Closing ICICI Credit card

lightwaves

Hello community,

I have two credit cards from ICICI, MMT and a coral Rupay card.

MMT Platinum is 3 years old and Rupay Card is 8 months. Both have a shared limit of 7 lakhs. and Both are LTF.

I dont use these cards very often and I think its unnecessarily increasing my credit exposure (higher total credit limit).

So I am thinking of closing one of them and keeping one. Please guide on the following:
1. Which is better to close?
2. Will there be any hit on CIBIL?

Yes, I have the two cards older than MMT:
1. CITI Rewards : 5 Years
2. Axis Flipkart : 3.5 years
Hello community,

MMT Platinum is 3 years old and Rupay Card is 8 months. Both have a shared limit of 7 lakhs. and Both are LTF.

I dont use these cards very often and I think its unnecessarily increasing my credit exposure (higher total credit limit).

So I am thinking of closing one of them and keeping one. Please guide on the following:

Then with Eyes closed..
1) Close MMT.. keep Coral Rupay..
Coral is a core card and will be useful in further upgrades and offers.. Dont take any other...
Dont close if ltf. Do not worry about credit limit. Coral is a core card so it must be kept for future upgrade. Trick to decrease credit limit you can try and see: in imobile decrease credit card limit and the bank will report this new limit to credit bureau. You can try this and see if it helps. Once i read this somewhere.
Caution: dont decrease too much other wise it will have negative impact on your credit profile.

Hello community,

DO you have any othe CCs which are older than MMT?

Yes, I have the two cards older than MMT:
1. CITI Rewards : 5 Years
2. Axis Flipkart : 3.5 years
Hello community,

Then with Eyes closed..
1) Close MMT.. keep Coral Rupay..
Coral is a core card and will be useful in further upgrades and offers.. Dont take any other co-branded cards from ICICI if overleverage is your concern.. Only excpetion is Amazon Pay ICICI CC..
In a year or two, you will have other gemstone cards as upgrades and all of them will be grouped together under one- account..
This way you will have more ICICI cards for instant offers but no impact on over exposure..

2) No CIBIL hits ever , for closing any cards. Not to worry about your CIBIL Hits overly,as your credit history had crossed 5 years, Even if there is a small impact, the score will recover very quickly ...

Enjoy ..

Then with Eyes closed..
1) CLlse MMT.. keep Coral Rupay..
Coral is a core card and will be useful in further upgrades and offers.. Dont take any other co-branded cards from ICICI if overleverage is your concern.. Only excpetion is Amazon Pay ICICI CC..
In a year or two, you will have other gemstone cards as upgrades and all of them will be grouped together under one- account..
This way you will have more ICICI cards for instant offers but no impact on over exposure..

2) No CIBIL hits ever , for closing any cards. Not to worry about your CIBIL Hits overly,as your credit history had crossed 5 years, Even if there is a small impact, the score will recover very quickly ...

Enjoy ..
Thanks @SSV garu for the detailed explanation.

• Lovely
then dont worry.. the drop in your score is nothing to do with MMT closing..
even if it is for that reason, it will bounce back within 2 to 3 months
Okay, got it. I make sure to pay all the bills before the statement generation date and sometimes the amount to be paid is negative. So I think only closure has caused this drop.
And I hope it bounces back soon.

Okay, got it. I make sure to pay all the bills before the statement generation date and sometimes the amount to be paid is negative. So I think only closure has caused this drop.
And I hope it bounces back soon.
The key here is except for a very few banks like SBI and ICICI etc.. for all other banks , yhou need to pay before 30/31.. then see your score jumps another 10 points

One more update on this:

Checked my CIBIL score couple of days ago and the score is back to where it was before the card was closed.

So the dip of 7 points lasted for just over a week, 10 days to be precise.

As @SSV mentioned, if we pay up before the bill is generated or before 30/31 of each month, the score rebounds pretty quickly.

One more update on this:

Checked my CIBIL score couple of days ago and the score is back to where it was before the card was closed.

So the dip of 7 points lasted for just over a week, 10 days to be precise.

As @SSV mentioned, if we pay up before the bill is generated or before 30/31 of each month, the score rebounds pretty quickly.
if you wish to , you can write your experience in the below CIBIL thread so that it acts like a central hub for all CIBIL related issues.. thanks
especially it was dealing with one of my recommendations of making all accounts 0 balance for the best possible CIBIL score for specific purposes ..thanks again..

if you wish to , you can write your experience in this CIBIL thread so that it acts like a central hub for all CIBIL related issues.. thanks
especially it was dealing with one of my recommendations of making all accounts 0 balance for the best possible CIBIL score ..thanks again..

Sure @SSV garu. I will add a link to this thread in the main thread. I posted here as I was updating periodically here.

I would like to express my gratitude to you, @SSV garu. You're doing an exceptional job of keeping the community informed on these finer details which are very helpful and if planned well, we can navigate very well. Thanks again and cheers.