My Prolonged Struggle to Correct My Credit Profile Name and Seeking Guidance

NobiNobita

Respected Technofino community members!

First of all thanks for having me in this wonderful community and I look forward for the best!

I find myself in a prolonged struggle to correct my credit profile name and seek guidance on the matter. Several years ago, when I initially applied for my PAN card, my name was registered with the initial before as "M DHANISH AHMED." Despite all other government IDs having my initial at the end as "DHANISH AHMED M," I didn't address the issue until I noticed my CIBIL report displaying my name as "MOHAMED ISMAIL (Initial abbreviated) DHANISH AHMED."

In an attempt to rectify this, I visited the PAN correction center, where I was informed that having initials in the PAN database is not possible but it can be abbreviated. Resigned to the need for an abbreviated form, I went ahead with the correction, resulting in my PAN database now showing my name as "DHANISH AHMED MOHAMED ISMAIL."

However, my CIBIL report and associated credit products persist in using my old name. Contacting lenders such as Aditya Birla Finance (Paytm Postpaid), BOB Financial (Baroda Credit Card), and IDFC (Ola Money Postpaid Plus) yielded responses indicating it was not possible to update my name. Frustrated by this roadblock, I closed those accounts and opened new credit card and loan accounts with a new PAN, albeit not for a name change those were not needed anymore then.

After waiting for 3-4 months for lenders to report my new name, no changes have been reflected. I even created a small gold loan account with Muthoot Finance using my PAN and Voter ID, hoping it would add my new name to the bureau. While the gold loan and Voter ID are now reflected in my CIBIL report, my old name persists.

I understand that having my father's name at first may not be a significant problem, but guys please understand I need the correction 😭 I appeal to the community for guidance on what further steps I can take to resolve this issue.

Thank you all in advance for your invaluable assistance

and opened new credit card and loan accounts with a new PAN
You got a new PAN # ? or you meant new PAN name here in this sentence?

If you create a dispute with CIBIL regarding your name, they may close it saying "Lender who submitted the data first, you need to contact them to get it corrected." As CIBIL usually just mentions a clause that says it can't modify or remove any data in its records on its own. The lender who submitted needs to be requested to resubmit the corrected data to CIBIL, and then CIBIL could update the record.

But since this is regarding your personal name, I would suggest the following:
Call CIBIL support. Explain them the issue. Get to know what they are suggesting, whether they are showing the inability to correct and mentioning the same "lender needs to blah blah..." or some other procedure to get it corrected.
If they mention some other procedure to get it corrected, do update here in this thread, and we will review and suggest accordingly.
If they mention lender's route, which does not seem to be possible in your case now, then go ahead and raise a dispute with CIBIL via their website/app.

Time to resolve/close the dispute is 30 days but they revert back much before that i.e. < 10 days.
You can further mention in the dispute via the dispute form or via CIBIL support email id by mentioning the dispute ID in the email subject, that your name in PAN database has been updated. You could also share the soft copy of your PAN with CIBIL that reflects your corrected name.

If that results into correction, good.
If they close the dispute without resolving, do update here in this thread, and we will review and suggest accordingly.
The next step would be to raise a complaint with RBI Ombudsman against CIBIL for not updating your corrected PAN name even though you reached out to them via official mode of communication and valid proofs. This may result in your favor.
Here the CIBIL dispute ID would be your base to present your case to RBI Ombudsman.
If CIBIL declines to update your name in 10-12 days or even less than that, then also you can raise a complaint with RBI Ombudsman. No need to wait for the 30 days period, as the RE reverted back with the decision and you are not satisfied with it.

Also, did you check your other credit profile and reports of Equifax, Experian, CRIF? The same issue must be reflecting in these CIC's report as well.
And to get it updated in all the CIC's report, you need to follow the steps provided by these CICs separately.
Start the procedure with all of them, and you share the valid proofs with all the CICs in question via their official mode of raising the request/communication.
You may not get any response for some of the CICs even for 30 days. No need to worry, that's the normal modus operandi for some CICs.
Just send a reminder to them via the official mode of communication before 30 days i.e. around 28th day.
And on 29th day, raise the complaints with RBI Ombudsman separately for each CICs. Here I'm referring to the other 3 CICs, and not CIBIL. With CIBIL, as soon as they revert back with a resolution that is not in your favor.

You got a new PAN # ? or you meant new PAN name here in this sentence?

If you create a dispute with CIBIL regarding your name, they may close it saying "Lender who submitted the data first, you need to contact them to get it corrected." As CIBIL usually just mentions a clause that says it can't modify or remove any data in its records on its own. The lender who submitted needs to be requested to resubmit the corrected data to CIBIL, and then CIBIL could update the record.

But since this is regarding your personal name, I would suggest the following:
Call CIBIL support. Explain them the issue. Get to know what they are suggesting, whether they are showing the inability to correct and mentioning the same "lender needs to blah blah..." or some other procedure to get it corrected.
If they mention some other procedure to get it corrected, do update here in this thread, and we will review and suggest accordingly.
If they mention lender's route, which does not seem to be possible in your case now, then go ahead and raise a dispute with CIBIL via their website/app.

Time to resolve/close the dispute is 30 days but they revert back much before that i.e. < 10 days.
You can further mention in the dispute via the dispute form or via CIBIL support email id by mentioning the dispute ID in the email subject, that your name in PAN database has been updated. You could also share the soft copy of your PAN with CIBIL that reflects your corrected name.

If that results into correction, good.
If they close the dispute without resolving, do update here in this thread, and we will review and suggest accordingly.
The next step would be to raise a complaint with RBI Ombudsman against CIBIL for not updating your corrected PAN name even though you reached out to them via official mode of communication and valid proofs. This may result in your favor.
Here the CIBIL dispute ID would be your base to present your case to RBI Ombudsman.
If CIBIL declines to update your name in 10-12 days or even less than that, then also you can raise a complaint with RBI Ombudsman. No need to wait for the 30 days period, as the RE reverted back with the decision and you are not satisfied with it.

Also, did you check your other credit profile and reports of Equifax, Experian, CRIF? The same issue must be reflecting in these CIC's report as well.
And to get it updated in all the CIC's report, you need to follow the steps provided by these CICs separately.
Start the procedure with all of them, and you share the valid proofs with all the CICs in question via their official mode of raising the request/communication.
You may not get any response for some of the CICs even for 30 days. No need to worry, that's the normal modus operandi for some CICs.
Just send a reminder to them via the official mode of communication before 30 days i.e. around 28th day.
And on 29th day, raise the complaints with RBI Ombudsman separately for each CICs. Here I'm referring to the other 3 CICs, and not CIBIL. With CIBIL, as soon as they revert back with a resolution that is not in your favor.
Thanks for such a detailed reply bro. I didn't get a new PAN, I applied with PAN card with new name sorry for the confusion though. As u asked, Yes I checked with all other credit bureaus and they only generate reports with what name I give so not a problem at all CIBIL is the one I care about.

Yesterday I raised a dispute with CIBIL and today my ticket has been closed with the following reply "Please accept our sincere apology. TransUnion CIBIL on reviewing the information reported by bank /financial institution understands that the provided details are correct, we recommend you to get in touch with ICICI BANK LIMITED for required correction. As per Credit Information Companies Regulation Act, we are not authorized to delete or modify any records in your CIBIL Report without confirmation from the respective institute" what steps should I take next?

@Quantum bro after raising this issue to ICICI bank they asked for my Aadhar copy which I instantly provided and today got the below reply.

We write with reference to your query regarding Credit Card XX6005.

We inform you that as per our record your Name was correctly updated base on your Aadhar card as on December 21, 2023.

In case if you want to change name kindly update your Name in Aadhar card and then revert us back.

As per Aadhar card only we can able to update.

For any clarifications you may also call our customer care on 1800 1080.

My name in aadhar and ICICI card account is Dhanish Ahmed M.

@Quantum bro after raising this issue to ICICI bank they asked for my Aadhar copy which I instantly provided and today got the below reply.

We write with reference to your query regarding Credit Card XX6005.

We inform you that as per our record your Name was correctly updated base on your Aadhar card as on December 21, 2023.

In case if you want to change name kindly update your Name in Aadhar card and then revert us back.

As per Aadhar card only we can able to update.

For any clarifications you may also call our customer care on 1800 1080.

My name in aadhar and ICICI card account is Dhanish Ahmed M.
When you revert back on any thread, then you also need to provide some context (recap) for us to recall what is that you are pointing out.
From this post, I'm not able to figure out whether ICICI's statement is right or wrong.
You need to explain the response, the contradicting statements, your concerns and what are you looking for.
Reading someone's email and then figuring out the context of the msg, and factual correctness, is time consuming.
If you are seeking help from others and expect a response, then you need to help others in understanding your problem.

When you revert back on any thread, then you also need to provide some context (recap) for us to recall what is that you are pointing out.
From this post, I'm not able to figure out whether ICICI's statement is right or wrong.
You need to explain the response, the contradicting statements, your concerns and what are you looking for.
Reading someone's email and then figuring out the context of the msg, and factual correctness, is time consuming.
If you are seeking help from others and expect a response, then you need to help others in understanding your problem.
Sorry bro my mistake. First I disputed my name error with CIBIL for which CIBIL replied that the information is correct (Which is the name I requested correction for Dhanish Ahmed Mohammed Ismail) and advised me to get in touch with ICICI Bank for the required correction since they can't correct it on their own. So I wrote to ICICI bank and they asked my aadhar copy which I provided instantly. Today they replied that my aadhar name Dhanish Ahmed M is correctly updated based on my aadhar. As per their reply they are reporting the correct name Dhanish Ahmed M which is my aadhar name but didn't know why my Cibil report still shows Mohamed Ismail Dhanish Ahmed. Need your advice on what to do next. Hope my answer is clear.

I had a similar issue where my original name was M XXXXX, but while creating my Passport name had to be in full form, so it was recorded as MXXX XXXXX.

It started creating problems when I would submit my passport as proof and it didn't match with my Name on Aadhar.
So I used my Passport and updated my name on aadhaar, and then used aadhaar to update my name on PAN. I submitted these docs to all banks and had my name changed. Some banks had it properly changed and some didn't. Example: My SBI Card statement comes in the name of MXXX XXXXX, but in my account, it shows as M XXXXX.

I noticed the name was M XXXX on Cibil site also, I simply submitted a Profile Name rectification dispute, it was rejected first, then I submitted again and then it got fixed and they updated it. Still, it is a menace, some sites which prefetch aadhaar/Pan card would still fetch my old name and they would not let me edit it (Kotak) but some others work just fine and pull my new name.

This updation process happened over a period of 2 years, So I would say keep trying to have your name updated everywhere. Also in ITR, Passport, and other places where you have submitted KYC.

This was my whole process.
1. Update Name in Passport, Aaadhaar & PAN.
2. Update in Banks and KYC collectors like Zerodha who submit data to CKYC
3. Wait for new names to show in CIBIL, some will never update, ignore or close them.
4. After some latest updated Accounts have the new name, request CIBIL to update.

@vigzmv @Quantum bros
After raising a dispute with CIBIL for the second time quoting ICICI's reply my prolonged issue came to a pleasant ending as a bolt from the blue 🥰 My name has been finally corrected to DHANISH AHMED M in CIBIL report. Been struggling with it for the past two years but after posting it on Technofino my struggle came to an end. So if anybody facing similar issue here's my experience
1. Applied for PAN with my initial at the beginning which is the beginning of all issues
2. Updated PAN name with my initial expanded at the ending of my name
3. Raised disputes several times with CIBIL but all went in vain
4. Tried to find which credit company is responsible in reporting old name
5. Raised this issue with all credit companies but nothing helped
6. Closed all credit lines and credit cards which I took using old PAN with old name (initial at the beginning)
7. Disputed with CIBIL again but no use same old reply "cibil can't correct on it's own contact the lender" but didn't mention which lender
8. Used my new Pan (with initial at the end) to open new credit accounts but again no change reflected
9. After posting on TF community again raised dispute but luckily this time cibil mentioned the lender name which is ICICI.
10. Contacted ICICI and they asked my aadhar which I sent immediately and confirmed that my name is reported correctly by ICICI
11. Today raised another dispute with no hope but Boom! Name got changed 😭🙏🥰
Thanks to @Quantum @vigzmv bros !

@vigzmv @Quantum bros
After raising a dispute with CIBIL for the second time quoting ICICI's reply my prolonged issue came to a pleasant ending as a bolt from the blue 🥰 My name has been finally corrected to DHANISH AHMED A in CIBIL report. Been struggling with it for the past two years but after posting it on Technofino my struggle came to an end. So if anybody facing similar issue here's my experience
1. Applied for PAN with my initial at the beginning which is the beginning of all issues
2. Updated PAN name with my initial expanded at the ending of my name
3. Raised disputes several times with CIBIL but all went in vain
4. Tried to find which credit company is responsible in reporting old name
5. Raised this issue with all credit companies but nothing helped
6. Closed all credit lines and credit cards which I took using old PAN with old name (initial at the beginning)
7. Disputed with CIBIL again but no use same old reply "cibil can't correct on it's own contact the lender" but didn't mention which lender
8. Used my new Pan (with initial at the end) to open new credit accounts but again no change reflected
9. After posting on TF community again raised dispute but luckily this time cibil mentioned the lender name which is ICICI.
10. Contacted ICICI and they asked my aadhar which I sent immediately and confirmed that my name is reported correctly by ICICI
11. Today raised another dispute with no hope but Boom! Name got changed 😭🙏🥰
Thanks to @Quantum @vigzmv bros !
Happy for you brother!

There are couple of things to note:
1) Even though the lender has submited some information to CIBIL, it takes some time for that information to get processed by CIBIL and reflected in CIBIL reports.
2) The credit goes to ICICI bank too in this case, for acting on your request swiftly after you shared the Adhaar details with them when they requested.
If it was any other bank say Axis, HDFC, etc. it would have taken ages.
There's a reason why members here vouch for ICICI's service.
My name has been finally corrected to DHANISH AHMED A in CIBIL report.
DHANISH AHMED "A" or DHANISH AHMED "M" ?
I'm confused now 😉