Need Help: Filing a Strong Complaint to RBI Ombudsman Against HDFC Bank

Chegg

Hi TechnoFino Members,

I need guidance on raising a strong complaint with the RBI Ombudsman regarding an issue with HDFC Bank mishandling my credit card activation. Here’s what happened:

Issue Summary:

1. Unable to Activate HDFC Pixel Card on PayZapp Due to App Issue
    • During activation, PayZapp required me to enter an "Email ID for digital statements."
    • I tried both options (Google sign-in & manual entry), but it kept showing "Unable to Proceed."
    • Tried multiple times but faced the same issue.
  2. Raised Complaint with HDFC (with Proof) on Jan 20, 2025
    • I recorded a screen recording of the error and emailed it to escalation.cc@hdfcbank.com.
    • Received an acknowledgment on Jan 22 with a reference number (64919017), stating they would respond by Jan 28.
  3. Repeated Delays & No Resolution from HDFC
    • Jan 27 (1:39 PM): Got an email from alerts@hdfcbank.net, saying:
      👉 "Activate your credit card before 30/01/25 00:00 to avoid permanent closure."
    • Jan 27 (2:16 PM): I reminded them that my card was nearing automatic closure.
    • Jan 28 (5:11 PM): HDFC replied, saying they were still “looking into the issue” and would respond by Jan 29.
    • Jan 29 (9:09 PM): HDFC responded:
      ❌ "Your card has been permanently closed as it was not activated within 37 days. This is as per bank policy."
    • Continuously following the thread since then, haven't got the resolution yet

Problems with HDFC’s Response:

HDFC Delayed Resolution → Instead of fixing the issue, they kept extending the deadline until my card got closed.
Issue Was on Their Side → The activation issue was caused by their PayZapp app, yet they blamed me for not activating the card.
Contradiction in Their Own Words
  • Jan 27 Email: Activation deadline is 30/01/25 00:00.
  • Jan 29 Email: Card is already closed before the deadline. How is that possible?

Next Steps: Raising a Complaint to RBI Ombudsman

Since HDFC has failed to resolve my issue, I want to escalate this to the RBI Ombudsman via CMS RBI Portal.

Can anyone guide me on:
✅ How to draft a strong complaint that will make RBI take action?
✅ What key points and supporting documents should I include?

I appreciate any advice from this community! Thanks in advance. 🙏

Use ChatGPT - paid version is better!
Here you go - directly cooked by ChatGPT:

To help your friend raise a strong complaint with the RBI Ombudsman regarding the mishandling of their credit card activation issue with HDFC Bank, here’s a step-by-step guide on drafting the complaint and the key points they should focus on:

Steps to Draft the Complaint:

1. Clear Subject Line:

• “Complaint Regarding Mishandling of Credit Card Activation and Unjust Closure of HDFC Pixel Cardâ€

2. Introduction:

• Briefly introduce yourself and the issue.

• Mention that despite multiple attempts to resolve the matter with HDFC Bank, they failed to address the issue appropriately, resulting in a permanent card closure.

Example:

“I am writing to formally raise a complaint regarding the mishandling of my HDFC Pixel Card activation process. Despite multiple attempts to activate the card and several follow-up communications, I have been unfairly penalized with a permanent closure of my card, which I believe is due to an issue on the bank’s side.â€

3. Detailed Description of the Incident:

• Clearly outline the timeline of events (as mentioned in your message).

• Include specifics like emails, reference numbers, dates, and what HDFC promised vs. what they delivered.

Example:

• “On January 20, 2025, I attempted to activate my HDFC Pixel Card using PayZapp. However, the app repeatedly displayed an error preventing me from proceeding with the activation. Despite trying both the Google sign-in option and manual entry of the email ID for digital statements, I could not proceed.â€

• “I raised a complaint with HDFC Bank on January 20, 2025, providing proof (screen recording of the issue). HDFC acknowledged the complaint with reference number 64919017 on January 22, stating they would resolve the issue by January 28.â€

4. Describe the Problems with HDFC’s Response:

• Highlight the delays in their response, failure to fix the issue, and contradictory information in their communications.

• Point out that the bank failed to take accountability for the app issue and instead blamed you.

Example:

• “Despite repeated communications, HDFC kept extending the deadline, and on January 29, 2025, they informed me that my card had been permanently closed due to non-activation, which was caused by their own system error.â€

• “Additionally, the contradiction in their own emails—mentioning an activation deadline of January 30, 2025, yet stating the card was closed before the deadline—raises further concerns.â€

5. Explain Why You Are Raising the Complaint with RBI:

• Explain that HDFC has failed to resolve the matter despite your best efforts and that their actions are unjust.

• Mention that you believe the issue is due to their system failure and they have not provided a satisfactory response.

Example:

“Given the bank’s repeated delays, failure to take responsibility for the issue, and the unfair closure of my credit card, I am forced to escalate this issue to the RBI Ombudsman. I am seeking appropriate action and a resolution of my case.â€

6. Request for Action:

• Ask for a specific resolution. In this case, your friend might ask for:

• Reactivation of the credit card.

• Compensation for the inconvenience caused.

• Any penalties or unfair charges to be waived.

• A formal acknowledgment of their failure to handle the issue properly.

Example:

“I kindly request that the RBI Ombudsman take appropriate action against HDFC Bank for their mishandling of this issue and ensure that my card is reactivated. I would also appreciate compensation for the inconvenience caused and an acknowledgment of the bank’s failure in resolving the issue in a timely manner.â€

Key Points and Supporting Documents to Include:

1. Complaint Reference Number:

• Provide the reference number from HDFC Bank (64919017) for easy identification.

2. Screen Recording of the App Issue:

• Attach the screen recording as proof that the activation error was caused by the bank’s PayZapp app.

3. Email Correspondence with HDFC:

• Include copies of all emails, especially those with contradictory information (Jan 27 and Jan 29), showing the delays and the contradictory statements made by the bank.

4. Detailed Timeline of Events:

• Provide a clear timeline from Jan 20 to Jan 29, explaining what transpired during each stage.

5. Copies of the Bank’s Official Communications:

• Include all emails from HDFC Bank, especially those mentioning activation deadlines and card closure.

Filing the Complaint with RBI Ombudsman

Your friend can submit a complaint against HDFC Bank under the Integrated Ombudsman Scheme 2021 via the RBI Complaint Management System (CMS) Portal.

1. Online Complaint Submission:

• Portal: https://cms.rbi.org.in/

• Steps:

• Click “File a Complaintâ€

• Select “Banking Ombudsmanâ€

• Choose HDFC Bank Ltd as the entity

• Fill in the details, upload supporting documents, and submit

2. Email Complaint to RBI Ombudsman (Alternative to Online Portal)

• Email: crpc@rbi.org.in

• (This is RBI’s Consumer Redressal Processing Cell)

• Subject: Complaint Against HDFC Bank for Mishandling Credit Card Activation & Unjust Closure

• CC: pno@hdfcbank.com, mdceo@hdfcbank.com

3. Send a Physical Letter (Optional)

If they prefer to send a written complaint, they can mail it to:

Chief General Manager, Consumer Education and Protection Department,

Reserve Bank of India, Central Office, 1st Floor, Amar Building, Fort, Mumbai – 400001.

Hi TechnoFino Members,

I need guidance on raising a strong complaint with the RBI Ombudsman regarding an issue with HDFC Bank mishandling my credit card activation. Here’s what happened:

Issue Summary:

1. Unable to Activate HDFC Pixel Card on PayZapp Due to App Issue
    • During activation, PayZapp required me to enter an "Email ID for digital statements."
    • I tried both options (Google sign-in & manual entry), but it kept showing "Unable to Proceed."
    • Tried multiple times but faced the same issue.
  2. Raised Complaint with HDFC (with Proof) on Jan 20, 2025
    • I recorded a screen recording of the error and emailed it to escalation.cc@hdfcbank.com.
    • Received an acknowledgment on Jan 22 with a reference number (64919017), stating they would respond by Jan 28.
  3. Repeated Delays & No Resolution from HDFC
    • Jan 27 (1:39 PM): Got an email from alerts@hdfcbank.net, saying:
      👉 "Activate your credit card before 30/01/25 00:00 to avoid permanent closure."
    • Jan 27 (2:16 PM): I reminded them that my card was nearing automatic closure.
    • Jan 28 (5:11 PM): HDFC replied, saying they were still “looking into the issue” and would respond by Jan 29.
    • Jan 29 (9:09 PM): HDFC responded:
      ❌ "Your card has been permanently closed as it was not activated within 37 days. This is as per bank policy."
    • Continuously following the thread since then, haven't got the resolution yet

Problems with HDFC’s Response:

HDFC Delayed Resolution → Instead of fixing the issue, they kept extending the deadline until my card got closed.
Issue Was on Their Side → The activation issue was caused by their PayZapp app, yet they blamed me for not activating the card.
Contradiction in Their Own Words
  • Jan 27 Email: Activation deadline is 30/01/25 00:00.
  • Jan 29 Email: Card is already closed before the deadline. How is that possible?

Next Steps: Raising a Complaint to RBI Ombudsman

Since HDFC has failed to resolve my issue, I want to escalate this to the RBI Ombudsman via CMS RBI Portal.

Can anyone guide me on:
✅ How to draft a strong complaint that will make RBI take action?
✅ What key points and supporting documents should I include?

I appreciate any advice from this community! Thanks in advance. 🙏
Other members responded so if you still want assistance you can DM