How To Transfer Membership Reward Points From Indian Amex Card To US Amex Card Account

Sumanta Bhai, I am trying to transfer MR points from Amex India to Amex Canada. Amex canada told it is possible but need to initiated from source country India. When I reached amex India they are declining the request saying the transfer across regions is not possible.

Can you please guide how to proceed here @TechnoFino
Any success with this in the end? India to Canada specifically.

Sumanta Bhai, I am trying to transfer MR points from Amex India to Amex Canada. Amex canada told it is possible but need to initiated from source country India. When I reached amex India they are declining the request saying the transfer across regions is not possible.

Can you please guide how to proceed here @TechnoFino
To the best of my knowledge, this is not possible. Additionally, the country to which you want to transfer points must accept the request.

Any Idea about current exchange rate from India MR to US MR?
Can the US MR card be any MR card or it must be same as my India MR card?

How to Calculate the Current MR Exchange Rate:

The exchange rate depends on the Amex card you hold and the card number you provide while initiating the transfer request over a phone call.

Let’s assume you have an Amex Platinum Charge Card and an Amex Platinum Travel Card in India. If you provide your Amex Platinum Travel Card number to Amex US customer service, they will consider the earning rate of that card for the transfer.

In India, the Amex Platinum Travel Card earns 1 MR for every ₹50 spent, whereas in the US, the earning rate is 1 MR for every $1 spent.

To determine the equivalent MR points in the US, we need to find out how much MR we would earn for spending ₹50 based on the US earning rate.

• Today's exchange rate (as per Google) is $1 = ₹86.86
  • Calculation: 50 ÷ 86.86 = 0.576
  • This means 1 Indian MR Point = 0.576 US MR Points based on today’s exchange rate.
So, if you transfer 150,000 Indian MR points to the US, you will receive:
150,000 × 0.576 = 86,400 MR Points in your Amex US account.

However, if you provide your Platinum Charge Card number while initiating the transfer request, Amex will consider the earning rate of 1 MR per ₹40 spent instead.

Using this rate:
  • 40 ÷ 86.86 = 0.461
  • This means 1 Indian MR Point = 0.461 US MR Points.
So, if you transfer 150,000 Indian MR points to the US at this rate, you will receive:
150,000 × 0.461 = 69,150 MR Points in your Amex US account.

Therefore, always use a card with a lower earning rate when initiating the transfer request. The way you originally earned the points does not impact the conversion.

The exchange rate depends on the Amex card you hold and the card number you provide while initiating the transfer request over a phone call.

Let’s assume you have an Amex Platinum Charge Card and an Amex Platinum Travel Card in India. If you provide your Amex Platinum Travel Card number to Amex US customer service, they will consider the earning rate of that card for the transfer.

In India, the Amex Platinum Travel Card earns 1 MR for every ₹50 spent, whereas in the US, the earning rate is 1 MR for every $1 spent.

To determine the equivalent MR points in the US, we need to find out how much MR we would earn for spending ₹50 based on the US earning rate.

• This means 1 Indian MR Point = 0.576 US MR Points based on today’s exchange rate.

However, if you provide your Platinum Charge Card number while initiating the transfer request, Amex will consider the earning rate of 1 MR per ₹40 spent instead.

Using this rate:
  • 40 ÷ 86.86 = 0.461
So, if you transfer 150,000 Indian MR points to the US at this rate, you will receive:

Therefore, always use a card with a lower earning rate when initiating the transfer request. The way you originally earned the points does not impact the conversion.
Thanks for the update, TF!

It looks like with the rupee falling down, The margin is getting even lower.

Using this rate:
  • 40 ÷ 86.86 = 0.461

One of those super rare instances when we say. Amex please give us a MR card which warns 1 point per 200 INR