Seeking Information & Support: Compensation for Wrongful Account Freezing and Mental Harassment

I need guidance on how to tell ombudsman about it by giving references to the RBI guidelines which i think are being violated i tried searching on web but not found or maybe not understand

So I need relevant clause circulars etc so that after exhausting everything when I reach court then I have grounds how the system is being misused and what that bank did in my case
RBI website doesn't seem to be working now, but you could search for "rbi circular on account freeze" and read through the pages of those circulars and guidelines. If something you are not able to understand, then please ask here.

You could download and print, and refer those sections in your case if you choose to file a lawsuit. It's always better to do your own research instead of only relying on the advocate for relevant rules/regulations' research.

In your case, you aren't even involved in the crime, but still you have faced the consequences. If non-involvement can be proved in court, then you can pray for relief that you want.
RBIO will look from financial and customer's rights PoV. Court of law will look into this matter from legal PoV including financial and your rights.

@SJM may be able to help you
Hello everyone,
I am writing to seek guidance regarding compensation for the severe mental harassment, reputational damage, and misconduct I have faced due to a wrongful debit freeze and lien on my savings account.

Summary of the Issue:
  • On 1 July 2024, my savings bank account was debit frozen and lien marked due to a false cybercrime complaint.
  • This complaint was filed by a bank where a PPI wallet issuer holds its escrow account. The disputed transaction, flagged as fraud, was not even credited to my account—a fact confirmed in writing by both the PPI issuer and the concerned police officer.
  • The complaint was wrongly registered on NCRP (16 June 2024), yet my bank acted without verifying facts and froze my account.
  • When I visited my branch on 6 July 2024, I was insulted and humiliated by the branch official for no reason—he behaved as if he had personal animosity against me.
  • After RNO escalation The bank claimed on 15 July 2024 they received a notice from a Law Enforcement Agency (LEA) but refused to provide me a copy and asked me for NOC and emphasis on that after NOC my account can only be unfreezed.
  • After contacting multiple police officers because bank not even provided me the contact number of police only email and in india police not reply emails, I finally contacted that police officer whom that fraud compliant was assigned and found out that no such freeze/lien notice was ever issued to my bank by them even later after IG and deputy commissioner intervention i found no such notice ever issued to my bank for freeze or Lein.
  • I escalated the issue to RBI via CMS, and while the freeze was removed, the lien is still not lifted,and RBI closed my compliant under non appealable clause stating no compliant for deficiency in service because the RE did in compliance with LEA order/notice.
  • Then I compliant against that PPI issue at RBI but it again assigned to my bank and this time they shared a printout with RBI but RBI again closed my compliant giving previous compliant refrence decision already given on this subject matter however i found that print out which bank claimed a notice and in this print out the response of that bank which wrongly reported my account and my bank responses only these two comments were mentioned but no where it was mentioned that either freeze or Lien the account and surprisingly in this printout i found my bank responded after my branch visit where my account is freezed on 1 July and my bank updated their comment on 6 July in the evening 😂.
  • After this print out i bombarded email and social media posts to that bank but they ignored it then tagged their CEO and finally that bank talked with police and police issued written confirmation stating reported fraud transaction is not credited to my account it is credited to other customer of that PPI wallet so remove the lien from account after reviewing the correct money trial on NCRP which is updated not despite the police clearly instructing the bank to do so my bank not removed lien yet.
  • The police officer sent another email to my bank this time I was in cc and it delivered but my bank claimed no email recieved from LEA which is police where clearly police confirming that the fraudulent amount was not linked to my account. Yet, my bank falsely claims they never received this email (which I have verified was delivered correctly) because I am in cc of this email.

Current Status:

• My complaints are still under RBI review:
    • One against my bank for staff misconduct.
    • Another against the bank that made the false report, which later admitted they only updated beneficiary details and never asked to freeze or lien mark my account.

Evidence I Hold:
  • Written confirmation from the PPI wallet issuer that my account was wrongly flagged and reported transaction not credited in my account.
  • Written confirmation from the police that no fraud occurred on my account.
  • Email proof (CC’d to me) from police to my bank requesting removal of the lien.
  • RBI responses, bank responses, and all complaint acknowledgements.

My Questions:

1. Given the mental agony, reputational damage (being tagged a fraudster), bank staff misbehavior, and continued failure to lift the lien despite police clearance, what level of compensation am I eligible for under RBI guidelines?
  2. And what can I do now please help?
  3. Has anyone faced similar issues? What steps helped you get relief and justice?

This issue not only disrupted my finances but also affected my sleeping cycle and mental peace. I am not seeking revenge—only justice, transparency, and rightful compensation.

Would deeply appreciate insights, advice, or any relevant references.
This is a much more complicated matter than the general issues of deficiency in service or harassment. I don't think RBI is the right place to go for justice in this case. You can get justice only from court. Take legal advise, weigh the pros and cons and decide whether you should go to court or not.

For lifting the lien, check if you can file a FIR against the bank for wrongly putting that lien in your account and not removing it even after email confirmation from the police department.

Thanks @Quantum I am in direct contact with ombudsman
In all probability you are only interacting with an ordinary staff at the Ombudsman's office. As per my knowledge, you can only get F2F time with the ombudsman if he calls you for a meeting. Phone/Email handled by his office staff.
he is also discussing with previous ombudsmans who closed my compliants and in second compliant he asked clarification from my bank.
There is only 1 Ombudsman in a regional/zonal office of the RBI. Unless you have complained to a different region/zone, which is quite unlikely, you are only referring to the staff at the Ombudsman's office.

In all probability you are only interacting with an ordinary staff at the Ombudsman's office. As per my knowledge, you can only get F2F time with the ombudsman if he calls you for a meeting. Phone/Email handled by his office staff.

There is only 1 Ombudsman in a regional/zonal office of the RBI. Unless you have complained to a different region/zone, which is quite unlikely, you are only referring to the staff at the Ombudsman's office.
No i am in contact with that ombudsman who closed my compliant and now again raised compliant as per his instructions he is investigating

Initially when I called the ombudsman regional office the lady said she will directly ask the official who closed my compliant to contact me then I received call and after that whenever I called the same person picked it

Law suit will be helpful I think after reviewing all the responses it seems chasing RBI is waste of time they are puppets however i will close my account once the lien is lifted and as a individual I learnt one thing these so called commissions never help the individual however I am also tired now and most probably I will give up either lien removed or not if not removed then I will isolate that account

RBI website doesn't seem to be working now, but you could search for "rbi circular on account freeze" and read through the pages of those circulars and guidelines. If something you are not able to understand, then please ask here.

You could download and print, and refer those sections in your case if you choose to file a lawsuit. It's always better to do your own research instead of only relying on the advocate for relevant rules/regulations' research.

In your case, you aren't even involved in the crime, but still you have faced the consequences. If non-involvement can be proved in court, then you can pray for relief that you want.
RBIO will look from financial and customer's rights PoV. Court of law will look into this matter from legal PoV including financial and your rights.

And attaching puducherry sop but in my case it's not puducherry police it's rajasthan police

No i am in contact with that ombudsman who closed my compliant and now again raised compliant as per his instructions he is investigating
You still don't get the point.
Initially when I called the ombudsman regional office the lady said she will directly ask the official who closed my compliant to contact me then I received call and after that whenever I called the same person picked it
The ombudsman doesn't call. He is like the Chief justice of a High Court. Note your own words "the lady said she will directly ask the official who closed my complaint to contact me". Come out of this fantasy that you are talking to the ombudsman.

Ohh got it just like banks they are representatives shit yaar thats why

Definitely they are puppets kabootar hatao RBI bhi naam ki hi hai tabhi sale bina complaint padhe close kr diye the

I was flocking wrong horse in the fantasy of this time I will be helped that is why when I threaten RBL that lady who deals with ombudsman complaints not was afraid of anything even she said are sir hme kuch na kuch reply Krna hota hai ombudsman ko

Ohh got it just like banks they are representatives shit yaar thats why

Definitely they are puppets kabootar hatao RBI bhi naam ki hi hai tabhi sale bina complaint padhe close kr diye the
That's the sorry state of affairs. Most cases don't even reach the ombudsman's desk. If you can reach the ombudsman he will see to it that RBL pays dearly. But unfortunately there's no way to reach him.

Although I had tagged the Ombudsman in a LinkedIn post, and she is quite active there. Interestingly, my complaint (the RBL one) has been assigned to her office itself. I also spoke directly with the Consumer Protection Cell — he listened to my entire issue and suggested waiting for the Ombudsman's outcome as well as i asked if it again closed then he said I can write to them but first I need to wait for decision of ombudsman. Let’s see what result comes from this. If things don't turn out well, I’ll escalate it directly to RBI by in-person visit if somehow possible.

• Screenshot_20250426-212247.webp
    Screenshot_20250426-212247.webp
    225.6 KB · Views: 6
Although I had tagged the Ombudsman in a LinkedIn post, and she is quite active there. Interestingly, my complaint (the RBL one) has been assigned to her office itself.
Who do you mean by "she"? Can you share the post link and the Ombudsman profile link? I think you mentioned you are from Rajasthan and the BO's name as per Google is Shri C D Srinivasan.
I also spoke directly with the Consumer Protection Cell — he listened to my entire issue and suggested waiting for the Ombudsman's outcome as well as i asked if it again closed then he said I can write to them but first I need to wait for decision of ombudsman. Let’s see what result comes from this. If things don't turn out well, I’ll escalate it directly to RBI by in-person visit if somehow possible.
You will not be allowed to enter ORBIO unless you have a meeting invite from them. You can't get past main entrance security.
Once case is closed under non-appealable clause, even if you manage to meet him somehow, nothing will change.

Who do you mean by "she"? Can you share the post link and the Ombudsman profile link? I think you mentioned you are from Rajasthan and the BO's name as per Google is Shri C D Srinivasan.

You will not be allowed to enter ORBIO unless you have a meeting invite from them. You can't get past main entrance security.
Once case is closed under non-appealable clause, even if you manage to meet him somehow, nothing will change.

I am from UP
The police Rajasthan
RBI delhi-1 office BO anupama sonal complaint assigned at this office

I faced sever harrasment nobody can understand it only those will understand my situation who faced this account freeze due to that cyber fraud complaint

However i also read several posts where people were mentioning that once complaint gets closed can't be Complain again on same issue but in my case complaints closed due to false claims of LEA notice and if no LEA order or notice ever issued then how is it possible that it is non maintainable at RBI also if these banks claim this is compliance then what's was my mistake????

RTI also replied portal not order freeze it's investigating officer who issue such notice under provisions of BNS but till my case it should be under CRPC the same is mentioned in ministry of finance documents MoF ye bhi bolti hai ki usi se order unfreeze ka bhi same mean se aana cahiye jb notice issued hui hi nhi to muzhe pareshan kyon kiya police bhi yahi bol rhi thi phir IG and dep. Comm. Ke pressure ke baad police ne letter issue Kiya idfc se baat hone ke baad

My mistake is only that i believed RBI is supreme because I read in books

• Screenshot_20250426-230906.webp
    Screenshot_20250426-230906.webp
    42.8 KB · Views: 4
  • Screenshot_20250426-231309.webp
    Screenshot_20250426-231309.webp
    57.8 KB · Views: 4

Posted my issue there for help please understand 🙏