Applied for Wealth But Got Select Instead

jyothisthaliath

I was using IDFC Select for past 6 months. Initial limit was only 1.2 Lacs. From the beginning I have been trying to get it upgraded to Wealth CC as I already got other CC having 5 Lacs limit. They told me to wait for 3 statements atleast and then request for upgrade.

Seeing many posts in the forum, I thought I would try my luck for Wealth CC through C2C process. I closed by Select card and confirmed the closure by email. Then next day I applied for Wealth CC by showing C2C with my ICICI Rubyx card having limit of 5 Lacs. I provided monthly income as 2 Lacs whereas in reality it is just 1.5 Lacs. After providing details, I was happy to see Wealth card with 7.5 Lacs limit showing there. I applied for same and completed the VKYC process.

But I got mail that they approved First Select card itself to me, with an improved limit of 3 Lacs. I escalated to PNO saying that I had applied for Wealth CC, then why they provided Select. They said it is Bank discretion to issue whatever card is suitable. I am not planning to activate this card, as it doesn't provide any benefit to me.

I want to know what went wrong here:
1. May be I should've given a higher fake income figure during application?
2. ICICI Rubyx was a bad choice for C2C? Other card I have is from HSBC for 4.2 Lakhs. I think less than 5 Lacs it won't count as eligible for C2C to Wealth CC?

1. May be I should've given a higher fake income figure during application?
Not Recommended
2. ICICI Rubyx was a bad choice for C2C? Other card I have is from HSBC for 4.2 Lakhs. I think less than 5 Lacs it won't count as eligible for C2C to Wealth CC?
I also used my ICICI card 4.2L and got Millenia with 1.38L then within 4 months upgraded to Select with just spending rs 130 throughout the 4 months.

After Devaluation, all offer the same rewards rate Select/Wealth doesn't matter, else you are looking for some special benefits.

Depends on the negotiating skills I got Select with 1L IF. And Wealth I have talked into 3L MAB but have to wait for 3 months for 2nd upgrade request.
Also, you can change the branch if your RM/BM is not negotiating.
This man right here motivated me to take action 🙂

I called up IDFC and asked to send their guy down to open Wealth account. First person told that no way I can open Wealth below 10 Lacs. Second person, an ambitious sales guy, he came to my place and put down his word that he cannot give Wealth straightaway, but open a new account get approvals for converting it to Wealth with just 5 Lac IF. We have given the cheque for opening a new account in my wife's name (as I already have account and it won't be NTB). After wife's account becomes Wealth, they will add me also through family banking

Now you will remain struck in loop of asking them to upgrade to Wealth and they will keep telling you to add more balance.

The best way to handle this is to go to bank, and ask the sales guy that you want to open Wealth account but you want to talk to Bank Manager first. Negotiate with BM directly.

Now you will remain struck in loop of asking them to upgrade to Wealth and they will keep telling you to add more balance.
I know that risk. We have discussed this upfront and told him that if they can't keep the commitment, we will m close the account. He promised that he has done the same for many people and it has never failed 😌

I'm giving him a chance to prove his word. He knows that the branch is close, and I can come down any time 😂

Congrats.
The account will take around 1 month to get upgraded to Wealth.
Kit by next week first 25K kit then After Wealth Upgrade Wealth Kit
Also, do the Rs1000+ transactions on both DCs Normal and Wealth DC for 2000+8000 RPs = 2500GV -116.82 Redemption Fees Net Profit 2383.18

I know that risk. We have discussed this upfront and told him that if they can't keep the commitment, we will m close the account. He promised that he has done the same for many people and it has never failed 😌

I'm giving him a chance to prove his word. He knows that the branch is close, and I can come down any time 😂
Please don't ask for the CC right now let the account get upgraded to Wealth then while linking your account to the family group your customer ID will also, get upgraded to Wealth Status Like in my case after that ask for the wealth cc.

Read this 2 threads for more information

Not to worry he will do it.
In my case, they did Select for 1L IF now agreed to do Wealth for 3L MAB but it takes time around 3 to 4 weeks for the whole process to get completed.