Can I get a HDFC salary account even though my company doesn't have a Corporate Salary Relationship with HDFC?

wapenshaw

HI,

My Sal is around 1.6LPM. I have been using a standard savings account on ICICI for 3 years now since our employer has a corpo salary relationship (CSR) with icici (whatever that is). The thing is this account has been completely non beneficial to me in the no one offered me anything, Even the ICICI coral card I have I have applied online with 500 annual fee and 50k Limit. Never an offer for increase in limit or any free upgrades.

I was wondering if I could shift to HDFC salary account but their webpage says we need to have a CSR with HDFC and my company to open a salary account. I checked with our company accountant and he said that there is no CSR with HDFC only ICICI.

If I can't open HDFC salary, tell me ways I can improve my banking at ICICI. I see two options to upgrade some One account and some other 1LPA minimum salary account. Currently as far as I know its just a basic savings account. The debit card I have is also the nameless debit card I got with the welcome kit when I opened the account.

Please guide me in the right direction on what to do. TIA 🙂

HI,

My Sal is around 1.6LPM. I have been using a standard savings account on ICICI for 3 years now since our employer has a corpo salary relationship (CSR) with icici (whatever that is). The thing is this account has been completely non beneficial to me in the no one offered me anything, Even the ICICI coral card I have I have applied online with 500 annual fee and 50k Limit. Never an offer for increase in limit or any free upgrades.

I was wondering if I could shift to HDFC salary account but their webpage says we need to have a CSR with HDFC and my company to open a salary account. I checked with our company accountant and he said that there is no CSR with HDFC only ICICI.

If I can't open HDFC salary, tell me ways I can improve my banking at ICICI. I see two options to upgrade some One account and some other 1LPA minimum salary account. Currently as far as I know its just a basic savings account. The debit card I have is also the nameless debit card I got with the welcome kit when I opened the account.

Please guide me in the right direction on what to do. TIA 🙂
If you want better credit cards, you can apply with salary slip.

Can I get a HDFC salary account even though my company doesn't have a Corporate Salary Relationship with HDFC?
If your company doesn't put a restriction as "We only credit salary to ICICI accounts", and your company can credit salary to any bank's account as long as it is in the name of the employee, then you are free to open a salary account with any bank unless the bank denies to do so.

With salary 1.6LPM, you could easily get HDFC preferred salary account. Before opening the account you could negotiate for credit card as well.
My guess is that they would easily offer DCP LTF. You could negotiate for something higher as well, try to get the CC LTF. It is not impossible.

If you fine-tune your queries in terms of right salary account as per your salary and right credit card, and search within this forum, you would get the answers to your queries.
Please research here before taking a decision or jumping to open a salary account or getting settled with a lower CC.

If your company doesn't put a restriction as "We only credit salary to ICICI accounts", and your company can credit salary to any bank's account as long as it is in the name of the employee, then you are free to open a salary account with any bank unless the bank denies to do so.

With salary 1.6LPM, you could easily get HDFC preferred salary account. Before opening the account you could negotiate for credit card as well.
My guess is that they would easily offer DCP. You could negotiate for something higher as well.

If you fine-tune your queries in terms of right salary account as per your salary and right credit card, and search within this forum, you would get the answers to your queries.
Please research here before taking a decision or jumping to open a salary account or getting settled with a lower CC.
thank you will research more, also waiting for this year's appraisal as sal will further increase. Afaik my company deposits to any bank, some have axis some have hdfc but I thought it was not considered salary credit and just a neft transfer or something

You need to check with your payroll team whether they can credit the salary as "the salary" to any bank account. I highlighted the word "credit salary" in my post. As long as the company can credit the salary with the tag "salary" from a registered entity, a bank can give you a "salary" account.

I checked with our accountant and he says it will show up like this in hdfc statement (ex is axis bank i think)
1702884446636.png

In comparison my ICICI salary credit looks like this

1702884653373.png

I checked with our accountant and he says it will show up like this in hdfc statement (ex is axis bank i think)
View attachment 37754

In comparison my ICICI salary credit looks like this

View attachment 37757
The salary tag seems to be missing. You would need to discuss about this with the employee of the bank where you choose to open salary account.
Ideally your company should disburse salary with salary tag to non-ICICI accounts too. Check with the accountant if they could do it.
It seems your company uses ICICI bank for disbursal of the employee salary.

The salary tag seems to be missing. You would need to discuss about this with the employee of the bank where you choose to open salary account.
Ideally your company should disburse salary with salary tag to non-ICICI accounts too. Check with the accountant if they could do it.
It seems your company uses ICICI bank for disbursal of the employee salary.
I asked a colleague of mine and she says this is how it appears on her HDFC statement, the one I showed above was axis bank apparently

1702961931178.png

I asked a colleague of mine and she says this is how it appears on her HDFC statement, the one I showed above was axis bank apparently

View attachment 37824
What I would suggest now is that go ahead find the best salary account that you would want to avail, open the account, add the account details to your payroll portal, wait for the salary credit, and check the statements/SMS as to what is the tag.

No harm in trying this approach. There's nothing to lose here.

Hello OP! let me also know which type of salary account and CC you finally decide to go for. I see that HDFC also have a premium salary account.
Will do, I am eligible even now for a premium one says Salary credit > 50k, but what's confusing is premium is millennia better or just standard premium with platinum debit card. millennia premium has 25k sal eligibility. But anyway, I will go to the bank next week and gather information.

I am in the same boat, want to switch to HDFC but bank manager told me that it will a normal salary account not corporate salary account as our company doesn’t have relationship with HDFC

Corporate salary account are zero balance accounts like for example based on my salary I am eligible for preferred banking but if my company has a tie-up with bank I need not to maintain MAB of 2lakh