Axis Magnus Burgundy Magnus 5:4 ratio

1) Please post here when your Magnus card with Burgundy status shows a 5:4 conversion ratio.

2) Also post if you have received a brand new Burgundy Magnus card or have the same old Magnus card.

3) Whether the brand new burgundy Magnus card is lifetime free or old Magnus card is made lifetime free because of your Burgundy 10 lac AQB savings account.

So far I don't think anyone in India is getting it, but its supposed to be starting from 15 to 21 September 2023.

Also kindly let us know how simple and easy it is to convert your existing ordinary savings account in Axis Bank to a Burgundy savings account. Thanks 🙏

To make you understand suppose 70% was only 10% and you have to pay 90% for air tickets with real money.
then what would be the value of the points???

Remember that commission earned on international flights is approximately 17%.
Along with that HDFC is charging you convenience fees.
and Magnus burgundy gives 24% return if you buy air tickets on Traveledge
If it would be 10% i will not have that card only. Nothing to do with value, just that card becomes too restrictive. Like Axis is creating this group A & B but limits are still fine. But id they reduce limits a lot in that case no point using that card even if earn rate is 50%! 70% is good enough for me to have good perceived value. I think individual choice but i always value Infinia points as simple 1 rs per point, Amex point as 50 paise and Axis edge reward point as 80 paise.

Is your net salary credit more than 3L per month (excluding bonus and any other stuff)? Only then Magnus Burgundy will continue.

Else Axis also gives Burgundy status for <3L salary also, but MB will not continue for salary credits of less than 3L. Till now, this check was not done strictly, but it has stated now
Actually, it is and nothing changed since they upgraded my Magnus to Burgundy and now back!l (infact, got my bonus after the upgrade)

I m thinking to fight or give up and close Axis Burgundy salary account and my Magnus! The end of the tale since the realisation on Magnus Burgundy will still be sub-optimum as per the calculations!

Actually, it is and nothing changed since they upgraded my Magnus to Burgundy and now back!l (infact, got my bonus after the upgrade)
I m thinking to fight or give up and close Axis Burgundy salary account and my Magnus! The end of the tale since the realisation on Magnus Burgundy will still be sub-optimum as per the calculations!
I agree, plain Magnus is not worth having if you have to pay for it.
Only keep it if it is lifetime free

Assuming MR point value at 1 rupee is highly optimistic. Sure few times it may be possible (as everyone quotes Rishikesh example), but most of the times it will not be. For the purpose of calculation, I will peg the value at 0.5 to 0.6 only (not as low as 0.3). Anything over and above that will be bonus. For the purpose of RoI calculations, it is better to assume less than 1 to generate realistic picture.

For Taj also I think you got lucky. In the recent times, Amex voucher redemption is not allowed for member rates. Not at least in resort properties. Adding to that Taj experiences voucher is available at 14-16% discount elsewhere which can be used for member rates also reduces the net amex voucher value

However you will still get the best value if you can redeem entire Amex vouchers for food bill during your stay and book discounted / member rates to be paid via experience vouchers procured at 15% discount
On the Taj topic: I tried booking via the call centre. To my surprise, if you press a little harder, but with a soft tone 🙂 , they negotiate! Apart from this Taj Agra booking, in my earlier booking, I was able to get about 2.5k discount per night just by using charm 🙂
Try it next time !

Honestly i think Taj hotels in India in most cities are just over-valued. Accor gives much better options in terms of properties and is more value for money.

Any card giving value in terms of Taj Voucher is just exaggeration, real value is much much lower

I have stayed in both Taj and also good hotels under Accor, I would choose Accor any day.

So, ur Magnus Burgundy is closed and u got a paid magnus with 5:2 transfer ratio and all MB points are back to Edge points without any notice?

@drsel pls give him your vouchers (if u have), at 5-6k all vouchers will get sold instantly.. at 7k also vouchers get sold easily.. you want to sell for low price doesn’t mean price is that low.. 7k value you easily get for 10k taj vouchers..
You know you can get Amazon pay at a discount of 12.6--13.71%.
And Amex itself values the 14000 Taj voucher the same as 8000 Amazon pay, they value both at 24000 MR points.
Now you do the maths.
I will not waste more time on this.

You know you can get Amazon pay at a discount of 12.6--13.71%.
And Amex itself values the 14000 Taj voucher the same as 9000 Amazon pay.
Now you do the maths
how is this relevant? how are you going to buy taj voucher on amex using amazon pay voucher bought on hdfc smartbuy.. one is hdfc reward and one is amex.. how amex values it MR for amazon or taj is also dependent on the deal they have with that brand.. why are you mixing the two? value is what you can get by selling it (incase you don’t want to use it). if you get 6.5k value it that, if i am able to get 7k i will value it that..

nothing more from me on this topic.. everyone has their own value per point so leave it that

So, ur Magnus Burgundy is closed and u got a paid magnus with 5:2 transfer ratio and all MB points are back to Edge points without any notice?
My app shows the card status as below screen shot - same card continues after degrade and have the 5:2 conversion..

• IMG_7992.jpeg
    IMG_7992.jpeg
    160.2 KB · Views: 19
I am little bent to conclude that even Magnus Burgundy is not a real value - cards giving better realisation are available, as stated!
Looks like u value Taj/Marriott stays and revenue flights more than budget stays and Airmiles. So, u won't see value.

For people, who prefer budget travel and understand airmiles and want Accor, JAL, Turkish Miles, Axis is the best option.