ICICI Bank Wants Rs 5 Lakh to Open a Savings Account - Savings Account Become a Luxury

If you remember, just a few days ago ICICI Bank hiked their minimum balance requirements to an absurd level — for a normal savings account they expected customers to maintain ₹50,000 average balance. After public outrage, they rolled it back, but still kept it higher than before. That was at least an official step.

But what’s happening at branch level is even worse. ICICI Bank is flat out refusing accounts for people with low income or those who can’t bring in a heavy initial deposit cheque. As per multiple reports on TF Community, branches often demand a ₹5 lakh cheque as initial deposit, and only after negotiation they sometimes come down to ₹1 lakh. If you want to open an account with less than ₹1 lakh, chances are they’ll simply deny you.

Forget about BSBD (zero-balance) accounts — many branches won’t even entertain customers asking for them.

One of our members recently tried opening an account with ICICI. He was denied. When he shared his experience on Twitter and here on Technofino, the branch manager himself showed up only to say: “You need to maintain ₹1 lakh average balance and bring ₹5 lakh as initial deposit. If you don’t have that financial capability, we can’t open your account.” That’s how blunt it was. Here’s a copy of his complaint email:

CjgEa_tk.jpg-large.webp

And this is not an isolated case. We’ve seen many such complaints, both on TF Community and across social media. Honestly, ICICI’s management comes across as arrogant, and their branch-level staff are no different. The bigger question is — why isn’t the RBI regulating initial deposit and minimum balance rules? ICICI has no set standard, it’s literally their bank, their rules. If you can’t bring a big-ticket cheque, you’re treated as a “low-profile” customer — and they don’t want you.

If the RBI doesn’t step in, other private banks may follow this same path. This is clearly against customer interest. While most PSU banks are moving towards zero-balance accounts, ICICI (thankfully only ICICI for now) is going the opposite way, making banking exclusionary.

Hopefully, people will take notice of this trend and shift towards PSU banks and customer-friendly private banks — the ones that value customers instead of acting arrogant.

ICICI's downfall has already begun. They reduced the mab to 15k officially only to save their face from public humiliation but their intention is still the same. They r in a hurry to become the next HSBC of India while providing services worse than SBI. They neither have good credit cards nor good customer service. Even their so called flagship Apay CC seems to be getting new devaluations every 6 months. Now with this account opening tantrums customers will soon move towards HDFC/Axis/IDFC.

Bank employees act upon instructions from their superiors not on their own...There must be some logical and rational business strategy behind this move which we are not able to to understand right now.

Personally, i think that India needs a dedicated premium bank and seems ICICI will be the 1st one.....A bank serving all cannot be a truly premium bank.

From cost optimization perspective, it is better to have one account with 1 lac balance then 10 accounts with 10k balance.

Not gonna lie, I received a call from ICICI branch freshly opened near my house (they are the first tenants in that building afaik) asking me to open accounts. I told them to call me when they are offering 0-balance accounts (which is never and I could feel the reaction of the other side based on their 'hai?' on the call).

I have zero account with them.i opened it some years ago when Bank was offering zero account.the account variant name is icici insta mine account.

If you remember, just a few days ago ICICI Bank hiked their minimum balance requirements to an absurd level — for a normal savings account they expected customers to maintain ₹50,000 average balance. After public outrage, they rolled it back, but still kept it higher than before. That was at least an official step.

But what’s happening at branch level is even worse. ICICI Bank is flat out refusing accounts for people with low income or those who can’t bring in a heavy initial deposit cheque. As per multiple reports on TF Community, branches often demand a ₹5 lakh cheque as initial deposit, and only after negotiation they sometimes come down to ₹1 lakh. If you want to open an account with less than ₹1 lakh, chances are they’ll simply deny you.

Forget about BSBD (zero-balance) accounts — many branches won’t even entertain customers asking for them.

One of our members recently tried opening an account with ICICI. He was denied. When he shared his experience on Twitter and here on Technofino, the branch manager himself showed up only to say: “You need to maintain ₹1 lakh average balance and bring ₹5 lakh as initial deposit. If you don’t have that financial capability, we can’t open your account.” That’s how blunt it was. Here’s a copy of his complaint email:

View attachment 109921

And this is not an isolated case. We’ve seen many such complaints, both on TF Community and across social media. Honestly, ICICI’s management comes across as arrogant, and their branch-level staff are no different. The bigger question is — why isn’t the RBI regulating initial deposit and minimum balance rules? ICICI has no set standard, it’s literally their bank, their rules. If you can’t bring a big-ticket cheque, you’re treated as a “low-profile” customer — and they don’t want you.

If the RBI doesn’t step in, other private banks may follow this same path. This is clearly against customer interest. While most PSU banks are moving towards zero-balance accounts, ICICI (thankfully only ICICI for now) is going the opposite way, making banking exclusionary.

Hopefully, people will take notice of this trend and shift towards PSU banks and customer-friendly private banks — the ones that value customers instead of acting arrogant.
And here I am. I have 0 balance account with ICICI with a 200+GST annual debit card. Even that is too much for me, planning to close the account 🙂🥱

ICICI & SBI these are two banks that can get away with anything & RBI does nothing. I guess we all know why.

View attachment 109921

We can move to psu but indirect costs like quarterly SMS charges hit us even if it's zero balance. SBI doesn't charge but iob charges and these indirect expense eats up more money of us