Accidentally applied for a pre-approved Saphiro paid dual card. How to cancel? Would it becomes a barrier in my road to LTF Saphiro?

Tonymathew

Hi Family,

I have 5 icici LTF cards as of now.
Not having any savings account with the bank.
Under my card upgrade section in Imobile app, I was shown upgrade to paid sapphiro dual variant. Out of curiosity I pressed it, and without any hesitation the card was approved and issued, and was told will be delivered in 7 working days.

I messed it up it seems.

1) So how can I cancel the application?
2) I know if i can't cancel the application, I can opt not to activate the card. In that situation would I be charged? As I've never done that harkathi
3) by doing any of these 2 things, would it hamper my journey to LTF Saphiro (for no purpose, only for pleasure).
4) Most important question. IDFC charges the joining fee of any new card which has a shared limit with another card, even before the delivery itself. Would ICICI do that? Since I already have coral, hp coral and rubyx in the same shared gemstone series?

Could not find any relevant threads, so posting this.

@SSV @Vasuki

You can cancel the application by writing to customer service or calling them, try to avoid not activating the card after receiving it. You can get Saphiro converted to LTF even if take the paid version but it’s takes too much effort and saphiro is not worth taking as paid.

Hi Family,

Under my card upgrade section in Imobile app, I was shown upgrade to paid sapphiro dual variant. Out of curiosity I pressed it, and without any hesitation the card was approved and issued, and was told will be delivered in 7 working days.

I messed it up it seems.

2) I know if i can't cancel the application, I can opt not to activate the card. In that situation would I be charged? As I've never done that harkathi
3) by doing any of these 2 things, would it hamper my journey to LTF Saphiro (for no purpose, only for pleasure).

@SSV @Vasuki
Customer Care will not have any clue about upgradation process, icici cs is almost disconnected with cc timeline.
But still raise a request and if delivered do not activate

Hi Family,

I messed it up it seems.

Chill don't worry nothing will happen.
Just don't activate the card within the first 30 days of getting the card. Don't worry it will automatically get closed. You will receive an email confirmation of the card closure
No charges.

@SSV @Vasuki
.You will get the pre-approved offer of the same card within 1-2 months along with 2 more cards.

Just don't activate the card within the first 30 days of getting the card. Don't worry it will automatically get closed. You will receive an email confirmation of the card closure

No charges.

.You will get the pre-approved offer of the same card within 1-2 months along with 2 more cards.
Once i recieve the card and close it without activating, would I ever recieve another pre approved LTF offer from ICICI? Actually I do want the card, for my collection, but definitely paid

it is showing to me preapproved/upgrade for many years in the app, 6500rs fyf and 3500 renewal, need 6L spend to get waiver, have many much better cards form other banks so never went for this. if already 5 icici cards then make no sense, only usefule for the movies and instant discount

Once i recieve the card and close it without activating, would I ever recieve another pre approved LTF offer from ICICI? Actually I do want the card, for my collection, but definitely paid
Mostly pre approved offers are not affected by this it’s not a good practice to take the card and not activate it, it’s better to cancel it before

No charges.

Customer Care will not have any clue about upgradation process, icici cs is almost disconnected with cc timeline.
But still raise a request and if delivered do not activate

IDFC charges the joining fee of any new card which has a shared limit with another card, even before the delivery itself. Would ICICI do that? Since I already have coral, hp coral and rubyx in the same shared gemstone series?

Hi Family,

I messed it up it seems.

4) Most important question. IDFC charges the joining fee of any new card which has a shared limit with another card, even before the delivery itself. Would ICICI do that? Since I already have coral, hp coral and rubyx in the same shared gemstone series?

@SSV @Vasuki
My question may not be relevant to this...

can u share ur journey of getting 5 LTF CCs from ICICI
I don't have any SB account in ICICI and I am using Apay cc for the last 6 months (I am a self-employed)
I did not receive any pre approved CCs from ICICI
is this too early to expect upgrade/CC offers from ICICI , Should I wait for few more months ?

I don't have any SB account in ICICI and I am using Apay cc for the last 6 months (I am a self-employed)
is this too early to expect upgrade/CC offers from ICICI , Should I wait for few more months ?
Just wait a few more months, within next 6 months you will get preapproved card offer/spam calls for up-gradation.

Yes Sir.

My journey started in 2022 February. Where one branch executive from nearby branch came to our hostel ( I was a PG then doing General Medicine), as a part of promotion and offered LTF platinum cc. My friend and I applied for the same with all the necessary docs. Mine got rejected and his got approved. I kept on nagging the agent for 3-4 months, where he was not interested in providing the reason. Raised the same concern with ICICI tech team over FB. They told that they cannot open up the internal reasons. It was later by the year end, that I realised, that I had a poor cibil score of 650. I was a person with no cibil history. Literally no CC, loans or EMI. Then I went through the score and then realised that somebody had made a fake loan with my PAN with Dhani Loan services, and it was defaulted, I guess. Then I tried to understand the situation, and found that there were similar many complaints with Dhani, one even made by Sunny Leone. So I raised a dispute and after few months, that was removed from my cibil and my score increased to 720's. (Only if I knew about the RBI ombudsman programme then)..

Back in Aug, 2023, another nearby branch started there ad in our hospital, and was offering LTF coral for everyone. So I jumped on to that wagon. Card 1 done.

2 weeks after recieving the card, the wagon of CC on UPI made ICICI offer a free coral rupay LTF in their application, to almost everyone. Jumped on to that too. Card 2 dusted.

Now card 3, was ICICI apay. This card was rejected by Amazon 3-4 times in 2022. The reason of which was unknown to me. Now thinking back, it would have been the fake loan from dhani. So anyways, by February this year, for no reasons, I applied the card just because of need to avenge my pain with ICICI, and got the card issued instantly.

Once I became a consultant, the pretax salary crossed the then cutoff mark of LTF rubyx, 1 Lakh rupees, that too by barest of margin. So with the help of my nearest agent, applied for Rubyx LTF. It was rejected initially, for no reasons known. But after 2 days, the agent attempted again, without any further cibil hard enquiry. And viola, there was card 4.

In the month of September, one midnight, when my addiction of CC application peaked, I, for no reasons, strolled through ICICI website, and started application of a new CC, just to know whether the bank does deem me a worthy customer and to know whether there is any LTF card up the sleeves. Then there was HPCL coral card, LTF. I had no purpose with the card. But since it has an amex version, and all my cards till then being issued by VISA, RUPAY or MC, I went ahead and claimed the card 5.

So that's the story. I believe, I am not concerned about hard cibil enquiries, as they are frankly temporary, and I take shot at almost anything. FOR MO GOOD REASONS.

I still am greedy to get my hand on sapphiro and emerald. Just to complete my revenge on the bank that refused issuing card to me 7-8 times, due to mistakes not mine.

Peace out

Try to get atleast one core credit card. I think the rest will follow apne ap. I guess. If your salary is decent enough, try a hand on coral/rubyx as they are relatively easy to get a hands on. Never compromise with platinum, as it is meagre.