Huge Update: HDFC Infinia – This Is Not Just a Devaluation – It's a Warning Sign

For a long time, the TechnoFino Community expected that HDFC Infinia would eventually face some level of devaluation, most likely around 2026. That assumption was based on history, lifecycle patterns of premium cards, and how banks usually behave.

But what has surfaced now is far more serious than a routine devaluation.

An official HDFC Bank document, marked as internal yet publicly accessible on their website, reveals a major change in how Infinia credit cards will be retained going forward.

And yes - this is about card continuation, not just fee waiver.

What Has Changed?​

As per the document:

Effective from 1st Jan, 2026, To keep your HDFC Infinia credit card active, you must either:

• Spend ₹18,00,000 in a calendar year
Or
• Maintain a ₹1 crore+ relationship value with HDFC Bank

Failing this, the card can be reviewed / discontinued.

This is a fundamental shift.

Screenshot 2025-12-15 at 8.35.16 PM.webp

Till now, premium card conversations revolved around:
• Joining fee
• Renewal fee
• Fee waivers

Now, the discussion has moved to:
"Do you even deserve to hold this card?"

Is This a New Concept?​

No. Not at all.

Banks in India - have been following this model quietly for years.

Almost every top-tier / invite-only credit card is not judged purely on:
• Your credit score
• Or your past loyalty

Instead, it is judged on how much total business you bring to the bank.

Ultra-premium cards are not highly profitable products on their own.
So banks compensate by demanding value elsewhere:

• High CASA balances
• Investments & relationship value
• Large annual spends (MDR income)

More spend = more MDR = more revenue.

This new Infinia rule simply makes that logic official and transparent.

Where It Really Starts Hurting​

Here is the biggest contradiction:

• Infinia annual fee waiver requires ~₹10L spends
• Infinia survival now requires ~₹18L spends

Which means:
Even if your fee is waived, your card is still not safe.

This puts many cardholders in an awkward position, especially those who:

• Got Lifetime Free Infinia
• Or use Infinia selectively, not as a primary card

A Small Reality Check (With a Smile)​

For years, TechnoFino members have been asking:

“How to get HDFC Infinia Lifetime Free?”
Looks like HDFC Bank finally answered:

Spend ₹18L every year or park ₹1 Cr with us.

Jokes aside, this is a very serious signal from the bank.

Will HDFC Really Enforce ₹18L Strictly?​

My honest assessment:

• Yes, HDFC will enforce this
• Maybe not aggressively from Day 1
• But ₹10–12L unofficial minimum spends will become standard practice

₹18L will remain the official benchmark, even if flexibility exists initially.

And once HDFC normalises this behavior, other banks will follow, silently first, officially later.

The Bigger Picture: This Is Not Just About Infinia​

This move hints at a larger shift in the Indian credit card ecosystem:

• Premium cards will slowly become relationship-locked products
• Holding multiple top-end cards across banks will get extremely difficult
• Banks will push customers to choose one primary ecosystem
• "Card collectors" will feel the heat first

In short:
Top-end credit cards will no longer be lifestyle products —
They will become loyalty contracts.

Final Thoughts​

This is not panic news.
But it is early warning news.

If you hold Infinia, plan your spends wisely.
If you aspire for Infinia, understand what you’re signing up for.
And if you hold multiple premium cards across banks - the coming years will demand hard choices.

We’ll keep tracking developments closely.
More updates soon - only on TechnoFino Community.

Original thread credit: @kumarvishwas

I have my doubts on this document and policy for several reasons
1. If it was official it would hv been communicated to all Infinia holders by now. You wouldn’t be getting emails like spend 1 lakh and get 2k voucher types.
2. Bank can’t put double condition related to spends yearly criteria. If they say, for annual fee waiver spend 10L and that essentially means that you pay the fee for the card and continue because you haven’t spent enough and we charged you for that. Now adding 18L over that doesn’t make sense.
3. In their MITC and while issuing the card, under Termination clause this condition wasn’t mentioned that we signed up for. Not that banks can’t add that condition now but that will lead to a huge fallout and RBI complaints as 90% of the Infinia holders hold other super premium cards too Like EPM, M4B, Premier etc and their expenses are naturally split and that means except for 1-2% all risk downgrading.
4. Infinia is a huge carrot for HNI/UNHI and other card aspirants in general. HDFC ‘s interest rate is pathetic and hdfc sec isn’t exciting either. Honestly, I shifted my relationship to HDFC from ICICI because they had offered me LTF DCB long back and I chose to move my relationship to them without them asking for it.

Anything can happen and banks are authorised to implement their own rules and polices. Still it looks just an internal document may not see the light of the day. Being an Infinia holder that’s what I can wish for.

I have my doubts on this document and policy for several reasons
1. If it was official it would hv been communicated to all Infinia holders by now. You wouldn’t be getting emails like spend 1 lakh and get 2k voucher types.
2. Bank can’t put double condition related to spends yearly criteria. If they say, for annual fee waiver spend 10L and that essentially means that you pay the fee for the card and continue because you haven’t spent enough and we charged you for that. Now adding 18L over that doesn’t make sense.
3. In their MITC and while issuing the card, under Termination clause this condition wasn’t mentioned that we signed up for. Not that banks can’t add that condition now but that will lead to a huge fallout and RBI complaints as 90% of the Infinia holders hold other super premium cards too Like EPM, M4B, Premier etc and their expenses are naturally split and that means except for 1-2% all risk downgrading.
4. Infinia is a huge carrot for HNI/UNHI and other card aspirants in general. HDFC ‘s interest rate is pathetic and hdfc sec isn’t exciting either. Honestly, I shifted my relationship to HDFC from ICICI because they had offered me LTF DCB long back and I chose to move my relationship to them without them asking for it.

Anything can happen and banks are authorised to implement their own rules and polices. Still it looks just an internal document may not see the light of the day. Being an Infinia holder that’s what I can wish for.
Bro they have tightened screws and no one approached RBI for there so called internal policy and also for the criteria to get the card as invite only, so anything can happen and nobody can do it as they have cancelled the invite for them simple.

Once this comes, relaxation of mcc restrictions will be done, as we can see people taking freebies advantages and doing there best in spends calculation its difficult for banks to enforce lot of things in there systems. Now we know its internal document so what? Banks have decided just a change in removal of fee or if we downgrade you. You will still pay 10k for dcb so either way its understood enforcement will happen and clearing of house starts biggest impact will be people spending just for ensuring fee wavier or ltf cards who don't use minimum criteria, so get ready, the problem is banks has 3 types of people one who is trying to get premium card and stay out of mess and other person who tries to misuse or maximize his spend and the 3rd person would be true HNI who would be saying what the hell are these stupid restrictions etc how can one person know so much during swipe... so in order to handle 3 types they will re categorise people now into respective areas so everyone wins except who really wants freebies.... and don't spend a penny in it. So get ready for 2026 massive devaluation... and house cleaning from every banks and this credit card maximization tricks will be total waste and it will be veey straightforward if you spend this is your reward. If you dont then you don't deserve a credit card of such HNI better use an credit card which is just a credit to keep your life moving on daily basis....

This can be Yureka moment for credit card product managers struggling to make card holders spend money.
They could simply increase fee waiver to 18lacs or remove points credit on fee payment. That itself would fetch them good amount but seems this is to weed out those LTF and low spenders without devaluing card. If cat is out of bag soon many others will follow suit.
Even I did not put much spends on EPM rather focussed on DCB and Atlas for achieving milestone. Had I got Infinia would have spent not even half as much on DCB as no milestones with Infinia.
So this is really perfect way to change this mindset get premium card but use only for that malai( accelerated spend like vouchers). Out goes strategies of having multiple premium cards and divide spend according to best use on each card.