A great Life lesson for trusting someone above there worth

Hire a lawyer, transfer all your assets to someone you trust in family and show financial difficulties Keep on getting dates and take a settlement no other way. Paying all for someone doesn't make sense at all. The only drawback your cibil will be ruined, which I'm ok with.
I have a better plan.

If CIBIL gonna ultimately ruin, why don't take 5-7 more bank's card, 3-4 more loans and then execute the same.

@hender वो कहते है न, आपदा में अवसर।

Indeed very sad and disheartening, great breach of trust and limits of negligence crossed by the friend.
Its very unfortunate to see what are we getting for putting our trust in someone.

But even if legal proceedings happen and the friend is found faulty how is he gonna pay he has no money!
and why doesn't your friend takes a personal load and gives your money back to you and then pays the amount himself!

Good that you learnt in early in life and good that you lost only this much.

There is this golden proverb I always keep in mind -

1. If you are giving money to family or friends, give as much as you can afford to lose. After giving, just write it off from your mind. Believe that it's gone forever.

2. If someone asks money, and if you don't give it, you will lose only friendship. If you give money, you will lose money and friendship both.

I have a better plan.

If CIBIL gonna ultimately ruin, why don't take 5-7 more bank's card, 3-4 more loans and then execute the same.

@hender वो कहते है न, आपदा में अवसर।
Well, Jokes Apart.
Above all - "Peace of Mind and patience in tough situation".
Sharing a real life experience

Hi Folks hope all of you are fine. I am 24 as of now with half decade of work experience.
I am working with my dearest friend whom I met in office. He’s behavior is too good towards everyone.
we both are working together in a DSA. After some time, we both started a plan to start our own DSA. We left the job and started working from his home. Our bond grew strong and we started earning good.
He took some goods like phone,laptop A/C, etc on my name and paid all the emi’s on time. After that he took Personal Loans in my name from apps like Kreditbee, Mobikwik, Amazon, fedral, Au bank,Snapmint. I always believe in cash. And never used or bought anything on emi but he’s the one who’s using all that things. And he also asked me for some money for personal usage. I lent him. And I started a kameti with him worth 1.5lac for 10 months.

In the beginning of 6 months he paid all the EMI’s on time. But the MAIN THING IS for last 6 months he’s not paying any emi on time stating that he don’t have any money and for the past 6 months I have been paying the emi.

6 MONTHS BACK STORY.

Everything is going really well. I have saved some decent money in my early stages of life. My friend put all his money and in some company which doubles all the money once every month. First month company doubled the money. 2nd month he asked all of there neighbours to invest the money in It. And the company took the money and ran. so all of them have stopped Payment of Kameti. They told him to deduct that from his kameti they are not going to pay for it.

His personal account also got blocked due the complaints on the company which doubles the money.
Due to all that for the last 6 months I am paying all his emi’s and I am single earner of my family of 5. And for last 6 months I am so much stressed I cant focus on my work so I have used all my savings to pay his emi’s. which is around 45k per month. And for the Past 6 months I am very devasted.

Whenever I call my dear friend he always tells me for the past 6 months he is arrange the money and it will take time.

In such a Young age I got the very hard Lesson that never lend money to someone.

Right now I have paid 4lac worth of the loan which is in my name but used by him and still 3.5lac is remaining. I cant understand what should I do. How to get out of this shit………….

Any suggestions will be helpful.
Life taught you a hard lesson, Now it's upto you, how you shape up your future.

Trust me, even the tough time pass TOO.
Whatever positive you can consume, may be spirituality or temple or Music or Books, Movies.
Keep yourself in Hope....
You already are a Winner, as you can open up yourself, and facing the problem.
Many can't do, and in anger, depression and frustration take wrong steps.

Your Time will COME.

Sorry to hear your experience bhai but as my father always told me don't mix relationship or friendship with money.

Maybe this style of living is too cynical for you in which case please feel free to ignore it.

However I never mix anything or anyone with money. Hisaab is hisaab.

I'm a baniya though

Well, Jokes Apart.

Whatever positive you can consume, may be spirituality or temple or Music or Books, Movies.

Your Time will COME.
I am trying my level best to survive let's see what awaits me in future.

Sorry to hear your experience bhai but as my father always told me don't mix relationship or friendship with money.

Maybe this style of living is too cynical for you in which case please feel free to ignore it.

However I never mix anything or anyone with money. Hisaab is hisaab.

I'm a baniya though
I gave him money out of sympathy and now i am the one who's paying the price of it.

I might have done wrong to someone this was the price i need to pay.

not true. A good lawyer is very useful. And its not just 4 lacs. He already have to pay 3.5 l more debt. Plus loan he personally lent. But biggest issue is he has involved op with other people. He needs lawyer to make sure court doesn't find him co conspirator later. His exposure is pretty high. These fin crimes gets reported to cibil. After that bye bye birdie.

Limit is just 50k bot 7L.

This is also not true. Here bank/loan issuer isn't liable but he can make his friend liable. In case of default, bank will sue OP but OP can Sue his friend. Also there are many technicalities coercion, false promise, was the funds intended for a specific purpose. Only a lawyer can go through the documents and come up with right strategy.

This is illegal. Unless he is connected , he will be deeper hole.

This is why @Kumar93196 you need an expert. Not just any lawyer. Someone who deals with such cases. Also a local guy(contact matters).

Even though law doesn't restrict lawyer to practise a particular type of case, they themselves put this restrictions to build core competency, contacts, & to be a expert in one particular field.

A good lawyer & ca is worth their fee, just like a good mechanic/electrician/plumber or a consultant.

Man you don't understand taxes don't you (and Indian legal system either). The limit of 50k for gifts is the tax exemption limit. After 50k you have to pay taxes as per your slab. Ambani can gift me a billion Rupees he us not limited to 50k limit as long as I pay taxes on 1Billion minus 50k (limit). So if you don't have any income you can get a gift of 7L and for financial year 2025-onwards a gift of 12L tax free GIVEN THAT YOU DON'T HAVE ANY OTHER INCOME THAN GIFTS.

So OP's friend being a bastard most probably doesn't have any income. He is all good.

As for your legal suggestions, yes he can sue anyone he likes. But after thousands in legal and CA fee, all he will end up is more money lost. Again you are right in theory, but pratically it's an exercise in vein.

If OP had a cheque as a basic security for debt, he would have been in good condition and even then courts just go the route of settlement which on an average would take 5-10 years. And assuming the bastard friend CAN pay it. I can take 1Cr loan from you with a Cheque as Securty and make your life hell outside and inside court. All I would have to do is show how bad my condition is and how I want to pay but have no money. Courts always try to go the route of settlement. All OPs friend has to do is find an average lawyer. OP has to find a great lawyer. You do the math. Also look at the no of check bounce cases in court, I know two poeple with 50L+ check bounce case and they are the happiest people in the world. Every court date they go to court and that's it. They have your usual lawyers claiming they can keep stalling even the settlement. Courts can help you with Individual Suing an organisation and that too it's not the court helping, it's organization saving their brand image.

For individual vs Individual, there is practically no justice system in India. I personally (as In my family knows them since the last 50-75 years) know a guy who shot another guy (again know the family for almost 50-100 years...) dead in front of a shop, in full knowledge over a dispute and your usual rage with a licensed Gun. Surrendered himself, got bail and is happy as a fiddle. Both families are well connected and I mean really WELL connected. Calling Indian Judiciary a joke is like insulting jokes.

So in the end I like to keep my trust in my brains and my licensed Gun. Everything else is pure unadulterated bullshit.

1. If you are giving money to family or friends, give as much as you can afford to lose. After giving, just write it off from your mind. Believe that it's gone forever.

2. If someone asks money, and if you don't give it, you will lose only friendship. If you give money, you will lose money and friendship both.

You can write this advice in pure gold and even that wouldn't do justice to it's inherent value.

Well, Jokes Apart.

Your Time will COME.

@OP this is some good advice, whether you go the legal route or not. Just hang in their, everyone handles tough situation differently, I can't comment on what TO DO but whatever you do, don't make your situation any worse than it already is. Focus on your mental health and peace above all.

Man you don't understand taxes don't you (and Indian legal system either)..
For someone who understand law so much, you seem to advise a completely illegal move.

Only in India laymen are bigger experts than the experts themselves. I dont understand why people cant accept that someone who has spent decades of his life in a particular field might know more than them. The arrogance!
Matter is not just about 4L as stated by you( or even 7.5L). Thr bigger issue is defending personal asset in case (which is most likely) situation deteriorates. Protecting cibil & not getting targeted as co conspirator. The culprit has meddled with ops finances. He was his old partner. After sometime others will target op.

And you can't just wake up one day and claim it as Gift, you have to report it beforehand. Even for that you have to show proof, when someone contest it. Op has proof it was a loan.

With lawyer and ca, you get what you pay for. You can't give 300rs to mechanic to service your bike and expect him to repair what is wrong. He can only replace. If you want your mechanic to repair what is wrong, not replace the whole assembly, then you have to go to a skilled mechanic & he might charge 3k for it.

@Kumar93196 Its your call, whether you want to employ illegal tactics and dig bigger hole or go to someone who can salvage the situation

For someone who understand law so much, you seem to advise a completely illegal move.

Only in India laymen are bigger experts than the experts themselves. I dont understand why people cant accept that someone who has spent decades of his life in a particular field might know more than them. The arrogance!
Matter is not just about 4L as stated by you( or even 7.5L). Thr bigger issue is defending personal asset in case (which is most likely) situation deteriorates. Protecting cibil & not getting targeted as co conspirator. The culprit has meddled with ops finances. He was his old partner. After sometime others will target op.

And you can't just wake up one day and claim it as Gift, you have to report it beforehand. Even for that you have to show proof, when someone contest it. Op has proof it was a loan.

With lawyer and ca, you get what you pay for. You can't give 300rs to mechanic to service your bike and expect him to repair what is wrong. He can only replace. If you want your mechanic to repair what is wrong, not replace the whole assembly, then you have to go to a skilled mechanic & he might charge 3k for it.

I never recommended anything illegal. Keeping faith in your Brains and Licensed Gun is the most legal thing in the world. All I did was share my practical experiences.

However, if you think otherwise, see if you can help OP find a good lawyer. As I said, OPs friend just needs an average lawyer but OP needs a good/great lawyer to have a fighting chance.

And it's not the arrogance, My family has been in Indian Administrative, Legal and Defense services since the british ruled this country. I might know nothing or everything. Go ahead help OP (you can charge him for your services) instead of trying to win an argument and I could be lying about everything I said, this is internet. You read something and go on if you don't like it.

Again, not trying to belittle you in any way. You are right in everything you said, the question is the practicality of it all. In the end your comments are writing cheques that reality just can't cash.

OP can't even file fraud case as the money transfer from his account happened after he shared the OTP.
Not accurate
The only solution would be to harass his friend's family, go to his house and try to (u dont have to actually take it just be cruel and pretend hard) pick up his parents' stuff as recovery, the idea is not to recover money or but create a rucus and make his family's life hell. I know it's bad and might sound outright evil but that's life. Insult and berate them hard. If all this isn't worth 4L then just pay up 4L and go on with your life. You have no other choice. You can try using other recovery tactics IYKYK.
Illegal

Not accurate

Illegal

*Not accurate* That's the whole point. Not accurate is the reason I said going for fraud is not feasible/realistic. It's not a black and white case of fraud.

*illegal*
I would say metal agony and instability after loosing money (ofc if OPs conscience allows it), a court is not gonna apply gangster act on OP for this. Again you are being pragmatic.

And let's not go further this rabbit hole of realist vs pragmatic. OP is adult enough to read and make up his mind. And once again there is nothing you said that's techinically wrong. And see if you can help OP in any way, I love people like you who wanna fight against odds. That's how great stories are made.

Bilkul sahi baat hai ..