Opinion on buying a car from neighbouring State/UT to save Road Tax

Hello Technofino members,

I'm planning to buy my 1st car from Yanam, Pondicherry, 200km from my place of residence in Andhra.
This is giving me savings of around 1L or so.

Now my query is how convenient is it to drive a car registered in a neighbouring State, what are the potential risks involved??

Recently one of my friends shared that his friend's car was impounded by traffic police only for being a BH series registered card in Andhra (Andhra is still to implement BH series registration).

Does 1L savings weigh out the risk involved, if any?

Automotive/car experts please share your views.
TIA 🙏🏻🙏🏻

There is no problem, no one is going to impound your car for PY registration . but keep in mind that the resale value will also be lower.

Hello Technofino members,

I'm planning to buy my 1st car from Yanam, Pondicherry, 200km from my place of residence in Andhra.
This is giving me savings of around 1L or so.

Now my query is how convenient is it to drive a car registered in a neighbouring State, what are the potential risks involved??

Recently one of my friends shared that his friend's car was impounded by traffic police only for being a BH series registered card in Andhra (Andhra is still to implement BH series registration).

Does 1L savings weigh out the risk involved, if any?

Automotive/car experts please share your views.
TIA 🙏🏻🙏🏻

If it is from another state, police may ask for latest toll receipt (physical or digital on fasttag) to prove that you have not been in the current state for more than 6 months continously... Otherwise they can fine and impound.

I think you can register the vehicle in PY only if you have a valid address proof there. Road tax and other things comes next only.
If you don't have any residential proof there, it would be difficult I guess..
By the way a lot of filmstars, sportsmen, politicians etc register their BMW, Audi, Merc, Ferraris etc in PY to save lakhs and crores of taxes.

I think you can register the vehicle in PY only if you have a valid address proof there. Road tax and other things comes next only.
If you don't have any residential proof there, it would be difficult I guess..
By the way a lot of filmstars, sportsmen, politicians etc register their BMW, Audi, Merc, Ferraris etc in PY to save lakhs and crores of taxes.
In few bucks we get a rent agreement made anywhere in India…and the same was confirmed by the showroom in Yanam.
So getting address proof is not an issue !

In few bucks we get a rent agreement made anywhere in India…and the same was confirmed by the showroom in Yanam.
So getting address proof is not an issue !
Ok then I think it should not be a big problem.
If you know the area well and if you know where cops stand for checking, avoid those routes to be generally safe.
If it is not a luxury car, then also it will be fine. I think they focus more on costlier cars for hefty fines.
Also problem can come if you jump into their mouth when cutting a red signal or one way.
Apart from that, it should be okay i think.
(For resale, again I think you can sell it to someone with PY address only, check with some agent or showroom guys)