• Hey there! Welcome to TFC! View fewer ads on the website just by signing up on TF Community.

Filing Income Tax Return (ITR) as a Student: Need Guidance

Mysterio_6174

TF Select
Hi everyone,

I hope you're all doing well. I'm a 19-year-old student, and I have some questions regarding filing my Income Tax Return (ITR) this year. I recently learned that for individuals with an income of up to 7 lakh, it is tax-free. Since I fall within this income bracket, I am considering filing my ITR to potentially increase my credit card limit.

I currently have three credit cards with low limits and I believe that by submitting my ITR, I might have a better chance of increasing those limits. However, I'm unsure about the appropriate ITR form to use. Should I file ITR 1 or ITR 2? Your guidance on this matter would be greatly appreciated.

Another concern I have is that while I want to file an ITR for an income of around 6-7 lakh, I don't actually have any income as I am a student. Can this cause any problems for me down the line?

Thank you in advance for your help and advice. I look forward to hearing your thoughts on this matter.

Hi everyone,

I hope you're all doing well. I'm a 19-year-old student, and I have some questions regarding filing my Income Tax Return (ITR) this year. I recently learned that for individuals with an income of up to 7 lakh, it is tax-free. Since I fall within this income bracket, I am considering filing my ITR to potentially increase my credit card limit.

I currently have three credit cards with low limits and I believe that by submitting my ITR, I might have a better chance of increasing those limits. However, I'm unsure about the appropriate ITR form to use. Should I file ITR 1 or ITR 2? Your guidance on this matter would be greatly appreciated.

Another concern I have is that while I want to file an ITR for an income of around 6-7 lakh, I don't actually have any income as I am a student. Can this cause any problems for me down the line?