Infinia Help me decide continuing with EPM vs Infinia vs Both

bhaveshbhai

I have both HDFC Infinia Metal and ICICI Emeralde Private Metal cards. My usage of credit card would be mostly on Amazon and Flipkart, and mostly about 10-12 lakhs per year (including online and offline spends). Should I be retaining both cards or only one (which one )?

Here is the current condition -

Infinia Metal , currently in second year , first year was free and I spent 11 lakhs from that so current year became free, I will definitely be retaining this card for current year but not sure whether I target all my 10 lakh spends from this card in this year to make the third year annual fees waiver or from EPM.

EPM , currently in first year (starting from march 2025), spent 5.5L so far from primary card (ICICI doesn't count for add on card spends for annual fee waiver criteria), now not sure whether to continue my further spends from EPM or Infinia whose second year has just started in sep 2025.

A lot of folks on this forum would have wanted to say a lot of things on this thread not connected with the original question, but would have refrained 🙂 This is a problem that most of folks would dream to have.

Coming to the original question, if you can recover GST paid by way of discounts/Ishop/Smartbuy/BMS BOGO it is definitely worth retaining both.

Let i be saving if you have just Infinia.
Let e be saving if you have just epm.
Let ie be saving if you have both.

If ie > i + ₹ 5000 and ie > e + ₹ 5000, own both. I believe first case is definitely true due to Amazon vouchers. I believe second will also be true especially if you have to book hotels more than 50k in month.

If I were you, I would have retained both without calculating. 😁

Discontinue both for inner peace.
Jack Black Meditation GIF by Kung Fu Panda 4

Actually I have similar problem too. I have EPM /DCB / Atlas. So I want to annual spends of 16lacs on DCB(4per quarter), 10 on EPM and 7.5 Atlas but my real spends add to max 20-22. What to do - any case try to get maximum number of quarterly milestone on DCB- did some tax payments to get milestones, all vouchers on EPM, if still more needed DCB, all offline and travel on Atlas. But problem will get bigger next year's when I try to redeem points accumulated on EPM DCB on travel -best use of points. Then remaining travel spends will be too less for Atlas. So maybe will close Atlas in a year or two.