Best suited credit card as per spend category

Cardzmania

Can you please guide me on which card I should use for specific spending categories like groceries, dining, online shopping, travel, fuel, and bill payments to maximize benefits and rewards

I have approx 13-14 lakh spend per year I would like to know the best suited (at least 2 Credit card in each category)

Note - I am not a HDFC infinia user

Category Spend Amount Best suited Credit Card
Electricity, Mobile Recharge, Gas, Wi-Fi 50,000
Insurance 1,30,000
Petrol 60,000
UPI Payment 4,00,000
Rent 3,50,000
OTTs 10,000
NPS Payment 50,000
Offline Grocery (Reliance, Dmart & Local) 75,000
Swiggy, Zomato & Restaurants 30,000
Flights 60,000
Hotels 1,20,000
Amazon/Myntra Spend 60,000

After almost 3 months I would like to share my updated CC strategy, I have tried to optimised the CC and below listed are best suited for me as of now. I will definitely revisit it time to time based on CC available in market and my eligibility to get those.
I don't have any premium CC (i.e. ICICI EPM, HDFC Infinia/DCB, M4B etc....) as on date. So, my CC strategy if soley based on the available CC with me... Axis Atlas (Primary Card), Amex Platinum Travel & MRCC, Axis Airtel, HDFC Tata Neu Infinity, HDFC Swiggy, IDFC Power+

I have removed the expense column as it is based on ones spend pattern, may be not relevent for all.

I am open for suggestions and advise any other CC which you feel best suits here, fell free to discuss and add your thoughts.
You may consider this replacements
Category SpendBest suited Credit Card
Electricity, Mobile Recharge, Gas, Wi-Fi1. Axis Airtel (Airtel recharge 25% CB, Utilities 10% CB)
2. AMEX MRCC (Apay GV) / SBI cashback (Apay GV)
InsuranceAmex Platinum upto 4lacs Milestone
FuelIDFC Power+ (6.5 % CB)
UPI Payment & OfflineHDFC Tata Neu Infinity (1.5% Neu Coins), KIWI (1.5% CB)
Other Offline PaymentAxis Atlas ( 4% Edge Miles)
RentAMEX Plat Travel / HSBC Premier
OTTsBundle with Jio Package
NPS PaymentAmex Platinum upto 4lacs Milestone
Offline Grocery (Reliance, Dmart & Local)HSBC Live +
Online Grocery (BB, Zapto)HSBC Live +
Online Swiggy, Zomato & RestaurantsHSBC Live +
RestaurantsHSBC Live +
FlightsAxis Atlas ( 10% Edge Miles)
HotelsAxis Atlas ( 10% Edge Miles)
Amazon/Myntra SpendSBI cashback / YES MARQUEE
Gold, Jewelley PurchaseAmex Platinum upto 4lacs Milestone
School FeeAxis Atlas ( 4% Edge Miles) / AMEX Plat Travel
Ola, Uber & Rapido Cab BookingAmex MRCC (1500X4 Amazon Pay Vocher) / YES MARQUEE
Medical ExpensesAxis Atlas ( 4% Edge Miles)
Movie TicketsICICI Sapphiro for BOGO @ BMS / YES MARQUEE
Your portfolio is absolutely great, and you've optimized your existing cards very well.

I've highlighted some alternative cards that perform well in their respective categories, though I assume they may not be part of your current lineup.

However, I don't recommend applying for the highlighted cards in your case your current strategy is already well-balanced.
These suggestions are mainly for others who are looking to build a solid credit card strategy.

You may consider this replacements

Your portfolio is absolutely great, and you've optimized your existing cards very well.

I've highlighted some alternative cards that perform well in their respective categories, though I assume they may not be part of your current lineup.

However, I don't recommend applying for the highlighted cards in your case your current strategy is already well-balanced.
These suggestions are mainly for others who are looking to build a solid credit card strategy.
Great suggestion, much appreciated. Today, my SBI casback card got approved after 3 failed attempt. I will start using SBI CB as per your suggestion.

I still have to go through your thread (the ultimate CC guide) which you have shared earlier. That will give me better idea about lot of other cards benefits.

Just to give my background, I am new in CC game got my 2nd CC on Nov'24 only. However, my 1st CC was back in 2012 (HDFC Jet privilege) and after 4 years in 2016 I had closed that card before moving out to India, I was naive and had not idea about credit card and it's benefits. But Now since I have started my second inning in credit card I make sure I take informed decision and built a balanced CC strategy to optimise reward/CB.

Thanks.

Great suggestion, much appreciated. Today, my SBI casback card got approved after 3 failed attempt. I will start using SBI CB as per your suggestion.

I still have to go through your thread (the ultimate CC guide) which you have shared earlier. That will give me better idea about lot of other cards benefits.

Just to give my background, I am new in CC game got my 2nd CC on Nov'24 only. However, my 1st CC was back in 2012 (HDFC Jet privilege) and after 4 years in 2016 I had closed that card before moving out to India, I was naive and had not idea about credit card and it's benefits. But Now since I have started my second inning in credit card I make sure I take informed decision and built a balanced CC strategy to optimise reward/CB.

Thanks.
What's the limit of sbi cashback

Good to hear that ur card is approved
Sbi usually reject applications if we have multiple CCs...

Now u can shift all ur online spends upto 1 lakh per month to this card

View attachment 89441

What about capping of 33333 per month.? It will reduce rewards.
Yeah, you are right. Before UPI was my go to mode for most of my expenses even in supermarket, but now I have repalced those with CCs, so my UPI expenses has reduced and it's down to 10k/Month now and it's only limited to local vendors (fruits, vegetables and miscellaneous). Axis Atlas works well against all offline payments for me.

Bhai thoda khulke bata do, kese kese steps leke apne ye SBI cashback card ko paaya hai. I have recently closed my 3 cc's to decrease my over leveraged issue.
If your Credit limit range crosses above 1.5 times (Estimated) your ITR then SBI may consider you over leveraged. Lucky I have not crossed even 1 time of my ITR value, very few LTF card and limited paid cards. I was waiting for SBI to approve my card so that I can freely apply for other cards 🙂 🙂

My case was different I had applied through Yono app and it got rejected 2-3 times, I guess SBI was rejecting just for fun or may be I had applied 4-5 cards in last 3 months, don't know the exact reason and than I applied through PayTm app (I read some TFinian advised) and It got approved but with very less limit, only 20K.

What is your total credit limit multiple in terms of ITR?