Debt - CC holder expired

sridharkett

Dear Friends, My uncle passed away due to illness on 6th January 2025. We have used his credit card to pay part of his hospital bills. Spent around 1.5 Lakhs on his card. I read one article few years ago in our forum that if a person is deceased they will waive off the outstanding payment and close the card, Is that true? We have used hdfc regalia credit card. Or else we have to pay the entire outstanding amount. He is 50 years old and he was the only person earning for that family, both of his children's were studying college. Kindly do suggest if you guys have any idea on this...

This is for axis, similarly check MITC for that bank where you spent 1.5L.

1736952360127.webp
1736952377181.webp
1736952396453.webp

1. Call that bank, convey the information and look for the possible options // better visit branch incase if account holder.
2. Check for credit shield etc. and see if any waivers applicable or not.
3. If none of them working, have to clear dues or proceed legally.

Sorry for your loss.

Dear Friends, My uncle passed away due to illness on 6th January 2025. We have used his credit card to pay part of his hospital bills. Spent around 1.5 Lakhs on his card. I read one article few years ago in our forum that if a person is deceased they will waive off the outstanding payment and close the card, Is that true? We have used hdfc regalia credit card. Or else we have to pay the entire outstanding amount. He is 50 years old and he was the only person earning for that family, both of his children's were studying college. Kindly do suggest if you guys have any idea on this...
Depends
If you have used to pay after his death that's illegal use unless he had add on credit card

Just inform the bank about death of cardholder first foremost
Didn't he had life insurance?

If you out of money . Just default on card after informing. Don't pay anything

Later settle. Usually bank goes 20-30 % of original due
All visit
" Janta adalat " which District magistrate organise to hear these kinda cases to be out of any harassment.

Even if you are nominee but person doesn't leave behind assets you aren't liable to pay .