Help me Optimize my Credit Card Portfolio (24, 10 LPA)

Tushar2206

Hey everyone,

I’m currently trying to optimize my credit card portfolio and would love some advice from people who have experience balancing rewards, benefits, and fees.

• Income: 10 LPA
  • Spending pattern:
    • Online shopping & food delivery
    • Fuel & domestic travel (flights a few times a year)
    • Utility bills & subscriptions

Current Cards

• ICICI Amazon Pay
  • Kotak I League
  • PNB RuPay Platinum
  • SC Smart
  • SBI SimplyClick
  • Axis Airtel
  • Axis Ace
  • HDFC Swiggy Card
  • Yes Bank Finbooster
  • Federal Signet
  • HSBC Platinum
  • AU LIT

What I’m looking for

• A good mix of reward points/cashback for daily spends
  • Decent travel benefits (airport lounge, flight offers), but I don’t usually stay in luxury hotels so not sure if points programs are worth it right now
  • A practical, value-for-money setup (premium cards maybe in the future, but not right now)

Questions

1. Which cards should I close and why? (I’m considering closing PNB, Kotak, and Yes Bank—mainly because of low utility and overlap, but open to suggestions)
  2. Are there any must-have cards I’m currently missing and would be eligible for?

Thanks in advance for the help!

Hey everyone,

I’m currently trying to optimize my credit card portfolio and would love some advice from people who have experience balancing rewards, benefits, and fees.

• Spending pattern:

Current Cards

• ICICI Amazon Pay
  • Kotak I League
  • PNB RuPay Platinum
  • SC Smart
  • SBI SimplyClick
  • Axis Airtel
  • Axis Ace
  • HDFC Swiggy Card
  • Yes Bank Finbooster
  • Federal Signet
  • HSBC Platinum
  • AU LIT

What I’m looking for

• Decent travel benefits (airport lounge, flight offers), but I don’t usually stay in luxury hotels so not sure if points programs are worth it right now
  • A practical, value-for-money setup (premium cards maybe in the future, but not right now)

Questions

1. Which cards should I close and why? (I’m considering closing PNB, Kotak, and Yes Bank—mainly because of low utility and overlap, but open to suggestions)
  2. Are there any must-have cards I’m currently missing and would be eligible for?

All the mentioned cards are LTF?
You need to mention whether the cards are paid or LTF in order to get the justified & appropriate answers.

Hey everyone,

• Spending pattern:

Current Cards

• ICICI Amazon Pay
  • Kotak I League
  • PNB RuPay Platinum
  • SC Smart
  • SBI SimplyClick
  • Axis Airtel
  • Axis Ace
  • HDFC Swiggy Card
  • Yes Bank Finbooster
  • Federal Signet
  • HSBC Platinum
  • AU LIT

What I’m looking for

Questions

You are missing sbi cashback

As a matter of fact, I only have one card among the heaps that you have listed so I’m in no place to suggest anything.
You can either work around with your existing cards after taking the valuable advice of TF experts or you can add a couple of cards which are no brainers.
First is SBI cash back as rightly mentioned by @Aniket Sharma Ji and second would be core HDFC Millenia if you want to stay put in the HDFC ecosystem and aim for higher cards in the near future.
Cheers and all the very best brother 🍀

Hey everyone,

• Spending pattern:

Current Cards

• ICICI Amazon Pay
  • Kotak I League
  • PNB RuPay Platinum
  • SC Smart
  • SBI SimplyClick
  • Axis Airtel
  • Axis Ace
  • HDFC Swiggy Card
  • Yes Bank Finbooster
  • Federal Signet
  • HSBC Platinum
  • AU LIT

What I’m looking for

Questions

CHECK THIS OUT YOU MAY LIKE IT https://www.technofino.in/community...e-my-credit-card-portfolio.36006/post-1106299

Close current Yes Bank CC and get Kiwi Yes Bank RuPay CC as Yes Bank only allows one card and Kiwi Yes Bank RuPay CC is a must if you can spend upwards of Rs. 1 lakh in a year. Currently, you can get Rs. 800 worth benefit using referral. (DM for referral)

You can close Axis Bank Ace CC if it's not LTF. If you want a core card from Axis Bank, try getting My Zone / Neo which is available LTF time to time. Currently Axis Bank Privilege CC on American Express network is being given LTF.

You can include SBI Cashback CC and HSBC Bank Live+ CC in your portfolio, both are PAID cards with Rs. 1k annual fee but highly worthy.
SBI Cashback CC will take care of online spends @ 5% cashback and HSBC Bank Live+ CC will take care of dining, grocery @ 10% cashback and offline spends at 1.5% cashback which makes Axis Bank Ace CC of no use. So, you can close Axis Bank Ace CC easily now but try keeping a core card from Axis Bank if instant discount from SALE is essential for you. (I don't know if Airtel Axis Bank CC is excluded from SALE offers or not but Flipkart Axis Bank CC is excluded for sure)

In context of SALE, you can take a core card each from HDFC Bank and ICICI Bank. My suggestion would be to take HDFC Bank Millenia CC and in case of ICICI Bank, if you're from an alumni of premier institution, you can easily get Sapphiro CC LTF.

Hope this helps!

You have a great collection of credit card. I had around 15 credit cards till last year. I made a point to not break my head in tracking the card usage (spend in a financial) year to get an annual fees waiver. considering 15 cards, I would go mad. Hence I went for the platinum credit cards with absolute zero annual fees (means no condition of annual spend to get waiver) My experience was great. I did earn good reward points on all of them. But over the time I realized
-To keep card active, one has to use it once in a year. I followed practice of using one card one full month and then keep it in wardrobe
-Above practice helped me to get rewards on all cards, but if I had used single card, it would have helped me to get better rewards
-Only for rewards, opting for credit card with or without annual fees, is stupidity cause in today's world nobody gets free lunch. Now each bank puts additional charge while you redeem the reward points.
-with RBI tightening norms, it will be more difficult to have card active without usage and for banks as well it will be difficult to keep LTF cards. They will send SMS one day informing changes in T&C
-As ICICI and HDFC were not issuing Rupay add-on CC during 2022 (when Rupay Credit Cards on UPI were introduced) , I went for these PSU bank credit card (and wherever required opened savings account) to leverage early bird offers of Rupay credit card like discounts and cashbacks since 2022, I enjoyed BoB, Indian Bank (Saving Bank A/C Req), UBI(Saving Bank A/C Req), Canara Bank(Saving Bank A/C Req), PNB and Kotak. I collected good cashback on these Rupay and credit cards transactions on UPI apps (BHIM, GPAY, PhonPe) were seamless. Few of these became chargable annual fees credit cards (PNB, UBI, Canara) and I got ICICI Rupay add-on credit card. Hence closed all Rupay CC except BoB. Closed it as to keep number of credit cards manageable. BoB Rupay is still free and gives cashback. I noticed many mercents and small shops have become aware about UPI payment using Rupay credit cards deducts MDR fromt heir account and hence many merchants have disabled Rupay Credit card UPI payment. But I believe MDR charges will be taken care off and UPI Rupay credit card will flourish. So UPI is the future
-If it is true zero annual fees, go for it and keep the card. Do not fall prey to zero annual fees by means of waiver clause like spend 50000 in a financial year to get the annual fees waived off for next year. There are plenty of banks offering zero annual fee platinum credit cards like ICICI, Axis, IDBI (needs to hold savings account), HDFC (might have now stopped giving LTF), IndusInd, IDFC, HSBC and Manhattan. But when it comes to rewards and offers out of these, only ICICI and to certain extent HDFC stands apart.
-For more than 15 years, I am holding HDFC, ICICI, Axis, HSBC, StanChart Manhattan, IDBI, InduSind, & IDFC credit cards, all mostly platinum and LTF (Zero annual fees and NOT annual fees waiver upon certain spend using card) I ensured that I used these minimum once a year to avoid deactivation for so many years. I did not see any issue while using any card or with customer support. With my goal of having any LTF credit card (no need to track annual fees of spend to get annual fee waived off) I noticed, ICICI, HDFC and Axis are good credit cards. Now they providing Rupay add-on card for UPI payment, what more one can ask.
-Other cards like Standard Chartered Manhattan, HSBC, IndusInd, IDFC and IDBI (platinum and LTF) are ok and nothing great on rewards and offers (unless one goes for other variant with hefty joining and annual fees). IDBI website is not great. Had opted for IDFC no-EMI credit card offer and found interest changed on the monthly statement for EMIs. Recently had issue with IndusInd as they have removed humans as customer care team and everything is IVR based not addressing failed transaction issue reporting. Now a days all banks keep changing T&C and we have seen lounge access vanishing from many cards.
-Instead I would suggest try SBI that has maximum offers on Amazon or even ICICI and HDFC. No point in applying for other cards unless it is corporate credit card and your are frequent flyer/traveler. I do not have one, but planning to go for it. Many times on Amazon,. I have to use my brother's SBI card and hence impressed with it. But since it has annual card, I did nto go for it for very long time. Let see how long I will resist...