How To Get An Amex Card Easily | Best Amex Credit Card For You | All Amex Card Eligibility Criteria

TechnoFinoTechnoFino is verified member.

If you are a credit card enthusiast, then you must have an Amex card. Your credit card portfolio is incomplete if you don't have an American Express card. There are many reasons behind holding a credit card from Amex. They come up with frequent online and offline deals. Their reward system [MR Points] is one of the most rewarding and valuable credit card reward programmes.
Amex India offers four credit cards and two charge cards in India.

Credit Card List-
  1. Amex SmartEarn Credit Card
  2. Amex Membership Rewards Credit Card
  3. Amex Platinum Reserve Credit Card
  4. Amex Platinum Travel Credit Card
  5. AMEX Platinum Charge Card
  6. AMEX Gold Charge Card
Eligibility Criteria-
You must have a serviceable area address [can be your current address]. Normally, Amex doesn't ask for address proof.

Serviceable City List-
Guntur, Hyderabad, Krishna, Medak, Rangareddy, Visakhapatnam, Vizianagaram, Chandigarh, Jaipur, Ahmedabad, Gandhinagar, Bardoli, Surat, Vadodara, Ambala, Jhajjar, Panchkula, Bengaluru, Kochi, Bhopal, Indore, Mumbai, Pune, Raigad, Thane, Bhubaneswar, Khurdha, Mohali, Chennai, Coimbatore, Erode, Kanchipuram, Krishnagiri, Salem, Tiruvallur, Gautam Buddha Nagar, Hooghly, Howrah, Kolkata, North 24 Parganas, South 24 Parganas, Delhi, Noida, Ghaziabad, Gurgaon, Faridabad, Vijayawada, Ernakulam, Secunderabad, Aluva, Ropar, Hosur, Sriperumbudur, Tiruppur, Baramati, Navi Mumbai, Lucknow, Trivandrum, Mysuru, Nasik, Nagpur, Ludhiana,

2. Income:-

Card NameSalaried PersonSelf-Employed
AMEX SmartEarn Credit CardRs. 4,50,000Rs. 6,00,000
AMEX Membership Rewards Credit CardRs. 6,00,000Rs. 6,00,000
AMEX Platinum Travel Credit CardRs. 6,00,000Rs. 6,00,000
AMEX Platinum Reserve Credit CardRs. 6,00,000Rs. 6,00,000
AMEX Gold Charge CardRs. 6,00,000Rs. 6,00,000
AMEX Platinum Charge CardRs. 25,00,000Rs. 15,00,000

Things to remember when applying for an Amex card:

1. You must have an address in a serviceable area.
2. Your CIBIL score should be a minimum of 750.
3. No late payment entries in your CIBIL report in the last 7 years. [unofficial]
4. No more than three hard inquiries in the last three months. [unofficial]

If you are eligible, just apply for an AMEX card using this link - Click Here & Apply For AMEX Card.

Best Amex Credit Card For You:

Amex offers entry-level cards as well as ultra-premium cards. We typically use our American Express card to earn miles and hotel loyalty points. You have to choose the right credit card for you according to your needs and how you want to redeem your card's reward points.

Lets Simplify This-
  • If you are not looking for airmiles or hotel points but just want an AMEX card for their online and offline deals, then get an entry-level card like the Amex SmartEarn.
  • Get an AMEX MRCC if you can spend Rs. 1,50,000 per year [1,500 X 4 Transactions per Month] but aren't interested in airmiles.
  • If you are into airmiles games, you want to redeem your reward points for airmiles or hotel points, and you can spend Rs. 5,50,000 to Rs. 8,00,000 a year, then get AMEX Platinum Travel + AMEX Gold Charge + AMEX MRCC. More details below.
  • If you are looking for a pure lifestyle credit card and don't care about the card's fees or reward rate, then you can go for the American Express Platinum Charge Card.
Now, how to maximise your AMEX reward:
Apply for Amex Gold Charge, Amex Platinum Travel, and Amex MRCC. You can get MRCC as a companion card with an Amex Gold Charge. That means you don't have to pay any fees for the Membership Rewards Card as long as you hold an AMEX Gold Charge Card. And you can always negotiate with Amex for your other card's fees reversal, remember one think... If you don't ask for retention offer, you'll get nothing.

Use your Platinum Travel Card to spend Rs. 400,000:
If you spend 4L using your Plat travel card, you'll get 48,000 MR points and a Taj Hotel voucher of Rs. 10,000.
Regular MR for spending 4L = 8,000 MR
Milestone 1 [1.9L spends] = 15,000 MR
Milestone 2 [4L spends] = 25,000 MR, TAJ GV- 10K

Using your AMEX Gold Charge Card, spend Rs. 72,000:
If you make 6 transactions a month of Rs. 1,000 each via Amex reward multiplier [ex-buy any gift voucher], then you'll get 5X MR points + 1000 bonus MR points.
Total Points Per Year-
5X Bonus = 7200 MR
6 Transactions bonus = 12,000 MR
Total = 19,200 MR

Use your American Express MRCC to spend 72,000/2,40,000:
Case 1:
If you make 4 transactions a month of Rs. 1,500 each via Amex reward multiplier [ex-buy any gift voucher], then you'll get 2X MR points + 1000 bonus MR points.
Total Points Per Year-
2X Bonus = 2880 MR
Total = 14,880 MR

Case 2:
If you make 4 transactions a month of Rs. 1,500 each via Amex reward multiplier [ex-buy any gift voucher], then you'll get 2X MR points + 1000 bonus MR points, and spend a total of Rs. 20,000 a month.
Total Points Per Year-
2X Bonus on 72K = 2880 MR
Normal Reward On 1.68L = 3360 MR
20K Transaction bonus = 12,000 MR
Total = 30,240 MR

So, if you spend 4L using AMEX Platinum Travel + 72K using Gold Charge + 72K using MRCC (case 1), then you'll get a total of 82,080 MR points and a Taj hotel voucher worth Rs. 10,000.
Total Spends = Rs. 5,44,000
Total Value Back [If you value 1 MR = Rs. 0.80] = Rs. 75,664
Card Annual Fees you have to pay-
Gold Charge = Rs. 4,500 + 18% GST = Rs. 5310
Platinum Travel = Rs. 5000 + 18% GST = Rs. 5900
MRCC = 0* Companion Card
Total Fees= Rs. 11,210
Actual Value Back = Rs. 64,454 [after spending 5.44L]
Reward Rate-11.85%
# If you manage to get Platinum Travel Card fees waiver, then reward rate will be- 12.93%

Now,
If you spend 4 lakhs using AMEX Platinum Travel + 72K using Gold Charge + 2.40 lakhs using MRCC, then you'll get a total of 97,440 MR points and a Taj hotel voucher worth Rs. 10,000.
Total Spends = Rs. 7,12,000
Total Value Back [If you value 1 MR = Rs. 0.80] = Rs. 87,952
Card Annual Fees you have to pay-
Gold Charge = Rs. 4,500 + 18% GST = Rs. 5310
Platinum Travel = Rs. 5000 + 18% GST = Rs. 5900
MRCC = 0* Companion Card
Total Fees = Rs. 11,210
After spending 7.12L, the actual value returned is Rs. 76,742.
Reward Rate-10.78%
# If you manage to get Platinum Travel Card fees waiver, then reward rate will be- 11.61%

Apply For AMEX Credit Card- Click Here (All Amex Card Application Link)

Use my Amex referral and get 2000 Membership Reward Points from Amex and help from my side just DM me.. have helped couple of community member to apply for Amex

I have had the same exact experience. My application is pending for 10 days now. I receive daily, sometimes twice a day, emails asking for same documents. I have uploaded ITR, ITR acknowledgment , 26AS and bank statements several times! I have even written to their customer service head but haven’t heard anything yet. Really bad compared to other banks where you get instant approval or at least an instant rejection. Their customer service reps have promised to arrange a call back from the concerned team twice but no one has ever called. Completely ridiculous as my ITR has a much higher income then required and I have a good CIBIL score of 790 plus as well as 16 other cards with the highest one having a limit of 21 plus lakhs. Only issue is self employed. I really regret applying with them.
@BestBanker please help if possible.
Did you apply via referral? I got my first AmEx when I had only ICICI platinum card. I guess it's easier when applying through referral.

I am planning to take amex but have a few questions. My wife has magnus and we accumulated 140k points in United using that. I hold Vistara cards(SBI and IDFC first) and have accumulated around 20k CV points. These are the only credit cards we hold. Now we are into airmiles and not hotel points. I would rather stay in a decent hotel and use the Credit card points for getting free flights. Given this, do you suggest, we go for amex cards? If yes, who do you suggest should apply for it. Me or my wife?

Or should we instead, apply for atlas?
Yes you can go for Amex Platinum Travel! Since it is has a milestone based rewards system which i think would be suited in your case. It has two milestones first at 1.9 Lakh which fetches you 15k Reward points and another at 4 Lakh which would fetch you 25k Reward Points plus 10k Taj Voucher. Also for every 50 spent you get 1 Reward Point so that way for spending 4 Lakh you’ll accumulate 15+25+8=48K Reward Points and a 10K taj Voucher.

Now since you mentioned you’re interested more in air miles and not so much in hotel stays so 10K taj voucher might not be very useful in your case.

Now with 48K points there are 8 partnered airlines you can transfer your points to. Have attached screenshots for your reference of their conversion rate.

Here is my referral in case you haven’t applied yet! Amex Platinum Travel is FYF and also comes with 2000 Reward Points when applied through referral and from second year onwards it is 5000+GST which from what I’ve heard from most of the community members also can be negotiated on a card closure request. Sometimes when you have a high spend they offer you Rewards points to compensate Fee.

• IMG_1980.jpeg
    IMG_1980.jpeg
    101.9 KB · Views: 28
  • IMG_1981.jpeg
    IMG_1981.jpeg
    99 KB · Views: 28
Yes you can go for Amex Platinum Travel! Since it is has a milestone based rewards system which i think would be suited in your case. It has two milestones first at 1.9 Lakh which fetches you 15k Reward points and another at 4 Lakh which would fetch you 25k Reward Points plus 10k Taj Voucher. Also for every 50 spent you get 1 Reward Point so that way for spending 4 Lakh you’ll accumulate 15+25+8=48K Reward Points and a 10K taj Voucher.

Now since you mentioned you’re interested more in air miles and not so much in hotel stays so 10K taj voucher might not be very useful in your case.

Now with 48K points there are 8 partnered airlines you can transfer your points to. Have attached screenshots for your reference of their conversion rate.

Here is my referral in case you haven’t applied yet! Amex Platinum Travel is FYF and also comes with 2000 Reward Points when applied through referral and from second year onwards it is 5000+GST which from what I’ve heard from most of the community members also can be negotiated on a card closure request. Sometimes when you have a high spend they offer you Rewards points to compensate Fee.

I might consider same if I can confirm these benefits?

Do AMEX India cards give Extra warranty cover/ Purchase Protection for online/ offline purchases from India/ US/ Elsewhere?​

https://global.americanexpress.com/card-benefits/detail/extended-warranty/platinum

https://www.nerdwallet.com/article/travel/amex-purchase-protection-guide

I recall this from US, but not sure how India issued cards play out?

Do AMEX India cards give Extra warranty cover/ Purchase Protection for online/ offline purchases from India/ US/ Elsewhere?​

https://global.americanexpress.com/card-benefits/detail/extended-warranty/platinum

I guess in india only reserve and centurion give you that benefit!!

You have posted the same eaxct query at three different places ( one among them is a thread itself)...
Please show some restraint in posting the same question mulitple times...

1)

2)

3)

I have had the same exact experience. My application is pending for 10 days now. I receive daily, sometimes twice a day, emails asking for same documents. I have uploaded ITR, ITR acknowledgment , 26AS and bank statements several times! I have even written to their customer service head but haven’t heard anything yet. Really bad compared to other banks where you get instant approval or at least an instant rejection. Their customer service reps have promised to arrange a call back from the concerned team twice but no one has ever called. Completely ridiculous as my ITR has a much higher income then required and I have a good CIBIL score of 790 plus as well as 16 other cards with the highest one having a limit of 21 plus lakhs. Only issue is self employed. I really regret applying with them.
@BestBanker please help if possible.
Same is happening with me , did you get any updates

You have posted the same eaxct query at three different places ( one among them is a thread itself)...
Please show some restraint in posting the same question mulitple times...

1)

2)

3)
You missed this one that I posted on July 15 asking the same question:
https://www.technofino.in/community...-eu-sites-e-g-amzn-us-ue-eu-brands-etc.15230/
Its September 23.

Please measure and tell me how much restraint it was from then till now?

And no matter how many times or places I posted it, until I was able to "catch someone willing to help" and their eyeballs it would've been lost in the background forever.

Pause & Ponder. I would not need to do what I did (never had to do before) until I catch and tag the relevant people, some of may be willing to help.

Its not just a matter of posting, as I have realized.

Sorry, but tell me if there was a better way from July to September to get this from the Forum? Actual pragmatic forum centric "action plan".

I am all ears 🙂 I know you've helped many times before.

I guess in india only reserve and centurion give you that benefit!!
Thank you for sharing.

Does that cover India only or any Online/ Offline purchases from US / International sources?

For something that's ought to be so easy to find, all my googling and forum posting and searching did not reveal that.

Sorry, but tell me if there was a better way from July to September to get this from the Forum? Actual pragmatic forum centric "action plan".
The better way could be , posting in the same thread at some regular intervals tagging the people whom you think could possess that knowledge while going thru other posts.. When the topic itself was rarely discussed and a very few might have had that knowledge then it is a tricky situation , even then following house keeping rules should take the precedence..
Anyway, I think you got your answer.
See now , you had to update that many places with the right answer..
Anyway, all this is for our ( and future members ) benefit only..

And also in your case, if I were you , I would have contacted Amex India via call / email to hear from the horse's mouth...

The better way could be , posting in the same thread at some reugular intervals
Has not worked so far as per my trials and experiences. Even redirecting people to that thread using a link has not.
People do not go there, they reply wherever else the redirection was requested -
PS: I am saying this from observing the "how this forum operates" - Been on forums for tons of years, never had to play this way.
tagging the people whom you think could possess that knowledge while going thru other posts..
^ How am I supposed to know who to ask? I tagged so many in there, Zilch, Zero.
When the topic itself was rarely discussed and a very few might have had that knowledge then it is a tricky situation , even then following house keeping rules should take the precedence..
What house rules? There's moody personal acronyms for everything. If you want better Sound to Noise Ratio, thats how the Forum and Folks need to operate. I am just new in your jungle, playing & surviving and scrambling on what you folks "architected" as "content"
Anyway, I think you got your answer.
And I say all of this as a person who has extreme content management with enterprises and I fundamentally am very against, what I ended up having to do, many times.

• Lovely
Reactions: NAB
Has not worked so far as per my trials and experiences. Even redirecting people to that thread using a link has not.
People do not go there, they reply wherever else the redirection was requested -
PS: I am saying this from observing the "how this forum operates" - Been on forums for tons of years, never had to play this way.

^ How am I supposed to know who to ask? I tagged so many in there, Zilch, Zero.

What house rules? There's moody personal acronyms for everything. If you want better Sound to Noise Ratio, thats how the Forum and Folks need to operate. I am just new in your jungle, playing & surviving and scrambling on what you folks "architected" as "content"

And I say all of this as a person who has extreme content management with enterprises and I fundamentally am very against, what I ended up having to do, many times.
have you considered contacting Amex India with regard to this.. when you were not able to get the answer from the forum members for such a long time..
If I were you I would have done that to find out from the hourse's mouth...

unfortunately, that is life.. it would be a never ideal case scenario.., still life should go on and go on with the least deviation than originally planned with minimum noise and I am sure you are well aware of all these with your vast experience...

Same is happening with me , did you get any updates
My application was denied after a lot of hassle. They kept asking for same documents again and again despite me uploading ITR, ITR summary (both official from IT department), 26AS and bank statements. Their lack of professionalism and inability to review attachments is shocking. Later I got emails and calls from an actual person who was a senior manager at their HQ. He asked me to upload the same documents again. Even when the required documents were sent to him, he would call me back to ask for them and I would request him to review my email and then he would find the document. Then he would call an hour later and ask for another document without having seen that it was already sent to him as well as uploaded to their site several times. Then they said the ITR should be from the IT website. I asked them to see the IT hologram on each page along with time of submission stamps. It was downloaded from there! Then they said it shouldn't be in PDF. So I downloaded it in jpeg. Then a senior manager called and said, it should be in PDF! I sent a PDF. Now he called and said, the file name should have not been changed by me! I had labeled it as ITR 2023 for easy identification. I sent another one and then they finally declined the application. Two weeks of harassment.
A very dismal experience. I regret applying with them. My income is several times more than required and I have 16 other cards with high limits. Completely silly. I learnt a lesson. In the future, if a bank approves the card immediately online, without any documents, then good. If they ever ask for anything, I will simply abandon the application. All my cards have been instantly approved and whenever they have asked for anything further, it has been always declined.
@S S V really helped me a lot in this process whereas @BestBanker was completely unhelpful and never responded despite repeated requests.

My application was denied after a lot of hassle. They kept asking for same documents again and again despite me uploading ITR, ITR summary (both official from IT department), 26AS and bank statements. Their lack of professionalism and inability to review attachments is shocking. Later I got emails and calls from an actual person who was a senior manager at their HQ. He asked me to upload the same documents again. Even when the required documents were sent to him, he would call me back to ask for them and I would request him to review my email and then he would find the document. Then he would call an hour later and ask for another document without having seen that it was already sent to him as well as uploaded to their site several times. Then they said the ITR should be from the IT website. I asked them to see the IT hologram on each page along with time of submission stamps. It was downloaded from there! Then they said it shouldn't be in PDF. So I downloaded it in jpeg. Then a senior manager called and said, it should be in PDF! I sent a PDF. Now he called and said, the file name should have not been changed by me! I had labeled it as ITR 2023 for easy identification. I sent another one and then they finally declined the application. Two weeks of harassment.
A very dismal experience. I regret applying with them. My income is several times more than required and I have 16 other cards with high limits. Completely silly. I learnt a lesson. In the future, if a bank approves the card immediately online, without any documents, then good. If they ever ask for anything, I will simply abandon the application. All my cards have been instantly approved and whenever they have asked for anything further, it has been always declined.
@S S V really helped me a lot in this process whereas @BestBanker was completely unhelpful and never responded despite repeated requests.
I think the same is going to happen in my case, received 2 calls till now , first they said all documents are uploaded, and then a day after that, someone else called and said to upload some other documents... i uploaded the documents as asked by the caller , let's see what will happen now

Are you salaried or self employed?

What if someone's income is 5 lakh and self employed. Kindly find a way out.
I applied a day before yesterday for Mrcc and my ITR is 380k because as self employed we can use 44ad and stuff to lower our taxation. So in put in 600k in the application and the application went through. Got a link for vkyc and got my card approved the very next day. It should reach me in 3-7 days and the limit i got was 230k. At no stage was there any option to ask for income docs.
P.S- My cibil is 781 and I own like 10 ccs we 100% payment record so maybe they took the cibil and payment history into account and felt the MAYBE income documentation was not necessary/required.

So I would say just give it a shot? What do you have to lose? An enquiry which wont have any lasting effect if your repayment history is impeccable!