Are you Over Spending 💰!!

The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.

hender

Overspending occurs when you spend more money than you have or plan for, essentially living beyond your means. It can manifest as difficulty saving, frequent reliance on credit cards, or a pattern of impulse purchases. Recognizing the signs and understanding the causes of overspending are crucial steps in regaining financial control.

Here are some signs that you might be overspending:
  • Consistently exceeding your budget:
    If your monthly budget feels more like a suggestion than a guideline, it's a clear indicator of overspending.

• Maxing out credit cards:
    Relying heavily on credit to cover expenses suggests you're not living within your income.

• Struggling to make minimum credit card payments:
    This indicates that interest is accumulating, making it harder to pay down debt.

• Prioritizing wants over needs:
    If you're spending money on non-essential items before covering essential bills, you're likely overspending.

• Lack of savings:
    Not having an emergency fund or savings for future goals is a warning sign.

• Relying on credit for everyday expenses:
    If you're constantly using credit cards for daily purchases, you're overspending.

• Impulse buying:
    Making unplanned purchases, especially for items you don't need, can indicate overspending.

• Avoiding discussions about finances:
    Hiding your spending habits or avoiding conversations about finances can be a sign of overspending.

• Frequently borrowing money:
    If you often need to borrow money from friends or family, it could be due to overspending.

Relying on credit for everyday expenses:
If you're constantly using credit cards for daily purchases, you're overspending.
I disagree with this point.
Overspending and using credit card have no relation. For regular daily expenses if i am using credit card which i anyways have to pay via cash then it is not overspending.
If you don't have money and still using credit card in expections of future income then it would be financially illiterate.

You explained very well.
For regular daily expenses if i am using credit card which i anyways have to pay via cash then it is not overspending.
Optimisation / method of payment 👍✅
Overspending and using credit card have no relation.

Credit Card is Just a leverage tool to do it Beautifully...

I have never paid minimum amount in a credit card and i use credit card when i have money and i use credit cards mainly for cashback and discounts, the credit cards which don’t give cashback on purchases or rewards <1% is useless to me.

Overspending and using credit card have no relation. For regular daily expenses if i am using credit card which i anyways have to pay via cash then it is not overspending.
Same here. Necessary spendings were shifted to Credit Card.

Earning in Lakhs but spending in thousands. Life from starting is maintained in such a way that money sums keep swelling but needs remain in control.

Financial disasters happens with those who have needs first and money coming after which may or may not come like recently my friend's cousin who took a big home and car loan looking at his portfolio value last year now is in heavy debt with most of his portfolios either equity or mutual fund lessened by 50%. This is how miscalculations leads to destruction on one self.

Plan your day with what you have rather than what you can have or will have.

1. NEVER Lend to your friends - even the cosest ones - by borrowing (CCs includided).

2. If it is UNAVOIDABLE, give only that amount which you can forego. Give n forget it. Do not expect it to return. Before giving, decide whether it is OK to lose a friend forever.

3. Do not stand as guarantee or a surity for their loans/debts.

4. Do not disclose or discuss HOW MUCH you have. Many see your money as their money. Instead, you may discuss money making ways with them.

5. Their defaults should not be your defaults. Specially, towards CC/bank outstandings. Your rating suffers a lot.

1. NEVER Lend to your friends - even the cosest ones - by borrowing (CCs includided).

2. If it is UNAVOIDABLE, give only that amount which you can forego. Give n forget it. Do not expect it to return. Before giving, decide whether it is OK to lose a friend forever.

4. Do not disclose or discuss HOW MUCH you have. Many see your money as their money. Instead, you may discuss money making ways with them.

5. Their defaults should not be your defaults. Specially, towards CC/bank outstandings. Your rating suffers a lot.
I didn't followed all 5 and now suffering....

But a friend in need is friend indeed. Where do we draw line? Help with what we have. And nothing more than that?

Not overspending, using cards for maximising benefits on utility bills, major purchase for fashion and electronics etc done on BBD, GIF or Diwali Sale and do daily small transactions with rupay card upi if merchant allows

1. My encounter with friend was for Rs.100 during college time and that never came back and there after few days I unfriend him. I straight away said to him, "we will be friends but there will be no financial txn invloved between us ever." He stopped contacting me and found a new lender which he considered new friend until he did what he did to me. Later most of my friends in life were those who had equal or more than me and we settled things on the spot like while eating contibuted for our parts. That worked for long.

With some other friends I always got it back by pushing them or reaching their parents or elder brother. Later in life, I completely stopped giving money to anyone. Never did to acquitances or friend or friends. People did came and straight away, No or told them to find someone else.

Last year from my other friend who is still close to him (the one who didn't returned 100), I came to know he sold mother's and wife's gold also to pay for debt and currently has 73+ Lakhs more to pay. That gold would have been up by 50-60% now. But he was always in mess and never worked out through life with a plan.

The day you need to have loan for your need is the last day you enjoy your life. No matter how much lesser you have in pocket, at end of day if you sleep with no debt at all, you are okay.

2. Not Applicable.

3. Never stood as a guarantee. Once I went with a known only to help with form filling. Later his intention came out when he said, yaar loan apply kar raha hu, guarantor bann jaa teri toh FDs hai hi iss bank mein. I stood up and left by saying form fill karwa dega banda apne aap. He called and said, manager keh raha tha aise hai aapke jaankaar. I told him, usne tujhe ni kaha ki apne matlab ke liye aap dusrey logo ka istemal kartey hai and cut the phone. Never contacted him again. Thing is, stand for yourself and lose a habitual debtor.

4. Personally I never disclosed what I have and online also as we are anonymous it doesn't concerns me when I write I earn so and so as here no one asking me for money or even if someone DM with such request, I ignore it. So yes, even if people push or tell you must be poor that's why not telling or use tactics to let you spill out, never entertain them. My own cousin tried it with me and I said, mai gareeb aadmi hu, kya leta hai. Ni hai kuch.

5. Avoid such people who take loan and you know their work is low or they don't earn much.

When you use every penny wisely and think much more before spending, you will never see a financial blunder in your life.

Never use your money to show off or as Gen Z do, they spend on girls just to tell them how big they are. Luckily in my circle, we spent our life not spending a single rupee for any girls. Paali ni because that is also a burden and bucket with too many holes where water will never stay.

Everything is going smoothly in my life but once i lent money to my friend and now my credit cards are Fully utilised, my cibil is in vain, finance sucked and i am back along with my finance went back by 3 years.
Apne liye toh jaise kisi friend ne paise mange woh unfriend ho gaya. Ab kya kare? Duniya ke karze chukaney ke liye thodi kama rahe hai.

Remember, you don't work to pay off other's debt.

+ 1 👍
6. To impress or to Show off, or to Satisfy EGO or to Follow Society Norms...
Never ever buy things, for which you don't have financial plan or money arrangement already...

The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.