I like to believe total mehnat sabko same karni hai. Personally i can work extra early years because i have time and energy, after a few years, i want relaxed life.Burnout ho jayega FIRE ke chonchle mein.
Batao, the contrast in experience. I am assuming this is true for metro cities and the like. In my hometown, it feels like people have never heard of the word 'retirement'. You'll hardly find people just chilling at home. My 75+ uncle still puts in a full shift daily with my cousin brothers at the shop.In India, the concept of Retirement is where one imagines people saying at home, not doing anything, not travelling, etc. Not being disrespectful, but take our parents' generation for example... Right now, majority are with us at home. This is a very sharp contrast to how it is in west where retired people are chilling, travelling, pursuing hobbies, etc.
There are 3 categoriesBatao, the contrast in experience. I am assuming this is true for metro cities and the like. In my hometown, it feels like people have never heard of the word 'retirement'. You'll hardly find people just chilling at home. My 75+ uncle still puts in a full shift daily with my cousin brothers at the shop.
That's the meaning of early F I R E.☝️, not 60 or 70+ retired.retirement means that I don't want to wake up thinking I need to work and provide for my family. That's it, I want to wake up and chose whatever I want to do without the need to worry about financial consequences of that.
Yeah. India has a lot of discrimination based on age as well, in addition to region, caste etc. The young people seem to live in a fantasy world where they imagine anyone 45 or 50 onwards to be too old to do anything. I met a lady recently at a mall. She was only 50 years old and stated that after 50, people in India were expected to give up material things and focus on the spiritual. Similarly, I read a comment on Redditt yesterday where someone was surprised that a 65 years old person would be on Redditt!!! This mentality where the parents devote all their lives and resources to their children and then become babysitters for the grand children is super prevalent and is the root of the problem. In reality, a person can be super active till 65 to 75 depending upon their health and reasonably active till around 80 to 85 as well if they remain healthy. At 65, I would no have hesitation in buying the latest tech, the latest car, traveling the world, doing things, dating (if single) and so on.This is one thing I have observed travelling across countries. In India, the concept of Retirement is where one imagines people saying at home, not doing anything, not travelling, etc. Not being disrespectful, but take our parents' generation for example... Right now, majority are with us at home. This is a very sharp contrast to how it is in west where retired people are chilling, travelling, pursuing hobbies, etc.
For example, when I go for golf lessons, a lot of people I see are retired people, even when I went to Ski, last year, I was shocked myself to see 60+ aged people doing skiing and snowboard (which is a very muscle intensive thing).
So, that changed my perspective towards the meaning of Retirement. Personally, to me, retirement means that I don't want to wake up thinking I need to work and provide for my family. That's it, I want to wake up and chose whatever I want to do without the need to worry about financial consequences of that.
www.safalniveshak.com
50* current annual expensesIF is very simple, HOW is difficult....
only theoretical gyaan.![]()
Letter to A Young Investor #15: Are You a Stock or a Bond? - Safal Niveshak
Two Books. One Purpose. A Better Life. 🎁 Now Available At Special Prices! I am writing this series of letters on the art of investing, addressed to a young investor, with the aim to provide timeless wisdom and practical advice that helped me when I was starting out. My goal is to help young...www.safalniveshak.com
A good article
Sorry, please explain this point...It is depreciating for professions like IT
Achieving fire for normal folks is impossible at least before 40-45. If you are working in FAANG remote jobs or had onsite opportunities, then it is possible much earlier. For the rest of us, we can only dream.
Human capital depends whether funnel is increasing with experience or decreasingSorry, please explain this point...
Yes but new gyaan is gyaan.only theoretical gyaan.
Human capital is appreciating for professions like Doctors, CA's, Lawyers etc
It is depreciating for professions like IT and it is fixed for govt servants
Always do opposite of what youtubers and online influencers suggest
I have a complete 180 opposite perspective than you...Human capital depends whether funnel is increasing with experience or decreasing
Funnel becomes narrow for IT professional with increasing experience
However, funnel becomes wide for professionals like doctor, lawyer etc with experience....these professional career peak is after age of 55
I have a complete 180 opposite perspective than you...
I believe after 50s, one gets experience which is very much helpful for organizations, if not as an employee then as a consultant. (Which is basically similar to a Doctor as both are considered self-employed)
I would like to understand more about tour PoV.
Do you work in IT?
Guy who works in IT company here and completely agree to this. Read all the news about massive layoffs happening in IT companies. A bulk of those being let go are in middle management which is your typical 40 ish people. The issue with IT is that after a certain point there is nothing you can acquire in terms of knowledge because IT as such grows at the bottom (new technologies, extensions and parameters) and not from the top like medicine or law (which build on on existing knowledge).I worked in IT but achieved FIRE no. through my business not by job....In my Fire corpus, i earned only 7.5% through job and 92.5% from business
No one can achieve FIRE no from regular job except you become "real" VP/President by 50 (Not for namesake VP to impress the client)....One of my known person is VP at the age of 34 but salary is only 1.5 lakh per month.
85% recent large scale retrenchments/forced resignations in all top IT companies is of the employees 40+ years in age
Sadly, Funnel is getting narrower and narrower for IT professionals.
So, taking your situation as a case study... You worked in IT and then you went to your own business. So, You moved to the Self employed group of people...I worked in IT but achieved FIRE no. through my business not by job....In my Fire corpus, i earned only 7.5% through job and 92.5% from business
No one can achieve FIRE no from regular job except you become "real" VP/President by 50 (Not for namesake VP to impress the client)....One of my known person is VP at the age of 34 but salary is only 1.5 lakh per month.
85% recent large scale retrenchments/forced resignations in all top IT companies is of the employees 40+ years in age
Sadly, Funnel is getting narrower and narrower for IT professionals.