Hotel Points Should I be future Accor or Marriott hotel loyalist..

NikTravelEnthusiast

Year 2026 is on the verge. And I am all excited to be part of Hotel chain. But I am confused to choose between Accor and Marriott. I am at a point where I have to make choice between the two, to be a loyalist of the one.

First I will explain my current situation. My work is a busy schedule , I hardly get time to travel. But I guess, I can manage yearly once 'a week long' and some couple of '2-3 day long' trip. Since couple of years I am holding HDFC Infinia, Amex Plat trav. Recently got HSBC premier. Overall all my spends per month are in a range of 80k to 100k. With this over a year, i got 90k infinia points and 58K Amex points.

Previously travel related spends were not present. But I guess, now yearly I set a budget of 1.5 to 2 lacs. And my plan is to do it on HSBC premier. With 12X and 6 X multiplier, rougly I can acuumulate 50k to 60K RP.

I am stagerring Infinia RP for Krisflyer redmption later. So question to you all, what should be good startegy for remaining Amex and HSBC RP.

In my head, two scenario.

scenario one- Transfer Amex and HSBC to Marriott at 1:1 ratio(sometimes take a advantage of transfer bonus offer, like now HSBC is running 40% transfer bonus. Amex may follow). So around rougly 100K to 120K( May be even more) Marriott bonvoy points, I can get a good redemptions out of this.

scenario two- Stop spends on Amex, transfer it to HSBC. Roughly 60 to 70 K Accor points via HSBC transfer. Value is aprroximately double in actual currency. But I dont know how long Accor can provide such good values. So confused.

Give in your thoughts. Marriott or Accor.

Accor has more value but only if you travel internationally. Marriot point value for most cases is 0.4 rs for a point. (Practical, Not considering so called influencers hidden property where you get better rates.)
Accor also has ibis which adds great value. Marriot dont have 2/3 star properties much.

So, please roughly guide me. For 50K to 60K Accor points, can I make a descent 4 to 5 star international hotel redemption for one week? As a first trip, I want to go to Abudhabi, Qatar or Oman. Then later years,if possible, Japan, Europe, Thailand.

This is fresh start, so I don't have any status. I will be unable to achieve also(considering low travels).
Unlike Marriott(not all properties),free breakfast is included in Accor?

Looks like most people are favoring accor.

Maybe cause most of them here are using bank points to redeem accor points. And its value is better than marriott and easy as well.

But if you want to start from scratch, i will suggest marriott group, as its easy to get higher tier membership benefits than accor. You can also get permanent tier status after few years, which is not available in accor.

Many threads here regarding these 2 memberships. You can get detailed views by other members here by doing some reading.

Maybe cause most of them here are using bank points to redeem accor points. And its value is better than marriott and easy as well.

But if you want to start from scratch, i will suggest marriott group, as its easy to get higher tier membership benefits than accor. You can also get permanent tier status after few years, which is not available in accor.

Many threads here regarding these 2 memberships. You can get detailed views by other members here by doing some reading.
Finally, someone from Marriott.

@PrinceHeart your opinion is sound. One heads up though, I guess,most probably, I will never be able to achieve any status on night spend based criteria.

People want to use points for booking free stays. How higher tire will help for award booking?

So, please roughly guide me. For 50K to 60K Accor points, can I make a descent 4 to 5 star international hotel redemption for one week? As a first trip, I want to go to Abudhabi, Qatar or Oman. Then later years,if possible, Japan, Europe, Thailand.

This is fresh start, so I don't have any status. I will be unable to achieve also(considering low travels).
Unlike Marriott(not all properties),free breakfast is included in Accor?
For you you can also tranfer infinia points to Accor. Extra bonus tranfer offers also comes lookout for those.

It sometimes depends country to country. And which area do you prefer and what's your choice to stay near the main city highlights or away. Because most of the times marriott property have a good location but are expensive and accor is little far away and offer better pricing. You can keep 1st preference either marriott or accor and along with it also keep 2 other hotel membership options open.
Just an example :
1. Marriott
2. Accor
3. IHG OR HILTON

People want to use points for booking free stays. How higher tire will help for award booking?
And higher tier also, only tangible benefit is free bfast benefit. Early/late checkin checkouts, room upgrades are always given based on availability, most of times I have got upgrades being hyatt base member, yes there could be 1-2 occasions where globalist could have scored upgrade & I could not. But the point is it is useless to chase higher tier for this benefit. Only tangible benefit is free bfast or guaranteed suite upgrades. Same experience with marriott.

It sometimes depends country to country. And which area do you prefer and what's your choice to stay near the main city highlights or away. Because most of the times marriott property have a good location but are expensive and accor is little far away and offer better pricing. You can keep 1st preference either marriott or accor and along with it also keep 2 other hotel membership options open.
Just an example :
1. Marriott
2. Accor
3. IHG OR HILTON
Ok. Good insight. Point noted.