Amex upgrade offer: Take or Pass?

VGisHere

Today, I got a message in Amex app for an eligible upgrade from MRCC to Platinum Travel Card!

I went through the details of the same but couldn’t find anything concrete to take up the offer!

Also, I couldn’t find a fee waiver option as spend based benefit unlike MRCC!

Also in 2021, I wasnt able to reach the milestone but Amex waived off fee as goodwill gesture on MRCC!

So, I’m wondering if this really is an upgrade?

My first thoughts, I’ll pass.
But would be great to know some insights on the same!

Today, I got a message in Amex app for an eligible upgrade from MRCC to Platinum Travel Card!

I went through the details of the same but couldn’t find anything concrete to take up the offer!

Also in 2021, I wasnt able to reach the milestone but Amex waived off fee as goodwill gesture on MRCC!

i has taken this offer 6-7 months back.. they had given me 10000 MR points and 1000rs amazo voucher for upgrade.. no waive off for fees.. but after few months they have converted my mrcc into lifetime free companion (till i hold plat travel).. and i really find gr8 value in plat travel with 48k MR points and 10k taj voucher with 4 lakh annual spends.. no monthly hassle and all spends (incld wallet loads and fuel counted)

Axis Atlas beats Platinum travel left right and center.
Can U pls elaborate ,
I use plat travel 4 lakh jus for 40k points and 10k taj voucher .

How much do we make in spending 4lakh on atlas .

40k points i use to convert it to marriot points when there is shceme going on .

Can U pls elaborate ,
I use plat travel 4 lakh jus for 40k points and 10k taj voucher .

How much do we make in spending 4lakh on atlas .

40k points i use to convert it to marriot points when there is shceme going on .
For 4 lakh spends I think Plat Travel is better than Atlas.
Also correction, you get 48k points for 4 lakh spends (40k bonus + 8k normal)

Amex gives points for wallet loads and plat travel is far better than axis card atlas or any other. Points don't expire u can trf them to Hotels or airline. And customer support is far better than axis or any other bank. Am nearing my 4 lakhs few more myths to go . For1.9 lakhs milestone they credit 15000 points plus I got as Welcome.e 10000 point when I got upgraded with fee. I still feel amex plat travel gives better value upto 4lakhs than any other card. Best part is one can trf to any partners and u get 5x or 10 x if u book through rewards portal other or buy vouchers .

Axis sbi hdfc 3 majors devalued all their cards one don't get points for wallet load or rent pyt. But they love to charge 1 percent plus get. If they charge they should give points.idfc gives 3x on rent pay earlier it was10x but devalued it.

i has taken this offer 6-7 months back.. they had given me 10000 MR points and 1000rs amazo voucher for upgrade.. no waive off for fees.. but after few months they have converted my mrcc into lifetime free companion (till i hold plat travel).. and i really find gr8 value in plat travel with 48k MR points and 10k taj voucher with 4 lakh annual spends.. no monthly hassle and all spends (incld wallet loads and fuel counted)
I received mail few weeks back to upgrade my MRCC to Platinum travel. Will my MRCC card be closed if I go through the upgrade process? If not then how is this upgrade process different from applying afresh? (considering no referral and fees needs to be paid in both cases)

No u can still use mrcc until u ask them to close else it will be active. Amex will provide one person 2 credit cards and 1 charge card. I have two card smart earn and I recived upgrade to plat travel both working and both will have separate limits.

Can u share the upgrade link in dm pls.

Platnium travel with companion MRCC is good option to consider.
In my view its largely dependent on your spend pattern. If you can spend 20K every month, MRCC will give you the same reward rate (12 Points per 100) as Plat travel will give on reaching 4L spend threshold. If you spend only 6K per month split in 4 transaction of 1500 each, the reward rate is 18.67 points per 100. So you can have similar or higher reward rate for lower spend but yes, if you want to make more than 20K spend in a month, MRCC is pretty much useless. But this requires careful monitoring and planning which can be pain sometime. Hence from simpicity point of view, plat travel is better but you need to hit 4L spend else reward rate is too low.
Few thing which are going for MRCC is though is that you can get the fee is significantly lower and that too can get reversed if you are planning to reach 20K spend in month. Another thing where MRCC is better is 24K and 18K point redemption collection. That can give you wider range and marginally better points value.
So if you can plan your spends to maximize MRCC points, go fot it, if you want simplicity in life, go for plat travel... 🙂

Did you ask them for this offer or they made it a free companion on their own?
I asked them. Most normal agents on call centre say no such offer going on. But once I got call to upgrade to Amex Platinum (60k fee card) and I asked him to convert MRCC to LTF as companion and he was able to do it.. he told me once I take Platinum, even Plat Travel will become LTF.. I didn't take Platinum eventually so I have MRCC LTF and Plat Travel paid.. honestly i am not sure why others were saying no such offer while this person was able to do it..

So guys, Its been 6 months using MRCC. Hitting 20k every month.

And today I received a upgrade offer like OP. ₹3500 joining, ₹5000 renewal fee. And welcome benefit of 10k MR points.

I also read in many posts people suggesting to apply Plat Travel via ref link for FYF + 2k MR.

But I'm confused about Plat Travel basically as i recently got Magnus and according to my calculations can hit 1lac atleast for 3-4 months, if used correctly.
Other than these months, i can use either PlatTravel or Magnus.

So my question is, Magnus without monthly milestone is better or worse than Plat Travel with 4lac yearly milestone?
(if for time being we assume AMEX acceptability is not an issue)

@Wealth is my birth right! @RewardsAlert @anirban.choudhury @Slayer