not sure) I moved it to BSNL. Kept it there for sometime and one day my annual validity plan suddenly ceased to exist after 6-7 days of recharge. I had bought a temporary talk-time to use as my cheap annual validity plan pretty much had no talk-time. That talk-time top-up wiped my annual recharge (didn't know it yet) and after 7 days my number was invalid. Why? Because apparently that top up with 7 day validity killed my 365 validity and that recharge and money was gone. It was not mentioned on the website but customer care helpfully told me that information was internally available and I asked what I could do and I was told I could again recharge with an annual plan and I said what if I needed to get talk-time - "do not charge with one that has its own validity" - how will I know for sure - "you call us we will tell you". Great.

The important thing is - it took me 7-8 days to find this info and that too I had to visit local BSNL office 2-3 times. Recharged with some 1 month plan or so for the time being.

Then one day - network was gone. Customer kept asking me to reinsert the SIM and restart the phone and they said there's no problem. Again to BSNL office - I was told my KYC wasn't there. I asked what did they mean "it was not there" - "we don't know, we have no KYC for you in our records". Good answer. Anyway, I asked them what all I will need and got the KYC done in the next visit.

I got the network back the next day. Same day I went to Jio office and ported it to Jio and yeah I have to pay a lot now just to keep the number alive but then this number is not only spam-catcher but at a lot of places it is my backup/second number including for my main number.

I am someone who supports Govt run services for a country like ours especially seeing how some Govts might make conditions such that a single company runs so amok that it grows astronomically and the country practically has a telecom duopoly now. But dear god there is no place even in hell for BSNL and its babus. This PSU must be wiped out from the face of this godforsaken earth.

I will rather go back to pigeons and hand delivered scrolls than ever trying BSNL again.

== uninteresting BSNL sob story ends ==

I don't understand why Vi is struggling along. Shouldn't they just shut shop and die in peace? Does it hope for an acquisition? Is powers to be waiting for a good time to gift it to one of the Amdani? Maybe Christmas or new year, since didn't happen in Diwali.

How many jio 3599/- plan can be stacked?

Can we recharge directly? Or have to buy plan voucher and then add them manually?

Just in case if I buy a plan voucher of 3599/- then how long they are valid before they expire?

Any chance to get better price / offer in near future?

@SSV @desiviru & Others
Total 50 recharges can be stacked in Jio with any denomination. There is no expiry.

Rather than stacking recharge, buy vouchers which also has no expiry. Later you can use on own number recharge or family or anyone else.

Don't stack. Prices will stay same or little less with lesser benefits till 2028. 2 years before spectrum renewal which is due in 2030 auctions, Jio will hike steeply to have money for large chunk of spectrum that will complete 20 years with Jio.

Even if they increase 10% say next year, you already can invest that money and grow at better rate.

I invested in 2019 till 2029 and trust me I have saved neck to neck. Not much. So average saving is 9-10% per year for 10 years with 100% tariff increase.

yr mera ek sim discontinued ho jaega december mei as i lost it...it was karnataka sim and i can ttravel it ...koi tarika h reissue krwane ka?

Toh kya hua, kahi bhi jake reissue ho jayega. Aadhaar card and ₹50 rupee leke jana.

Konsi sim hai waise? Yeh upar maine Airtel ka bataya

May be ek police complaint bhi submit karna padega normal GD
Only if waha jake bola ki meri sim kho (lost) ho gayi hai.

If yeh bologe ki mujhe reissue karwani hai sim, and reason boldena ki sim detect nhi ho rhi thi. Uski chip ghis gayi hai. They won't ask anything.

Tried 2 times at different locations 😉

Only if waha jake bola ki meri sim kho (lost) ho gayi hai.

If yeh bologe ki mujhe reissue karwani hai sim, and reason boldena ki sim detect nhi ho rhi thi. Uski chip ghis gayi hai. They won't ask anything.

Tried 2 times at different locations 😉
Haan ye bol sakte hai but depends ki agar unhone mang liya purana wala then dusre store pe jana padega

@2025, one thing you have to keep in mind if you go with vouchers, don't lose your sim as these are attached with sim card and can be accessed only via My Jio app and Jio won't give you anything if you port out or lose sim.

Sometimes people lock aadhaar biometrics and getting duplicate sim/reissue becomes difficult for them. In such situations you will be stucked. After getting duplicare sim, you can still access vouchers though.

One of my friend having vouchers worth Rs.3000+ left (multiple denominations incl. 149/239 etc) forgot to transfer to other Jio number and ported out and lost it all as Jio denied any compensation after that.

Jio allows you to transfer voucher to other Jio numbers and it will have no expiry in that number also. Just don't tick the option of "This is Gift" as selecting it makes it valid only for 90 days for the receiver to redeem.

The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.