IndusInd Bank shares fall 20% after Q2 profit drop, asset quality deterioration

I am thinking of seeing the IndusInd results of this quarter. After that I will visit my nearest branch and ask for a LTF Pioneer Metal with 30 lakh cheque. Let's see how it unfolds.

(at this time) If you are in Metro City 30L should be ok. For tier 2 city you can get away with 20L and for tier 3 10-15L should do the magic as long as it's a pioneer capable branch. Just a heads up about IndusInd's quirks

1. Try to avoid IP cheque and tell them you would prefer Online Funding via RTGS (make up an excuse like signature issue).
Reason: My IP cheque of 10L was stuck for 15 days due to a process pretty unique to IndusInd. Not that they kept the money in their account, but the cheque clearing itself took 15 days. All branches in my city send their cheques to another indusInd branch with less work load. This involves physical transport of cheques within city and there might be delays due to multiple issues. Not a big deal though.

2. While you are at it get add-on accounts for everyone in your family with 10-25K initial deposit. Don't budge on this, tell them you will go to another bank with this cheque and get family account for your entire neighborhood.

3. Ask them to open an extra delight account for you with manual approval (It's possible I have three a/c & again don't budge). If they ask, tell them you need one account for savings and one for UPI for safety. this account comes with a DC with 5% cashback on fuel. You can close if it gets devalued.

4. Get a standard locker LTF. (one time INR 100 stamp paper required, 2 photos for each holder)

5. Get at least one joint account with one of your family member (mother perhaps). For emergencies.

Note: Do not let the bank guys visit your home for ac opening. Go to branch. And avoid any insurance, FDs, any product they offer during a/c opening. Try to get things done via a junior employee (preferebly a girl), everyone should feel that you trust the new guy/gal more. Avoid talking to BM and DBM, focus on the new employee/girl.

This is trust me bro kindda situation, you will thank me later.

Don't budge on this, tell them you will go to another bank with this cheque and get family account for your entire neighborhood.

3. Ask them to open an extra delight account for you with manual approval (It's possible I have three a/c & again don't budge). If they ask, tell them you need one account for savings and one for UPI for safety. this account comes with a DC with 5% cashback on fuel. You can close if it gets devalued.

4. Get a standard locker LTF. (one time INR 100 stamp paper required, 2 photos for each holder)

5. Get at least one joint account with one of your family member (mother perhaps). For emergencies.
"Quote of the Quarter" 👏

Don't keep 50L in one account for any bank even if it's a Swiss bank (Credit Suisse failed last year the biggest investment bank in the world, not that anyone lost their deposit but all investments were wiped out). 20-25L in 4-5 account is the sweet spot at this point.
Where do these crorepatis keep their money then? Or big business with crores of liquid fund. A small real estate developer might be having at least 100 Cr in their current account.
If you are in Metro City 30L should be ok. For tier 2 city you can get away with 20L and for tier 3 10-15L should do the magic as long as it's a pioneer capable branch.
I'm already Pioneer customer but I moved out my funds already. They were offering me Pioneer Metal Rs. 15k joining fee +25k renewal fee which would be reversed with annual 10L spends.

Is there any chance to get it LTF now?
Try to get things done via a junior employee (preferebly a girl), everyone should feel that you trust the new guy/gal more. Avoid talking to BM and DBM, focus on the new employee/girl.
What's the rationale behind this strategy? I'm genuinely curious.

Where do these crorepatis keep their money then? Or big business with crores of liquid fund. A small real estate developer might be having at least 100 Cr in their current account.

I'm already Pioneer customer but I moved out my funds already. They were offering me Pioneer Metal Rs. 15k joining fee +25k renewal fee which would be reversed with annual 10L spends.

Is there any chance to get it LTF now?

What's the rationale behind this strategy? I'm genuinely curious.

Crorepati's dont have current account their businesses do. And you just explained why RBI can't let even a small commercial bank fail, even if indusind's top management scammed 1000 CR tomorrow, RBI will save it no matter what.

Now on personal account,

Self made people rarely keep cash lying around apart from a few crores and that just a few million in their PAN. Rest is smart investment in precious metals, liquid funds, foreign investments etc.

99.99% of people dealing in Indian real estate (for living) or any related businesses are crooks and scum. They don't know the concept called economics, they let their CA handle it if they can manage to keep the things legal or a CA+Lawyer combo if they are not even good at that. So they keep cash, jwellery you know your usual run of the mill stuff.

And the rationale,

Trust me bro. I have thought about multiple ways to express the rationale but each time it sounded a bit sexist so until I can frame it in a politically correct way. TRUST ME BRO

Crorepati's dont have current account their businesses do. And you just explained why RBI can't let even a small commercial bank fail, even if indusind's top management scammed 1000 CR tomorrow, RBI will save it no matter what.

Now on personal account,

Self made people rarely keep cash lying around apart from a few crores and that just a few million in their PAN. Rest is smart investment in precious metals, liquid funds, foreign investments etc.

99.99% of people dealing in Indian real estate (for living) or any related businesses are crooks and scum. They don't know the concept called economics, they let their CA handle it if they can manage to keep the things legal or a CA+Lawyer combo if they are not even good at that. So they keep cash, jwellery you know your usual run of the mill stuff.

And the rationale,

Trust me bro. I have thought about multiple ways to express the rationale but each time it sounded a bit sexist so until I can frame it in a politically correct way. TRUST ME BRO
What's the secret of your energy : don't say "Horlicks/Boost/Complan"💪

Instead of poor, I would say average compared to the IT of other top banks. I mean it's better than most PSU, SFBs, and Private banks but it falls way short when compared to banks like HDFC, ICICI, IDFC, etc, and evidently so. And I don't mind that as long as the products are solid which they are. I have multiple IndusInd accounts (family) to distribute the corpus and avoid any risk. All you need to do is reduce your exposure that's all.

FAQs

1. Will IndusInd fail? NO NOT A CHANCE.
2. What will happen if it fails hypothetically? Your money won't be safe in other banks either at that point.
3. But what about the YesBank fiasco? You are proving my point, not a single person lost a single Rupee of deposit money, and it was a worse disaster.
4. What should I do? Just reduce your a/c bal exposure and keep around 4L balance in each account not more than that.
Thanks for ur honest opinion, I really appreciate u do have a very positive attitude towards things which is very heartening and refreshing.

Well I am a very negative and paranoid person in general when it comes to logic and science. I have no place for optimism when it comes to logic and science.

No central bank of any country has let a national bank (commercial and state (PSU)) fail since the great depression of 1929.

Japan went so far as to have negative interest rate....YES YOU READ IT CORRECT, Japan had negative interest rates for decades and it has just recently gone above 0.

USFed Chair Ben Bernankee and New York Fed President Tim Giethner had their playbook ready during the 2008 crisis to save Lehmen Brothers in a day. However, Treasury Secretary Henry Paulson, a wall street legend turned govt regulator, wanted the market to sort itself out. Lehmen Brother files for bankruptcy and the aftermath broke the ironman Henry Paulson, a firm believer in free market and free competition. He literally called all the bankers in USA over the weekend even the banks which had no (or little) exposure to Mortgage crisis like BoA and made them take $700 Bn and aquire the banks next in line for bankruptcy. No one was allowed to leave the room without taking the money and agreeing to govt conditions all this to be done before the markets opened on Monday. BoA aquired Merrl Lynch over a wekend without any due diligence, audits and analysis just so they can announce the same before markets opened. And the US economy was saved from depression.

This 2008 playbook is what is used by the rest of the world. I would have loved for the big banks to go down in 2008, if there was anytime for a big reset it was 2008.

Bank of Japan is the only outlier since they are the Einsteins/Pioneers in finance. They were the first to design, implement and test Quantitative Easing, which US implement during Obama's tenure. So BoJ tends to do some out of the world things and currently it's the best econony in terms of standard of living, productivity, steady growth etc.

So as long as India doesn't face a scenario worse than 2008 crisis, I am 1000% sure RBI will save every bank. Not because of optimism but because that's the only tested solution till date.

Well I am a very negative and paranoid person in general when it comes to logic and science. I have no place for optimism when it comes to logic and science.

No central bank of any country has let a national bank (commercial and state (PSU)) fail since the great depression of 1929.

Japan went so far as to have negative interest rate....YES YOU READ IT CORRECT, Japan had negative interest rates for decades and it has just recently gone above 0.

USFed Chair Ben Bernankee and New York Fed President Tim Giethner had their playbook ready during the 2008 crisis to save Lehmen Brothers in a day. However, Treasury Secretary Henry Paulson, a wall street legend turned govt regulator, wanted the market to sort itself out. Lehmen Brother files for bankruptcy and the aftermath broke the ironman Henry Paulson, a firm believer in free market and free competition. He literally called all the bankers in USA over the weekend even the banks which had no (or little) exposure to Mortgage crisis like BoA and made them take $700 Bn and aquire the banks next in line for bankruptcy. No one was allowed to leave the room without taking the money and agreeing to govt conditions all this to be done before the markets opened on Monday. BoA aquired Merrl Lynch over a wekend without any due diligence, audits and analysis just so they can announce the same before markets opened. And the US economy was saved from depression.

This 2008 playbook is what is used by the rest of the world. I would have loved for the big banks to go down in 2008, if there was anytime for a big reset it was 2008.

Bank of Japan is the only outlier since they are the Einsteins/Pioneers in finance. They were the first to design, implement and test Quantitative Easing, which US implement during Obama's tenure. So BoJ tends to do some out of the world things and currently it's the best econony in terms of standard of living, productivity, steady growth etc.

So as long as India doesn't face a scenario worse than 2008 crisis, I am 1000% sure RBI will save every bank. Not because of optimism but because that's the only tested solution till date.
Very nice analysis, somehow I feel our share market is too dependent on foreign funds and any day US markets will collapse/ decline especially with their new foreign policy especially new tariffs etc,then our share market will have a free fall, just remember our condition was so bad in 1991 economically ( so current situation in India may actually give a pseudo picture with all foreign funds, I hope I am wrong in this, but we are too foreign funds dependent especially US), let's see what happens in future. Regarding indusind only time will tell if any sort of fraud is committed or not, after the report of external audit, any misdoing in their part will greatly shake people's confidence in banking sector in general. I hope everything remains fine, fingers crossed.

In Indusind bank, chairman sells his shares of Indusind bank and chief financial officer sells indusind bank shares , FII sell the shares but we are advised by Hindujas, RBI, dvader to be calm and silent To our bad luck, retailers are final scapegoats

You talking about shares or Deposits. Shares are no concern of central bank and always wiped to zero... even bonds are wiped. So if you are invested in indusind bank I or no one (RBI, Hinduja or even God) has any F* to give. However deposits are not going anywhere. If there was a market where I could bet on depositors loosing money in IndusInd I would. Unfortunately there is not and there is a reason why..

I am not advising. I am telling you a fact of modern finance, it's not a speculation that RBI will save IndusInd or any Commercial/PSU bank, it's a financial fact. (Unless something bigger than 2008 hits India). Take your money out for all I care. Leaves more room for people like me to bargain when IndusInd is down.

And lets stop this whole advise thing. If anyone has to ask the question in the first place, they should take their money out of IndusInd. Period.

For the rest enjoy the ride and high time to get a few things from IndusInd

Investor - Direct Equity/ MF /AT-1 Bond/NCD
Trader- Day / Positional/ Hedge Trade
Depositor-FD/Saving/Current
Loan/Card Holder- aspiring /Existing/ In the process to upgrade.

As everyone's perspective/objectives are different so is the solution...

Disc: Previously/Presently or in Future , I may have position in any of the above☝️.

You talking about shares or Deposits. Shares are no concern of central bank and always wiped to zero... even bonds are wiped. So if you are invested in indusind bank I or no one (RBI, Hinduja or even God) has any F* to give. However deposits are not going anywhere. If there was a market where I could bet on depositors loosing money in IndusInd I would. Unfortunately there is not and there is a reason why..

I am not advising. I am telling you a fact of modern finance, it's not a speculation that RBI will save IndusInd or any Commercial/PSU bank, it's a financial fact. (Unless something bigger than 2008 hits India). Take your money out for all I care. Leaves more room for people like me to bargain when IndusInd is down.

And lets stop this whole advise thing. If anyone has to ask the question in the first place, they should take their money out of IndusInd. Period.

For the rest enjoy the ride and high time to get a few things from IndusInd
Everyone knows the past but future will always gives surprises and there will be explanation after that.

Your comment could have been more insightful with data, fact based news, or your knowledge in general instead of doing ad hominem attacks on another member of this forum.

retailers are final scapegoats
@dvader was explaining the role of central banks (RBI and others) in banking crisis, insuring depositors money, and stopping bank runs. He was answering to me when I enquired about how depositors money is kept safe and impact on banking when the stocks fall of a bank. The query was about the depositors and not the stock investors.

And since you mentioned FIIs selling stocks. Check this website and in filter click "Largecap".

FIIs have sold stocks of companies like Axis, PNB, Reliance, SBI Life Insurance, CIPLA, and Nestle etc.

Your comment could have been more insightful with data, fact based news, or your knowledge in general instead of doing ad hominem attacks on another member of this forum.

@dvader was explaining the role of central banks (RBI and others) in banking crisis, insuring depositors money, and stopping bank runs. He was answering to me when I enquired about how depositors money is kept safe and impact on banking when the stocks fall of a bank. The query was about the depositors and not the stock investors.

And since you mentioned FIIs selling stocks. Check this website and in filter click "Largecap".

FIIs have sold stocks of companies like Axis, PNB, Reliance, SBI Life Insurance, CIPLA, and Nestle etc.
All are facts. You check what price and how much the top executives sold the shares when news was privilege to them. A simple googling show how much top executives and FII dumped the shares at 1400. I am not definitely attacking dvader and I like his writings a lot . I bring my views and I am ready to say sorry if my views hurts dvader . I always try to give contra views based on facts. Do you mean that share price and fall does not linked to healthiness of bank. A big fire will always starts with a small smoke.

Very nice analysis, somehow I feel our share market is too dependent on foreign funds and any day US markets will collapse/ decline especially with their new foreign policy especially new tariffs etc,then our share market will have a free fall, just remember our condition was so bad in 1991 economically ( so current situation in India may actually give a pseudo picture with all foreign funds, I hope I am wrong in this, but we are too foreign funds dependent especially US), let's see what happens in future. Regarding indusind only time will tell if any sort of fraud is committed or not, after the report of external audit, any misdoing in their part will greatly shake people's confidence in banking sector in general. I hope everything remains fine, fingers crossed.

Well we are dependent on all big economies in some form or the other, USA, China, Japan, Europe. Just like any other stable developing country. However, it's not a crisis, we avoided the whole 2008 fiasco, thanks to our conservative monetary policies. FIIs taking out money, well it's bad but I would rather it happened sooner than later.

Our market regulator SEBI is an impotent (IMPOTENT not Important) regulator in my opinion. This is the reason why Indian Banking is solid but the market is a wild west. And your comment just explained the problem Indian Stock Market has, a weak/impotent regulator.

In other big economies, say Japan or USA...Fed Reserve, treasury and SEC (that's SEBI's equivalent) work closely together and are viewed as one when it comes to regulations. SEBI just seems like a child compared to them.

(at this time) If you are in Metro City 30L should be ok. For tier 2 city you can get away with 20L and for tier 3 10-15L should do the magic as long as it's a pioneer capable branch. Just a heads up about IndusInd's quirks

1. Try to avoid IP cheque and tell them you would prefer Online Funding via RTGS (make up an excuse like signature issue).
Reason: My IP cheque of 10L was stuck for 15 days due to a process pretty unique to IndusInd. Not that they kept the money in their account, but the cheque clearing itself took 15 days. All branches in my city send their cheques to another indusInd branch with less work load. This involves physical transport of cheques within city and there might be delays due to multiple issues. Not a big deal though.

2. While you are at it get add-on accounts for everyone in your family with 10-25K initial deposit. Don't budge on this, tell them you will go to another bank with this cheque and get family account for your entire neighborhood.

Note: Do not let the bank guys visit your home for ac opening. Go to branch. And avoid any insurance, FDs, any product they offer during a/c opening. Try to get things done via a junior employee (preferebly a girl), everyone should feel that you trust the new guy/gal more. Avoid talking to BM and DBM, focus on the new employee/girl.

Already following majority guidelines. I usually don't have issuing big cheques. My cheque has never got stuck in IndusInd, having account since 2019. It was Pioneer earlier, now downgraded to Exclusive. I don't need lockers as most of such things are taken care of by my parents or grandparents. Thanks for the advice. Will we following it as need arises.

I need one help with Delights Debit Card. I want to apply it but branch says that this debit card has been stopped by the Bank. What should be my action forward?

What...... @kuchbhi is this debit card discontinued??
Well lately indusing has been doing this kind of stuff
I can't say fs since I am NTB

But some earlier happenings

https://www.technofino.in/community...avings-account-discontinued.39026/post-977977

https://www.technofino.in/community/threads/indusind-exclusive-savings-account-discontinued.39026/