What if Jio never existed?

Saiv

What if Jio never launched, imagine the data Prices, we would’ve still stuck at per second tariffs, separate rate cutter recharges Extra premium rates On data. Paying for Sms & Caller Tunes, i think Jio is major contributor for early upi adaptation. Only reason India took a massive leap on content consumption, Internet usage etc coz of Jio. It laid the path even for the elderly to consider smartphones over keypads. Then after few years again they made their way into fibrenet With A Bang & made other players to offer unlimited Data for each & every plan. As said in some thread of this community. Jio Now decides the prices of telecom services including its competitors in this country. A tech forum like this out of many exists because of Jio’s Initial work.

Other side of the Coin

It eventually led to merging of many telecoms Like Aircel Uninor Docomo Anil’s Reliance. !dea & Vodafone to Vi.

More people with minimal humanity & common sense are online. More negativity & bullying reaching people that to from complete strangers.

One thing always bugs me the Vodafone & !dea case

Before Jio Airtel, idea & voda are big guns, subscribers count also neck to neck among them. ₹ is more valuable than now & their prices are insanely high based on today’s standards. I’ve read multiple times that they’re failed to pay Cell Tower Fees which they leased from Indus Towers. & Also AGR dues. So what did they do with all the revenue they squeezed from Us. as per my knowledge it’s not easy to send money to the parent companies(foreign) that earned in India. Coming to recent times even after Govt bought some stake in vi still they’re struggling. I read statements from Aditya Birla Group that they’re ready to sell their stake. So it feels they don’t wanna revive vi company, running for namesake & blaming others for their subpar services

Jio killed competition and now there is duopoly which is harmful both for the users and the country

They killed competition through predatory pricing.

20 lakh people lost jobs in telecom sector due to predatory pricing.

Jab saiyan bhaye kotwal toh darr kahe ka

While i agree that launching of jio was a watershed moment in indian telecom industry and in overall life
I do not like the duopoly that Jio and Airtel has created, Vi is dying and BSNL is just a Govt funded zombie,
I hope Vi and BSNL start thriving again

Jio killed competition and now there is duopoly which is harmful both for the users and the country

They killed competition through predatory pricing.

20 lakh people lost jobs in telecom sector due to predatory pricing.

Jab saiyan bhaye kotwal toh darr kahe ka
When people don't study economics & think like layman .

Job loss - company run on earning profit moto not job saving.

Why do company gives software engineer lakhs to automate things rather than paying 15k monthly to call centre just take Zomato customer care complaint system now
The same thing happened in airline industry with Indigo
Because airline industry went through hell in COVID it was once a century moment .
West didn't even recovered.
China is slowing down
While i agree that launching of jio was a watershed moment in indian telecom industry and in overall life
I do not like the duopoly that Jio and Airtel has created, Vi is dying and BSNL is just a Govt funded zombie,
I hope Vi and BSNL start thriving again
Gov job is to govern the country not run companies

For pricing - company invest to get profit not do charity'.

What people thought when they announced free 5g & it's still but on higher value recharge

People should come out of 90s movie where industries are villan & commies are hero

Soviet union is no more so no communist propoganda

What if Ambani and Modi never existed?
Kirron Kher Bollywood GIF

Our nation would have followed the same fate of neighbouring countries

This kind of anti-competitive behavior seems to occur only in India. Anyone with enough money can offer free services for a year, drive out competitors, and create a monopoly in the industry. This raises questions about the effectiveness of the Government and TRAI. While they set spectrum prices, they seem unable to regulate market prices effectively. Are we left to rely on private companies with questionable practices to stabilize the telecom sector?

When people don't study economics & think like layman .

Job loss - company run on earning profit moto not job saving.
Jio launched with a promise of LIFE TIME FREE.....Kaunsa nasha phoonk ke yeh promise kya tha......After killing competition, they remembered ke profit bhi kamana hain

People in India are deeply influenced by fake narratives and propaganda on Whatsapp & social media.

With the technological advancement & competition, products & services tends to become cheap....Before Jio, Tata Teleservices disrupted the market with per sec billing and tariff was reduced drastically but they didn't promise lifetime free & killed competition.

In 1998, i bought assembled PC for around 40k which was huge amount and in 2005, compaq presario desktop for around 45k...Today a laptop with much better configuration can be bought for 30k.

In 2011, i bought 42 inch LCD for 45k and today a 42 inch LED is available at almost 1/3rd rate.

If competition would not have been killed then data would have been much cheaper than it is today.

Jio's launch was not to provide cheap data but it was part of bigger plan to directly reach the masses through whatsapp university/social media and bypass the traditional media which was neutral at that time.

This kind of anti-competitive behavior seems to occur only in India. Anyone with enough money can offer free services for a year, drive out competitors, and create a monopoly in the industry. This raises questions about the effectiveness of the Government and TRAI. While they set spectrum prices, they seem unable to regulate market prices effectively. Are we left to rely on private companies with questionable practices to stabilize the telecom sector?
This was the plan and that's why BSNL was killed

If jio did not exist, we would see the number of dump people decrease, number of stupid shorts and videos decrease, the embarrassment from dumbos dropping senseless comments on youtube videos decrease, the number of clickbaits on youtube (from Indians) decrease, among so many other things that I can't recall right now. On top of it, r/jiowasamistake would not exist.

I am not going to comment on duopolization of Indian telecom as countless other replies have already suggested it.

If Jio Network did not exist, the landscape of telecommunications in India would be quite different. Internet penetration, 4G & 5G technology ETC. Ofcourse there was a lot of crony capitalism as well but I don't believe that JIO caused any damage, reason being, survival of the fittest. and if it wasn't for jio, I'm sure we would be still playing around in 3g.