EVs vs ICE Scooters

raniphore

I am thinking of purchasing a new scooter. Among EVs I prefer Ather over Ola(you can make me change my mind if given a proper feedback) but the on-road price in Kolkata for Ather is too much ~2 lacs. OLA might be a little cheaper but skeptical about the quality since Ather has been in the market for quite sometime. Among ICE scooters I have Suzuki Avenis 125, Ntorq Race XP, Aprilia SR160 in mind. Heard Aprilia offers less mileage and ntorq reviews are very good. Can anyone suggest me if I should go with EVs or ICE and the corresponding vehicle that is best suited in their categories. I am mostly looking for a sporty look, sufficient tech, good ride quality and average mileage.

Bhai, I have Ola and I don't have any complaint from it. I got Ola in the 1st batch of scooters and initially there were some bugs. Like once scooter was showing 40% charge but got discharged on road withing few minutes and had to be towed. But after software updates, have never faced such issues. The only rarest of rare issue I face is that sometimes scooter doesn't respond after switching on. In that case, i simply reboot it in like 30 seconda and then it works fine. As far as build quality is concerned, I have seen issue of front suspension break, but trust me, you won't be driving on as rough roads as mine. So, any day, Ola is best.. Baki, if you wish to purchase I recieve referral emails from them, that would maybe give some discount to you and some cash to me

Is there any EV scooter which doesn't have "smart/AI" features and also don't have touchscreens? I want the one with physical buttons, not touchscreens. Basically, no requirement of "software" upgrades or monthly plans.

Hero electric . But they arent really comparable in terms of quality with ATHER

Bhai, I have Ola and I don't have any complaint from it. I got Ola in the 1st batch of scooters and initially there were some bugs. Like once scooter was showing 40% charge but got discharged on road withing few minutes and had to be towed. But after software updates, have never faced such issues. The only rarest of rare issue I face is that sometimes scooter doesn't respond after switching on. In that case, i simply reboot it in like 30 seconda and then it works fine. As far as build quality is concerned, I have seen issue of front suspension break, but trust me, you won't be driving on as rough roads as mine. So, any day, Ola is best.. Baki, if you wish to purchase I recieve referral emails from them, that would maybe give some discount to you and some cash to me
Ola personally would avoid anyday. I think its total non sense to not research the market, simply acquire a foreign entity and start manufacturing an EV. Total chaos. Its shown in product.
Till date there are users reporting product issues and ineffective customer support.

Ola personally would avoid anyday. I think its total non sense to not research the market, simply acquire a foreign entity and start manufacturing an EV. Total chaos. Its shown in product.
Till date there are users reporting product issues and ineffective customer support.
I am not denying that.. However personally I haven't face any serious issue yet. Whatever small bugs there were in my scooter initially, mechanics would come at home to fix it. Infact very recently when I went to the service station to get front suspension changed, one guy had his scooter driven 40,000 kms.. Imagine the amount of money he would have saved.. I guess for every 1000km, I save Rs 3000.. His scooter is practically free given Ola is refunding 10k for chargers.
I am definitely not taking side of Ola, but if it's the top bought ev in the market for all successive months, then definitely they would have done some market research.
Baaki sabki apni apni shraddha, if I had to buy another one, I would still go with Ola