My parents are getting their passports delivered to hometown this week. I will finally get my police verification done as soon as I receive their passports here![]()
My police verification was returned not clear 7 months later after multiple visits to the police station, post which I was able to schedule a visit to RPO Mumbai for September 30. They have initiated the police verification again, and yes, I'll be using my parents' passports as proof this timeSo your original application in BOM got rejected/put on hold?
I guess the passport for your parents will act as an alternative document required (instead of the birth and other certificates specified in the previous page) so that your own one gets processed then.
My police verification was returned not clear 7 months later after multiple visits to the police station, post which I was able to schedule a visit to RPO Mumbai for September 30. They have initiated the police verification again, and yes, I'll be using my parents' passports as proof this time
In such cases, what happens to folks whose parents are deceased and they have no proof of parental birth/education/passport?
Do they never get a passport? Looking at these rules and tweets from some folks, it does seem to be the case, which is sad.
Bhai....Musibaat mein sirf gandhi ji kaam aate hain...U should have accompanied some adult who would have handled the situation....500 Rs is fixed rate for police verification.Hi everyone,
Today, I (19) had passport police verification scheduled at my nearby police station. I currently reside in Maharashtra and my hometown is in Haryana. Permanent address is in Maharashtra, place of birth Haryana. I was asked to present my Passport form (received from passport office), birth certificate, rent agreement (on father’s name) and Aadhaar, along with my marksheets. Post checking these documents, the policeman asked me to provide either of my parent’s Birth certificate, school migration certificate or domicile certificate. As far as I know, one isn’t asked for these docs (at least from what I know from those around me). My parents (both over 50) have neither of those.
1) They were never provided birth certificates because they didn’t exist back then
2) Migration certificates are impossible to present as they are submitted at the next institute you attend
3) Domicile certificate can’t be obtained because we haven’t lived here for long enough.
The policeman was obstinate about these documents and refused to complete my verification without these. Has anyone else gone through these? Asked some people around and they suspect he’s trying to get a bribe.
PS: my parents have their permanent addresses in Haryana
Tried thrice. Offered 2k. He is obstinateBhai....Musibaat mein sirf gandhi ji kaam aate hain...U should have accompanied some adult who would have handled the situation....500 Rs is fixed rate for police verification.
I agree that most of the policeman ask for bribe but IMO we should not make bribing a normalcy.Bhai....Musibaat mein sirf gandhi ji kaam aate hain...U should have accompanied some adult who would have handled the situation....500 Rs is fixed rate for police verification.
I think he must be lying. For most of my friends working in PSU, there wasn't any police verification. Some exceptions were there but the police never created any issues.I was asked to produce my parents' death certificates during police verification in 2024. This is even after the fact that I work in a PSU and come under special category.
The police person told me that this is a recent internal directive of home ministry that either of the parent needs to be an Indian citizen (or born in pre independence India).
For PSU employees, passport is issued first and post issue police verification is done. For certain States like Bengal, the police verification is stricter as per directions from top. The person has no reason to lie. We had a friendly discussion, like two fellow colleagues. He did not ask for any money and even offered me tea.I think he must be lying. For most of my friends working in PSU, there wasn't any police verification. Some exceptions were there but the police never created any issues.
I submitted the verification documents today without any being asked for chai pani. Let's see how it goes
Moto of Indian Police is "जो आया हैं वो कुछ देके जायेगा और जो नहीं देके जायेगा वो फिर आएगा"