HDFC account Frozen - Cybercrime Harassment

Hi everyone I hold a savings account in HDFC in which hold of 1135 has been put by cybercrime on 5 November then on 10 November my account was frozen having 60K in that I when to branch for details they told it has been frozen by cybercrime MHA and they provide me a complaint copy in which details of police station and transition was mentioned amount was 1500 disputed amount was 1135 layer 4 upon checking my account statement I did not found that transaction in my account then I have contacted customer care and they have also confirmed that there is no such transaction with this amount and UTR number then they check that UTR number which was mentioned on completion copy they told it is an failed transaction anyone was trying to send you but it has failed not credited to your account I have shared that details with my nearby Cyber police station and mentioned police station they don't help told me go to court can anyone help me what to do.

You can also contact rbi bo, cause when my ac was mistakenly blocked, rbi bo initiated to unblock.

Or you have another two options
file a complaint in PG portal against Home ministry (MHA) for wrong blocking against failed transaction
go to court

both pg and rbi complaints takes 1-6 months time for resolution, if you know a good advocate (or a good influencer), there would be any miracle.

Reactions: SSQ
Kisi ne khub kaha tha: Desh chunauteeyo se nahi chutyo se bhara.

Why to freeze entire A/c and make it inoperative for financial transactions? Just hold/freeze disputed amount man, for mere 1500, why 60k of a common man needs to be freezed? And what the hell, freezing is made for a failed transaction, transaction which wasn't even successful. Full of deficiency in service and misusing power.

Also, if the same amount is available in L1,L2..., then just freeze concerned/ disrupted amount to such levels only why to go forward, whereas if there's only partial amount in first then only it make sense to move to another layer that too for remaining balance. But the irony is that most of the times, they instruct/order bank to put freeze/ mark lien account with a view to earn money through corruption, they order then goes to hibernation, can't even virtually contact or resolve the matter to prove non involvement in unlawful/illegal things. Not only that even if somehow someone of L1 gets his/her lien/ freezed removed, imposition of lien/freeze doesn't get automatically revoked for all other layers. Sad state of affairs.

How one is supposed to make day to day transactions or in emergency if required?

Gov, judiciary (especially SC Suo Moto Cognizance), even RBI is not taking this matter in serious consideration to make a good framework or amend available laws to combat fraud/scam and safeguard or not to put trouble to bonafide account holder and repeal all available provisions by which Cyber Bureau or any other concerned department/ agency abuse their power.

My suggestion would be:
Firstly try to contact your IO requesting NOC, through digital channels (email), I guess most likely you won't get reply or if they do, they will ask you to visit their station/place, may be in another state.

Exchange the things (even ask copy of notice or order under RTI Act) which you had verbally communicated with bank in writing (better not to exclude PNO), which can be done using e-mail, document it for further reference or to back your claim.

And then see under which section or the freeze is made, also whether all procedures were carried as per law (consult advocate having specialization in banking, if required file an RTI application against the same station/ place from where the notice/ order was issued seeking details that whether Cyber Bureau or law enforcement agency or any other agency has jurisdiction to freeze entire bank account in ...layer (mention your layer) even when money is not credited while tracing money) if both of them doesn't work (less chance that it will be resolved by BO, even if will be made, it may take more than 2-3 months), so now better to make a petition to defreeze with your megistrate u/s 503 &/ or any other concerned sec. of BNS, if it's not getting entertained then file a writ petition under Article 21 (right to life & livelihood) &/or 226 (illegal or arbitrary freezing of a bank A/c) of Const. of India directly before your HC, get a order and that's all. If you're capable enough then represent yourself before court or take a help of advocate appointed by gov (free of cost) or pvt. (if you're well off, avoid to pay hefty amount, don't run behind famous advocate, without much expectations, even request to compensate atleast for litigation costs).

P.S: Let me know if you also want to reduce the possibility of falling in such situations in future.

Wish you good luck, bro. 🙂 🤞

Kisi ne khub kaha tha: Desh chunauteeyo se nahi chutyo se bhara.

Why to freeze A/c? Just put a lien mark man, for mere 1500, why 60k of a common man needs to be freezed? And what the hell, freezing is made for a failed transaction, transaction which wasn't even successful. Full of deficiency in service and misusing power.

Also, if the same amount is available in L1,L2..., then just put a lien mark to such levels only why to go forward, whereas if there's only partial amount in first then only it make sense to move to another layer that too for remaining balance. But the irony is that most of the times, they instruct/order bank to put a lien mark/freeze account with a view to earn money through corruption, they order then goes to hibernation, can't even virtually contact or resolve the matter to prove non involvement in unlawful/illegal things. Not only that even if somehow someone of L1 gets his/her lien/ freezed removed, imposition of lien/freeze doesn't get automatically revoked for all other layers. Sad state of affairs.

How one is supposed to make day to day transactions or in emergency if required?

Gov, judiciary (especially SC Suo Moto Cognizance), even RBI is not taking this matter in serious consideration to make a good framework or amend available laws to combat fraud/scam and safeguard or not to put trouble to bonafide account holder and repeal all available provisions by which Cyber Bureau or any other concerned department/ agency abuse their power.

My suggestion would be:
Firstly try to contact your IO, through digital channels (email), I guess most likely you won't get reply or if they do, they will ask you to visit their station/place, may be in another state.

Exchange the things which you had verbally communicated with bank in writing, which can be done using e-mail, document it for further reference or to back your claim.

And then see under which section or the freeze is made, also whether all procedures were carried as per law (consult advocate having specialization in banking), then make a writ petition under Article 21 (right to life & livelihood) &/or 226 (illegal or arbitrary freezing of a bank A/c) of Const. of India directly before your HC, get a order and that's all. If you're capable enough then represent yourself before court or take a help of lawyer appointed by gov (free of cost) or pvt. if well off (without much expectations, even request to even compensate atleast for litigation costs).

Wish you good luck, bro. 🙂
You are right brother, I have contacted SHO of that police station and I told him that this has happened I'm inocent I also have proof but he talked rudly and told me to unblock the account go to court then ended the call now last hope is court

Full power abuse: Hope, you have call recording. Keep it as well, it will come handy later.

Also, I have edited my comment/post, re-read it, added some additional inputs.

Full power abuse: Hope, you have call recording. Keep it as well, it will come handy later.

Also, I have edited my comment/post, re-read it, added some additional inputs.
They have power to do so based on complaint

Fraudsters misuse laws rather than real victim or scapegoat

They have power to do so based on complaint

Fraudsters misuse laws rather than real victim or scapegoat
Obviously, hence they issued notice, but the thing is they are misusing the power & loopholes of flawed laws (hence I mentioned the same not contradictory statements) by freezing complete account, also by not investigating case & taking action properly (just issue notice of freezing, then go to sleep), not trying to be friendly (also most of the time non contactable over digital mode) with the bonafide account holder who also becomes the victim, they don't give a damn how layer 3/4 person will make day to day transactions or in case of emergency. Also, they don't revoke such restrictions if former layer account holder gets NOC. Most of the times, they seek corruption to issue NOC.

Even several HCs had multiple times made it clear that it's unlawful to freeze the whole account in such cases.

P.S: But here even money is not credited, it's unbelievable, how freezing made for a failed/ unsuccessful cr. transaction.

I’ve shared the story (with helpful information) at https://technofino.in/community/thr...g-the-public-or-punishing-the-innocent.40924/
Unfortunately, the police likely won’t help in this case. You’ll need to go to court to get your account unfrozen, so don’t delay.
unfortunately, the case can be filed only in the state where the account is frozen....Example, if someone is in Maharashtra and account is frozen in Allahabad then case can be filed only in UP.

If amount is 1 or 2 lakh then better to forego rather spending lakhs to recover the same.

unfortunately, the case can be filed only in the state where the account is frozen....Example, if someone is in Maharashtra and account is frozen in Allahabad then case can be filed only in UP.

If amount is 1 or 2 lakh then better to forego rather spending lakhs to recover the same.
Yes… but it won’t cost you lakhs, just a few thousand rupees. Just hire a local lawyer in the area where you need to file the case... you don’t have to travel. Simply send your documents to the lawyer and the process can be completed.