• Hey there! Welcome to TFC! View fewer ads on the website just by signing up on TF Community.

Hotel Points IS IHG AMBASSADOR TIER UPGRADE WORTHY?

Hi,I'm new to IHG hotel program. Planning to purchase the ambassador Membership at $225.
And I have a offer of 100% bonus points on purchase.

So , I will buy points but just checking weather ambassador tier purchase worthy along with points purchase or not?

Or any other plans are better?
Thanks Advance.
Much appreciated.

Bonus points and ambassador are two separate, unlinked transactions.

Ambassador rates have gone up from $200 to $225.
The points given for this paid membership is reduced from 20000 to the 15000.

I bought the membership in 2022 and used it in 2023 in Mumbai.

I renewed it in 2023.
It is expiring this month.
However I’m not planning to use the certificate this year.

The one paid night for the weekend that one needs to pay to use the certificate is NOT a member rate.
It is called Ambassador rate.

This rate is 25-30$ more than the member rate in the south east asia properties im exploring.

This is day light robbery in my book.

Why not just allow us to pay member rate, we’ve after all spent money/40K points to buy the ambassador membership and are Platinum Elites !

I’ve already got Re 1 value for using 10K points once last year.
I’ll think I’ve overall received .60p to .75p value for the 20K points I received when I bought the membership.

I’m not renewing my ambassador membership this year.

Doesn’t make sense for me for the above reasons + Intercon footprint + Intercons with free BF are almost non existent.

If you are ready to pay a premium ambassador rate for using the FNC you should buy the membership.

Else you are better off not buying it.

I renewed it in 2023.

The one paid night for the weekend that one needs to pay to use the certificate is NOT a member rate.

This rate is 25-30$ more than the member rate in the south east asia properties im exploring.