IDFC First Bank Blocking Debit Card Reward Portals Again in 2025: What’s Going On?

Last year, I posted about a similar issue when IDFC First Bank issued notices to several customers, stating that their reward points for an entire financial year would be purged. You can read that post here: https://www.technofino.in/community...he-situation-solved-by-idfc-first-bank.25810/ for the full context.

At the time, the bank claimed that certain customers had used their debit cards to load money and earned reward points in violation of their debit card reward program policy. After that post gained attention, IDFC First Bank contacted me and resolved the issue by unblocking our member’s reward portal account within a few days.

Fast forward to 2025—IDFC First Bank is once again blocking access to some customers’ debit card reward portals. This time, the situation is even more unclear. Affected customers haven’t received any prior email notifications. When they contacted IDFC First Bank’s customer care, they were informed that only the branch manager could unblock their accounts.

One of our members reported that upon contacting the branch manager, they were asked to provide income tax returns, the source of funds spent via debit card, and complete KYC details. Despite fulfilling these requirements, their reward portal was still not reactivated. In some cases, branch managers allegedly refused to assist and asked the customer to close and reopen their account instead.

Here are a few important questions for IDFC First Bank:​

1. What is the exact reason for blocking the reward portal?
  2. Why is it necessary to go through the branch manager for unblocking?
    Why can’t customers directly submit the required documents to a central email or support channel for faster resolution?
  3. Why are you asking for ITR copies?
    Asking for a source of funds is understandable, but demanding ITRs for users who spend just ₹2-3 lakhs per month using a debit card seems excessive.
  4. You’ve already restricted many MCCs (Merchant Category Codes),
    significantly reducing the possibility of money rotation (e.g., wallet loading and returning funds to a bank account). So what’s the real issue?
Several people have been facing this problem for the past few weeks or even months. We urge IDFC First Bank to review the affected accounts and, if no unusual activity is detected, restore access to the reward portals and allow customers to redeem their points.

Below, I’m sharing links to posts from TF Community members who’ve experienced this issue, so you can refer to real examples of the problem:

1. https://www.technofino.in/community/posts/983723/

2. https://www.technofino.in/community/posts/982475/

3. https://www.technofino.in/community/posts/982061/

4. https://www.technofino.in/community/posts/984184/

We hope the bank takes these concerns seriously and acts promptly.

Update: 6th April 2025, Evening:

The IDFC First Bank social media team contacted me regarding this thread. They’ve asked me to share an email ID (customer.service@idfcfirstbank.com) with all affected members. Everyone facing this issue should send their details to the provided email, and their dedicated social media team will handle the matter accordingly.

Screenshot_20250406_185537_Gmail.webp

We hope the bank takes these concerns seriously and acts promptly.
the new reward portal doesn't have activity ledger like previously. there's no transparency on points earned, if any on per txn basis.

previously customers used to keep track of eligible txns & contact the rewards team if no rewards for a particular txn after 14 days, for manual credit.

seems the new reward points vendor (Tripstacc/Shopstacc) doesn't like such cases & claim everything is instant, so no need for activity ledger they say.

The IDFC First Bank social media team contacted me regarding this thread. They’ve asked me to share an email ID (customer.service@idfcfirstbank.com) with all affected members. Everyone facing this issue should send their details to the provided email, and their dedicated social media team will handle the matter accordingly.

Screenshot_20250406_185537_Gmail.webp

View attachment 89376
This is basically throwing the can down to individual cases instead of united case to avoid noise. Bank has all the powers to decide appropriate contours of the rewards program rather than backstabbing customers post facto.

Woh sab toh thik hai but everyone must use IDFC Firstap RuPay Card for all Credit Card bill payment and earn 10x reward points, full info -

Because - "Are Aag Lage Chahe Basti Main, Apun Raheta Masti Mai" 🕺🕺

Woh sab toh thik hai but everyone must use IDFC Firstap RuPay Card for all Credit Card bill payment, full info -

Because - "Are Aag Lage Chahe Basti Main, Apun Raheta Masti Mai" 🕺🕺

Bhai tum band krwa hi do isko bhi... Problem hi khtm ho jayegi

I think we should move over savings en masse to other banks to put some pressure.
They already have details of all accounts they blocked why they act like innocent and make the customers go through trouble again.

Nevertheless no harm in sharing concern once again.

Thank you Sumanta for taking this issue up.

Let's hope the bank become more sensible.

I understand that many may not be pleased with this post, but after considerable thought, I decided to share my perspective.

@TechnoFino I would like to highlight a few points regarding why this situation with IDFC is unfolding again. I have been associated with IDFC Bank since July 2023, and over time, I’ve observed various developments and gained some insight into their practices. It’s evident that the rewards portal is being selectively blocked for certain customers, not across the board. I believe that 80–90% of those affected are aware of the reasons behind the block, whether it's related to their account or reward access.

While I’m not here to pass judgment on how customers choose to spend, it's important to acknowledge that banks, like any other business, need to remain profitable in order to continue offering benefits. Unfortunately, some users treat high-benefit accounts as a loophole—maintaining the minimum average balance while maximizing rewards in ways that don’t allow the bank to recoup costs.

For example:

Customer A maintains ₹80K/30K in a Wealth or Select savings account and consistently meets monthly spend targets of 50K/30K RPs to earn from spending 5.37L/3.4L every month, earning 6L/3.6L reward points annually, translating to around ₹1.5L/₹90K in value.
Meanwhile, the bank’s earnings from such a customer are minimal.

In contrast, Customer B, who maintains ₹2L in the savings account and earns 20K points per month, rarely faces issues.

BMs are not necessarily to blame—they're just tasked with assessing customer profiles and verifying documents. However, I agree that this verification process could be made smoother and moved online.

I’m also aware of cases where users conducted transactions worth ₹14L–16L in six months while maintaining just ₹30K–40K in their accounts—transferring funds in and out solely to gain rewards. Many of these users have limited or no ITR filings or file income well below their transaction volumes. This kind of behavior isn’t sustainable and sends the wrong signals to the bank.

What people often fail to realize is that short-term gains can lead to long-term consequences. Ending a relationship with a bank on a negative note might cost you access to future premium products or offers. It's important to think strategically. If you’re benefiting from a system, also consider its sustainability from the provider's end.

I know some genuine users have been impacted as well. To those users, I’d say stay patient and don’t panic. Share complete details if asked.

If you know you’ve been excessively exploiting loopholes, it’s time to reconsider your approach.

This message might not be well-received by everyone, but I felt it was necessary to share an honest viewpoint. I'm not against anyone, nor am I trying to suggest how one should use their account. Everyone is free to earn and use rewards as they choose. All I urge is to make informed, balanced decisions—not just for short-term gains but for long-term value.

I understand that many may not be pleased with this post, but after considerable thought, I decided to share my perspective.

@TechnoFino I would like to highlight a few points regarding why this situation with IDFC is unfolding again. I have been associated with IDFC Bank since July 2023, and over time, I’ve observed various developments and gained some insight into their practices. It’s evident that the rewards portal is being selectively blocked for certain customers, not across the board. I believe that 80–90% of those affected are aware of the reasons behind the block, whether it's related to their account or reward access.

While I’m not here to pass judgment on how customers choose to spend, it's important to acknowledge that banks, like any other business, need to remain profitable in order to continue offering benefits. Unfortunately, some users treat high-benefit accounts as a loophole—maintaining the minimum average balance while maximizing rewards in ways that don’t allow the bank to recoup costs.

For example:

Customer A maintains ₹80K/30K in a Wealth or Select savings account and consistently meets monthly spend targets of 50K/30K RPs to earn from spending 5.37L/3.4L every month, earning 6L/3.6L reward points annually, translating to around ₹1.5L/₹90K in value.

In contrast, Customer B, who maintains ₹2L in the savings account and earns 20K points per month, rarely faces issues.

BMs are not necessarily to blame—they're just tasked with assessing customer profiles and verifying documents. However, I agree that this verification process could be made smoother and moved online.

I’m also aware of cases where users conducted transactions worth ₹14L–16L in six months while maintaining just ₹30K–40K in their accounts—transferring funds in and out solely to gain rewards. Many of these users have limited or no ITR filings or file income well below their transaction volumes. This kind of behavior isn’t sustainable and sends the wrong signals to the bank.

What people often fail to realize is that short-term gains can lead to long-term consequences. Ending a relationship with a bank on a negative note might cost you access to future premium products or offers. It's important to think strategically. If you’re benefiting from a system, also consider its sustainability from the provider's end.

I know some genuine users have been impacted as well. To those users, I’d say stay patient and don’t panic. Share complete details if asked.

If you know you’ve been excessively exploiting loopholes, it’s time to reconsider your approach.

This message might not be well-received by everyone, but I felt it was necessary to share an honest viewpoint. I'm not against anyone, nor am I trying to suggest how one should use their account. Everyone is free to earn and use rewards as they choose. All I urge is to make informed, balanced decisions—not just for short-term gains but for long-term value.
surely, that must be the issue
but the bank should have ensured to at least send an intimation before blocking, that we note ____ high amt txn in your account we sincerely urge you to share this and we advice you to avoid doing this repeatedly else this and that would happen

and we know man does the most he's told to not
but still some sincere ones might have reconsidered

then placing blocks over the ones who did not listen should have been more feasible

Agree with @Anindya98 - There are people with 40-50K MAB and earning 50K points per month via DC cc bill pay... lot of times, they pay cc bills of friends relatives etc. to reach close to 50k per month points.

Bank is not wrong in blocking such users to be honest. Demanding ITRs is fine, since 5L per month is 60L per anum CC spends, and if ITR does not support it, clearly it is the case of money rotation, prohibited by any banking T&Cs

Only issue being some genuine users caught in the crossfire

For example:

The bank vetted every transaction. It confirmed that customers met all conditions. It credited rewards after ensuring rules were followed. Now, weeks later, it wants to take them back. This is not just poor process. This is a breach of trust.

If someone followed your rules — maintained the required balance, spent only on allowed MCCs, waited patiently for points to become redeemable — and then you block their access or reverse rewards, what message are you sending? That following rules leads to punishment?

Let’s be clear — no one hacked the system. No one looted the bank. Customers acted within the framework the bank itself defined. They were simply smart, not dishonest. The silence from the bank only adds suspicion. What is so damaging that it cannot be explained openly? What exactly is the bank hiding?

If this is about profitability, fine — banks have the right to fix flawed programs. But own it. Communicate it. Improve it. Don’t attack the people who played fair. This is not just penny wise and pound foolish — this is like blaming passengers for using a valid ticket when the airline made a pricing error.

Better yet, look at how Amazon handles mistakes. If a pricing error happens, the company still honors the order. It doesn’t cancel the delivery a month later and blacklist the buyer. Because Amazon understands — its reputation is worth more than correcting a few decimal points.

Right now, IDFC is acting like a carnival game operator. You win the game fairly, place the ring on the right bottle, and then they pull the prize away, saying “we don’t like how you played.”

This is a broken way to run a business. Not because of the rewards. But because of what it says about your culture. One that fears scrutiny, avoids accountability, and punishes the honest.

A bank that can’t stand by its word will eventually lose more than rewards — it will lose the very trust that built its customer base.

In banking Trust is all that matters and here IDFC clearly can't be trusted.

I've moved my funds and will never comeback here, Suggest others to take what they feel right.

surely, that must be the issue
but the bank should have ensured to at least send an intimation before blocking, that we note ____ high amt txn in your account we sincerely urge you to share this and we advice yo
I know the exact reason why the bank hasn’t notified customers, because they themselves aren’t fully aware of it. I faced a similar issue after using my debit card multiple times at the same merchant within a short span. The system flagged it as suspicious activity and blocked the card.

When I contacted customer support, they were clueless. They said my card was active, yet all transactions were being declined with the message “your card is blocked.” After multiple follow-ups over 5–6 days, the issue was finally resolved.

However, the same issue happened again a few days later. This time, I chose to replace the debit card, and since then, it’s been working smoothly.

The problem is that even IDFC’s team doesn’t fully understand how their system behaves. Unfortunately, their system has a tendency to repeat the same issues again and again.
and we know man does the most he's told to not
but still some sincere ones might have reconsidered
Yes, some sincere ones got caught in the crossfire.
then placing blocks over the ones who did not listen should have been more feasible
:hundred-points: agreed