Card Review: HSBC Live+ Is the GOAT for offline food spends

1758962104277.webp

HSBC Live+ originally was labeled as HSBC Cashback although it did not mean much since the benefits are nearly the same, with the only difference being the dining programs available exclusively for HSBC Live+

The joining fee is 999+GST, but it gets waived off if you can spend over 2 Lakhs per year.

You get welcome benefits of an additional 1000. If you can spend 20k within 30 days, from the time you receive the card, as well as download the HSBC India mobile app and register an internet banking account.

As for the card the main selling point is that you get 10% Cashback for both online and offline spending for categories under Dining, groceries, and Food Deliveries for up to 1000 INR. It competes with the Swiggy HDFC card, which has a lower annual fee. and has a 1500 cap but is only useful if you mainly use Swiggy.

You also get 1.5% Unlimited CB for other spending...although the exclusion list is even longer than most other cards, so the only way you can get 1.5% CB is for spending on shopping and entertainment from what I have used on it so far.

Another key selling point is that you can get one additional free movie ticket if you book on BookMyShow on a Saturday saving you a lot of movie tickets. You also get exclusive dine-in programs where, based on the region and the restaurant that HSBC partners with, you get a 15% Discount plus the 10% Cashback.

The only drawback to this card is that there is no Rupay variant, as it is only a Visa card, and you need to register an internet banking account in order to change transaction limits and view the card statements.

But other than that, this is the best card to have for all your food expenses if it is at 10k per month as you can end up saving 12k per year. It's easily my favorite card of all the five cards I have.

EDIT: On a side note, I actually like the look of this card as its bright and has that nice shine when you move it around.

I use this card for dining. But calling it GOAT for offline dining is farfetched.

10% cashback is easily beatable by using apps like swiggy dine or eazy diner which will give better discount / cashback using other cards. In fact this card is good for garib diners (like me). It gives a basic 10% cashback everywhere compared to 30% plus discount using apps at super cool places.

Also, this card is available on rupay (well almost). HSBC rupay cashback is chota bhai of HSBC live plus. It is available at annual fees of Rs 499. And gives cashback of Rs 400 per month. It gives 10% cashback on dining, grocery and food delivery similar to Live plus. https://www.hsbc.co.in/credit-cards/products/rupay-cashback-credit-card/

I use this card for dining. But calling it GOAT for offline dining is farfetched.

10% cashback is easily beatable by using apps like swiggy dine or eazy diner which will give better discount / cashback using other cards. In fact this card is good for garib diners (like me). It gives a basic 10% cashback everywhere compared to 30% plus discount using apps at super cool places.

Also, this card is available on rupay (well almost). HSBC rupay cashback is chota bhai of HSBC live plus. It is available at annual fees of Rs 499. And gives cashback of Rs 400 per month. It gives 10% cashback on dining, grocery and food delivery similar to Live plus. https://www.hsbc.co.in/credit-cards/products/rupay-cashback-credit-card/

And what about for groceries and food delivery?

Sure the rupay cashback one exists but it's downgraded as you said.