RBI allows PPI holders to make UPI payment using third-party apps

RBI allows PPI holders to make UPI payment using third-party apps:

All Prepaid Payment Instrument Issuers (Banks and Non-banks), National Payments Corporation of India (NPCI) and System Participants

Unified Payments Interface (UPI) access for Prepaid Payment Instruments (PPIs) through third-party applications -

Currently, UPI payments from / to a bank account can be carried out using the UPI application of that bank or of any third-party application provider. However, UPI payments from / to a PPI can only be carried out using the mobile application provided by the PPI issuer.

2. As announced in the Statement on Development and Regulatory Policies dated April 05, 2024, it has been decided to enable UPI payments from / to full-KYC PPIs through third-party UPI applications. This will enable PPI holders to make / receive UPI payments through the mobile application of third-party UPI applications. The relevant provisions have been amended in Master Directions CO.DPSS.POLC.No.S-479/02.14.006/2021-22 dated August 27, 2021 on Prepaid Payment Instruments (MD-PPIs) (see Annex).

3. This circular is issued under Section 18 read with Section 10(2) of the Payment and Settlement Systems Act, 2007 (Act 51 of 2007).

Revised provisions of the MD-PPIs:

Requirements for achieving interoperability through UPI -

Previous InstructionsRevised Instructions
11.6.3. PPI holders shall be on-boarded for UPI by their own PPI issuer only. PPI issuer shall only link its customer wallets to the handle issued to it. PPI issuer as PSP shall not on-board customers of any bank or any other PPI issuer.11.6.3. A PPI issuer shall enable holders of only its full-KYC PPIs to make UPI payments by linking its customer PPIs to its UPI handle. UPI transactions from PPI on the issuer’s application shall be authenticated using the customer’s existing PPI credentials. Such a transaction will, thus, be pre-approved before it reaches the UPI system. A PPI issuer, in its capacity as a PSP, shall not on-board customers of any bank or any other PPI issuer.
11.6.4. Authentication shall be completed by the PPI holder as per her / his existing wallet credentials. In other words, a transaction will be pre-approved before it reaches the UPI.11.6.4. A PPI issuer may also facilitate discovery of its full-KYC PPIs on third-party UPI mobile applications, who, in turn shall enable such PPIs to be linked to their PSP handle/s. Such UPI transactions, from PPIs using third party UPI applications, shall be authenticated using the UPI credentials.

Source - https://rbidocs.rbi.org.in/rdocs/notification/PDFs/NT9771BAA9F8215C4661BDBD7EE83A983FC8.PDF

A great move indeed. Makes a lot of sense and life becomes simple. No longer need to open Paytm for paytm merchant, amazon pay for amazon pay merchant and so on....

In simple terms:

Imagine you have money in your Amazon Pay wallet (which is a type of prepaid account). Before, you could only use that money within the Amazon Pay app for things like shopping on Amazon or making payments to other Amazon Pay users.

Now, the RBI has said you can use that same Amazon Pay money through other apps like Google Pay or PhonePe. This means you can send money to your friends who use Google Pay or pay at a store that accepts payments through PhonePe, all using the funds in your Amazon Pay account.
Kya bol rahe ho ? you can still use Amazon Pay wallet balance to pay or send money to your friends who use Google Pay or pay at a store that accepts payments through PhonePe.

Use Amazon app, go to scan or send money option choose >> Wallet UPI balance option and pay.

The only difference is that now you can also access Amazon pay Wallet through 3rd party UPI apps.

A great move indeed. Makes a lot of sense and life becomes simple. No longer need to open Paytm for paytm merchant, amazon pay for amazon pay merchant and so on....

In simple terms:

Imagine you have money in your Amazon Pay wallet (which is a type of prepaid account). Before, you could only use that money within the Amazon Pay app for things like shopping on Amazon or making payments to other Amazon Pay users.

Now, the RBI has said you can use that same Amazon Pay money through other apps like Google Pay or PhonePe. This means you can send money to your friends who use Google Pay or pay at a store that accepts payments through PhonePe, all using the funds in your Amazon Pay account.
kuchbhi
its already happening duh!

whats the use of ppi based wallets? credit card based upi gives better rewards
PPI based wallets loot -

If you dnt have credit card then apply HDFC Millennia debit card and load money to wallet and get 1% cashback upto Rs400 per month.

Kotak 811 Super Saving Account Debit card - load to Ebixcash wallet UPI and get 5% upto Rs500 cashback per month (here Ebixcash wallet UPI merchant MCC Code category is eligible category). Daily load limit is 5k for Ebixcash wallet UPI.

RBL Signature+ Debit card - Load to Ebixcash wallet UPI and get 2% cashback per month, 1% default cashback and 5k extra after annual spend more than 5 lakhs+ (here Ebixcash wallet UPI merchant MCC Code category is eligible category). Daily load limit is 5k for Ebixcash wallet UPI.

RBL Enterprise Debit card - Well, you can use Ebixcash wallet UPI only for milestone benefit complete and transfer to bank or pay anywhere you want. Daily load limit is 5k for Ebixcash wallet UPI.

Kya bol rahe ho ? you can still use Amazon Pay wallet balance to pay or send money to your friends who use Google Pay or pay at a store that accepts payments through PhonePe.

Use Amazon app, go to scan or send money option choose >> Wallet UPI balance option and pay.

The only difference is that now you can also access Amazon pay Wallet through 3rd party UPI apps.
Thanks for info.
Wasn't aware its already available 🙂

Long back when paytm was working, I tried to pay few places using paytm wallet but it worked only when the merchant used Paytm qr code.
Never tried with Amazon Pay Wallet though.

In simple terms:

Nonsense. Someone delete this to avoid misinformation