Card suggestions for foreign exchange in Russia

Walter White

With MasterCard, Visa and American Express operations suspended in Russia, which is the best possible way to pay in or to withdraw Rubles? Do Rupay cards work in Russia?

direct russia hi jaa rhe ...kya karre tadap hi aisi hai 🙂 ..jk.....yeah me too curious about russia as of now they were developing some rupay russia thing i guess

I have heard on news and read other articles where they are saying that Rupay is working in Russia. It would be worthwhile to check with your Bank forex card division.

Hdfc is pretty good with foreign currency.

Though not advised, you can grab roubles from local currency market by paying cash.

I have never used travellers cheques but that could be a workable option too.

You may also buy a forex prepaid card from hdfc, costs around Rs 500 to Rs 1000. Check with a small amount and see if it works when u get there. Reload if it works and try other backup options if not.

Regards,

I have heard on news and read other articles where they are saying that Rupay is working in Russia. It would be worthwhile to check with your Bank forex card division.

Hdfc is pretty good with foreign currency.

Though not advised, you can grab roubles from local currency market by paying cash.

I have never used travellers cheques but that could be a workable option too.

You may also buy a forex prepaid card from hdfc, costs around Rs 500 to Rs 1000. Check with a small amount and see if it works when u get there. Reload if it works and try other backup options if not.

Regards,
Visa/MC will no longer work if cards are issued outside Russia. And big banks like ICICI, HDFC would stay away from anything involving Russia due to risk of secondary sanctions, the primary reason GoI is using UCO Bank for Ruble-Rupee trade vostro account, as was the case with Iran few years bank due to low exposure to US markets.

Visa/MC will no longer work if cards are issued outside Russia. And big banks like ICICI, HDFC would stay away from anything involving Russia due to risk of secondary sanctions, the primary reason GoI used UCO Bank for Ruble-Rupee trade, as was the case with Iran few years bank due to low exposure to US markets.
Well, I was not updated to that extent 😆

I think we are pretty much stuck here, then. Cash is gold, then, imo.