Anybody invest in Sovereign gold bonds?

Exactly. Plus when you add making charges, locker charges and GST the ROI of real gold is low compared to SGB.
Unless you have,

Exactly, in Real gold vs Digital gold vs Gold ETFs vs SGB, SGB will stand out and always be on top in terms of security, stability and return rate. People don't realise it.
You cannot exchange your SGB for real gold. If SGB was so great, why wouldn't governments around the world be buying SGB?

They're buying REAL physical gold. For a reason.

Please note SGB is nothing but a derivative instrument. It is not BACKED by gold, it is merely mimicking the price of gold. If the govt website is down, or the internet is down, you cannot access it, you cannot do anything.

You cannot exchange your SGB for real gold. If SGB was so great, why wouldn't governments around the world be buying SGB?

They're buying REAL physical gold. For a reason.

Please note SGB is nothing but a derivative instrument. It is not BACKED by gold, it is merely mimicking the price of gold. If the govt website is down, or the internet is down, you cannot access it, you cannot do anything.
Why would I exchange my sgb for real gold? Let them buy real physical gold. If govt website is down then what do I have to do with that? Cannot access it? Why would I access it? What will I do by accessing it? I will get half early intrest directly to bank and on maturity the money will be deposited directly to my bank account. I don't have to access it or do anything with it. I would like to tell that I have bought SGB as an investing instrument. And previously I wrote that it's the best form of instrument to invest in gold allowing myself to diversify my poflio. Also govt around the world not buying SGB? Yaar, pehli baat, only Indian residents can buy SGB, not even NRIs are eligible to buy SGBs. To dusre Desh ki baat Kahan se aaegi? Also this is an instrument for us individuals/residents of India. Govt buying SGB????? Really???? And the govt is buying gold because they can , and acts as cash flow/reserve for the country which is actually good for us Indians.
Peace ✌️

SGB PROS
  1. cheaper than gold
  2. no GST
  3. no making charges
  4. no handling or storage issues
  5. no physical selling issues
  6. Price increases with real gold price.
  7. 2.5% interest (beyond the gold price increase)
  8. No tax on selling at maturity (8 years)
CONS
  • Liquidity can be an issue if needs to sell before maturity
  • If sold before maturity, capital gain tax is applicable
  • 2.5% interest is taxable as per slab
  • Can not see the shining gold

Why would I exchange my sgb for real gold? Let them buy real physical gold. If govt website is down then what do I have to do with that? Cannot access it? Why would I access it? What will I do by accessing it? I will get half early intrest directly to bank and on maturity the money will be deposited directly to my bank account. I don't have to access it or do anything with it. I would like to tell that I have bought SGB as an investing instrument. And previously I wrote that it's the best form of instrument to invest in gold allowing myself to diversify my poflio. Also govt around the world not buying SGB? Yaar, pehli baat, only Indian residents can buy SGB, not even NRIs are eligible to buy SGBs. To dusre Desh ki baat Kahan se aaegi? Also this is an instrument for us individuals/residents of India. Govt buying SGB????? Really???? And the govt is buying SGB because they can , and acts as cash flow/reserve for the country which is actually good for us Indians.
Peace ✌️
Just a word of investing caution my friend. You do what's good for you. 👍🏼

SGB PROS
  1. cheaper than gold
  2. no GST
  3. no making charges
CONS
Just a word of investing caution my friend. You do what's good for you. 👍🏼
You can read this. I am already aware of SGB's pros and cons. The question you raised, I answered that.

SGB PROS
  1. cheaper than gold
  2. no GST
  3. no making charges
CONS
Like all investments, there are pros and cons.

If you're looking to get gold exposure, my suggestion is to go for real gold. Yes, there are some cons to that, no doubt. But that's the case with most investments.

There is a cost to buying a 'real' asset. It's like the choice b/w buying a REIT vs actual real estate. There is a definite hassle in dealing with physical real estate, which you can avoid in REITS. At least in a REIT, it is backed by physical real estate, I digress. But... (pls do your own homework).

I deal with derivative instruments, and I do not recommend it. If anyone is convinced that an SGB is the best exposure to gold, by all means invest.

Anyways, here is some food for thought:
- Why would govt issue SGB, when there are other GSec and Sovereign bonds?
- Why 2.5% vs. 6-7% on other Govt instruments.
- Was it to curb gold import? If there is no physical gold involved, how would this stop imports?
- When you buy SGB, you are lending to the govt, for that they will give you 2.5% (less when you factor in tax). The price of gold can also go down (it doesn't always go up all the time).

You really need to understand the purpose of why the govt introduced SGB to understand the investments benefit.

I'm sure the many moms who buy gold would agree with the super power status of physical gold. As a comedian once said, the ladies are lucky... you can't wear bonds, but you sure can wear gold. 😉

There's some interesting discussions going on at Zerodha's forum, please do check them out:

Exactly @anisharya16
People are baselessly diverting from the topic that the OP asked. OP asked whether the ROI of SGB is better than real gold, the answer is yes. If you check the average returns of SGB for the last 5-6 years, it is about 15%.
People will always buy real gold for personal satisfaction. No one can deny the feeling of real gold versus the virtual gold. But in this case, the scenario is different

Exactly @anisharya16
People are baselessly diverting from the topic that the OP asked. OP asked whether the ROI of SGB is better than real gold, the answer is yes. If you check the average returns of SGB for the last 5-6 years, it is about 15%.
People will always buy real gold for personal satisfaction. No one can deny the feeling of real gold versus the virtual gold. But in this case, the scenario is different
Yes, par kya hi kar skte h.

SGB needs to be treated like a mutual fund, linked to gold underlying. SGB is also available in secondary market, and often at significant discount. Buying SGB in secondary market, particularly those that is maturing within the next 24-36 mths, can give better returns than buying in new issue. SGB has no capital gains if held till maturity, irrespective of whether purchased on issue or in secondary market.

Price increases with real gold price.
You may need to adjust this now, to factor the fact that basic customs duty (BCD) can also affect the price, even if the price of gold globally is still high.

Seems like SGBs are going to be 'not so good' as investments option going forward.

Will have to see if govt issues new SGB following the latest budget.