[INFO] Federal Celesta Application Process

Quantum

Howdy folks!

I have been reading about Federal Celesta credit card in this forum from last couple of days. There were mixed outcomes (some folks having super premium cards with >8L limit were offered Signet/Imperio with less than 3L limit, for some the Celesta card was a pre-approved one because of Fi/Jupiter relationship, for some bank statement was asked and Celesta was negotiated based on RBIO complaint, and some were offered Celesta with good limit without having any relationship with Federal).
These outcomes weren't very motivating to even try for this card, but I finally decided to try it at the cost of one credit enquiry.
  1. I wanted the Mastercard variant of Celesta so I started from here: https://www.federalbank.co.in/celesta-credit-card -> Apply Online
    Basically, irrespective of from where you applied, it ultimately lands at this page: https://creditcards.federalbank.co.in/#/entry
    To be on the safer side, I intentionally started from Celesta MC variant page. I was screen-recording (on laptop) to build up a case of mis-selling for RBIO complaint if they offered me Signet/Imperio at the end. [Suppose Celesta was shown to me as "THE" card offered based on my credit worthiness and I completed the VKYC, but the credit team decides to offer anything else. That's the case I'm referring to. Read more here.]
  2. Entered mobile number and CAPTCHA. Entered the OTP and proceeded to next form.
  3. Entered PAN, DoB, name as per PAN, and Employment Type as "Salaried". When I selected "Salaried", a new text box as "Annual Income" appeared. Entered the annual income here. I suggest just not to enter anything in the annual income field, as in the subsequent forms, you will be asked to select the employer from the drop down list of employers, your work email address, and your office address. I don't recommend exaggerating your annual income, but if you still want to do it, do it on your own risk.
    Submitted the form, and it redirected to EKYC for Aadhaar verification.
  4. Entered Aadhaar # and OTP, EKYC was done, and moved to next form.
  5. Filled personal, address, and work details. In address details form, permanent address was prefilled with Aadhaar address.
    I'm currently staying at the address mentioned in my Aadhaar, so I checked the box that says "Communication address same as Permanent Address".
    There is a message on this form: "Kindly ensure that you are at your communication address while attempting your VKYC)". So, please ensure that.

Screenshot 2025-02-25 at 6.42.59 PM.webp

Work detail:
    At first, it seemed as if the Employer Name field is a text box as I started typing the name. But when I clicked next, it asked me to select from the dropdown.

Screenshot 2025-02-25 at 6.50.13 PM.webp
  6. After filling the info, when I clicked next, it queried Experian. This is when it does a credit enquiry on Experian.
    Screenshot 2025-02-25 at 6.57.10 PM.webp
  7. On the next screen, I was offered Federal Celesta for both the variants i.e. Visa and MC. The credit limit offered was 5L for both the variants.
    Celesta Visa:
    Screenshot 2025-02-25 at 7.00.46 PM.webp

Celesta Mastercard:
    Screenshot 2025-02-25 at 7.07.44 PM.webp
  8. I selected the mastercard one. Before clicking Select, make double sure that the variant which you want is displayed on the screen. After clicking next, it took me to the next screen.
  9. The next screen is "Additional Work Details". Here the Official Email ID and Annual Income is prepopulated as I entered earlier. The Annual Income field cannot be edited now. Alternate Mobile Number cannot be same as the one you used to start the application process.
    Filled other work details. Clicked next and moved to next screen.

Screenshot 2025-02-25 at 7.26.29 PM.webp
  10. On the next screen, it asked for name to be printed on the card (which can be edited) and the address where you want the card to be delivered. Communication address and permanent address both are mentioned even if both are same. Reference ID (which is the application number, note it down) and the E-mail ID that I entered earlier are displayed too. I selected Communication address and clicked Confirm. It then took me to VKYC screen. VKYC on the laptop was failing (not even starting the call). It seems VKYC only via mobile phone is allowed. So, copied the VKYC URL (it doesn't change so copy the VKYC URL and save it somewhere) and sent to my WhatsApp chat and completed the VKYC on phone today morning. I started the application around 11pm yesterday (24th Feb).

Screenshot 2025-02-25 at 7.35.46 PM.webp
  11. The VKYC agent asked for personal details, work related details, and monthly income. When I mentioned the monthly income, she asked "it it gross or net". I mentioned net. Towards the end of the VKYC call, I asked her if the VKYC is successfully done, she mentioned yes and the application will now proceed to next stage.
  12. Within 4 hours of completing the VKYC, I received this message from Federal bank "we are pleased to inform you that VKYC process for your Federal Credit Card application has been completed successfully . You will receive details about your credit card shortly - Federal Bank".
    Within 2 minutes, I received the following email from Federal bank. They indeed processed the Celesta MC with 5L limit.

Screenshot 2025-02-25 at 8.12.58 PM.webp
    Screenshot 2025-02-25 at 8.10.56 PM.webp
    Screenshot 2025-02-25 at 8.11.11 PM.webp
Few points about my profile:
  • I don't have any prior or existing relationship with Federal Bank. No account and no Fi/Jupiter/Neptune etc.
  • This was my first ever application and first credit card of Federal bank.
  • The highest credit limit that I have is 8L on M4B.
  • Experian score of 805. In Experian, # of credit enquiries in 2024 is 2. 2025 none.
Few suggestions:
  1. It seems to me that as IDFC mentions the Annual income of ₹36 lakhs or more for IDFC Wealth CC, Federal expects something similar for Celesta though they have not mentioned it anywhere (that I could fetch). I think it expects the annual income to boil down to net 2L per month. Just my observation. So, enter the details accordingly. The VKYC agent asked me whether it is above 2L. I said above 2L.
  2. When the financial year is ending, it seems getting Celesta becomes easier as compared to applying in April afterwards. So, now is the time to apply.
  3. Before applying, make sure your Experian credit report is up-to-date similar to CIBIL report and the score is above 800.
  4. Start the application from the page of the Celesta variant that you want, even though it ultimately lands at the same URL after clicking Apply Online. It may sound stupid but that's one way to build the base for mis-selling case. Start recording the screen before clicking on Apply Online so that the card that you are applying for gets captured too.
  5. Link for Celesta MC: https://www.federalbank.co.in/celesta-credit-card
  6. Link for Celesta Visa: https://www.federalbank.co.in/visa-celesta-credit-card
  7. DO NOT use this link https://creditcards.federalbank.co.in/#/entry to check the application status etc once you have completed the VKYC process. If you do, you would end up getting new credit enquiry for your Experian credit report. Be patient after completing the VKYC, at least for 1 working day. You will get the message/email/call for sure.
Do share your experience after applying!

To be on the safer side, I intentionally started from Celesta MC variant page. I was screen-recording (on laptop) to build up a case of mis-selling for RBIO complaint if they offered me Signet/Imperio at the end.

FYI: TnCs clearly says 'bank descretion to provide suitable card based on ur eligibilty, its never u applied and its not compulsory but same can be rejected from ur side if not satisfied', this statement for every bank including federal.

-- for future reference purpose

Howdy folks!

I have been reading about Federal Celesta credit card in this forum from last couple of days. There were mixed outcomes (some folks having super premium cards with >8L limit were offered Signet/Imperio with less than 3L limit, for some the Celesta card was a pre-approved one because of Fi/Jupiter relationship, for some bank statement was asked and Celesta was negotiated based on RBIO complaint, and some were offered Celesta with good limit without having any relationship with Federal).
These outcomes weren't very motivating to even try for this card, but I finally decided to try it at the cost of one credit enquiry.
  1. I wanted the Mastercard variant of Celesta so I started from here: https://www.federalbank.co.in/celesta-credit-card -> Apply Online
    Basically, irrespective of from where you applied, it ultimately lands at this page: https://creditcards.federalbank.co.in/#/entry
    To be on the safer side, I intentionally started from Celesta MC variant page. I was screen-recording (on laptop) to build up a case of mis-selling for RBIO complaint if they offered me Signet/Imperio at the end.
  2. Entered mobile number and CAPTCHA. Entered the OTP and proceeded to next form.
  3. Entered PAN, DoB, name as per PAN, and Employment Type as "Salaried". When I selected "Salaried", a new text box as "Annual Income" appeared. Entered the annual income here. I suggest just not to enter anything in the annual income field, as in the subsequent forms, you will be asked to select the employer from the drop down list of employers, your work email address, and your office address. I don't recommend exaggerating your annual income, but if you still want to do it, do it on your own risk.
    Submitted the form, and it redirected to EKYC for Aadhaar verification.
  4. Entered Aadhaar # and OTP, EKYC was done, and moved to next form.
  5. Filled personal, address, and work details. In address details form, permanent address was prefilled with Aadhaar address.
    I'm currently staying at the address mentioned in my Aadhaar, so I checked the box that says "Communication address same as Permanent Address".
    There is a message on this form: "Kindly ensure that you are at your communication address while attempting your VKYC)". So, please ensure that.

View attachment 84753

Work detail:
    At first, it seemed as if the Employer Name field is a text box as I started typing the name. But when I clicked next, it asked me to select from the dropdown.

View attachment 84755
  6. After filling the info, when I clicked next, it queried Experian. This is when it does a credit enquiry on Experian.
    View attachment 84757
  7. On the next screen, I was offered Federal Celesta for both the variants i.e. Visa and MC. The credit limit offered was 5L for both the variants.
    Celesta Visa:
    View attachment 84759

Celesta Mastercard:
    View attachment 84761
  8. I selected the mastercard one. Before clicking Select, make double sure that the variant which you want is displayed on the screen. After clicking next, it took me to the next screen.
  9. The next screen is "Additional Work Details". Here the Official Email ID and Annual Income is prepopulated as I entered earlier. The Annual Income field cannot be edited now. Alternate Mobile Number cannot be same as the one you used to start the application process.
    Filled other work details. Clicked next and moved to next screen.

View attachment 84762
  10. On the next screen, it asked for name to be printed on the card (which can be edited) and the address where you want the card to be delivered. Communication address and permanent address both are mentioned even if both are same. Reference ID (which is the application number, note it down) and the E-mail ID that I entered earlier are displayed too. I selected Communication address and clicked Confirm. It then took me to VKYC screen. VKYC on the laptop was failing (not even starting the call). It seems VKYC only via mobile phone is allowed. So, copied the VKYC URL (it doesn't change so copy the VKYC URL and save it somewhere) and sent to my WhatsApp chat and completed the VKYC on phone today morning. I started the application around 11pm yesterday (24th Feb).

View attachment 84763
  11. The VKYC agent asked for personal details, work related details, and monthly income. When I mentioned the monthly income, she asked "it it gross or net". I mentioned net. Towards the end of the VKYC call, I asked her if the VKYC is successfully done, she mentioned yes and the application will now proceed to next stage.
  12. Within 4 hours of completing the VKYC, I received this message from Federal bank "we are pleased to inform you that VKYC process for your Federal Credit Card application has been completed successfully . You will receive details about your credit card shortly - Federal Bank".
    Within 2 minutes, I received the following email from Federal bank. They indeed processed the Celesta MC with 5L limit.

View attachment 84766
    View attachment 84767
    View attachment 84768
Few points about my profile:
  • I don't have any prior or existing relationship with Federal Bank. No account and no Fi/Jupiter/Neptune etc.
  • This was my first ever application and first credit card of Federal bank.
  • The highest credit limit that I have is 8L on M4B.
  • Experian score of 805. In Experian, # of credit enquiries in 2024 is 2. 2025 none.
Few suggestions:
  1. It seems to me that as IDFC mentions the Annual income of ₹36 lakhs or more for IDFC Wealth CC, Federal expects something similar for Celesta though they have not mentioned it anywhere (that I could fetch). I think it expects the annual income to boil down to net 2L per month. Just my observation. So, enter the details accordingly. The VKYC agent asked me whether it is above 2L. I said above 2L.
  2. When the financial year is ending, it seems getting Celesta becomes easier as compared to applying in April afterwards. So, now is the time to apply.
  3. Before applying, make sure your Experian credit report is up-to-date similar to CIBIL report and the score is above 800.
  4. Start the application from the page of the Celesta variant that you want, even though it ultimately lands at the same URL after clicking Apply Online. It may sound stupid but that's one way to build the base for mis-selling case. Start recording the screen before clicking on Apply Online so that the card that you are applying for gets captured too.
  5. Link for Celesta MC: https://www.federalbank.co.in/celesta-credit-card
  6. Link for Celesta Visa: https://www.federalbank.co.in/visa-celesta-credit-card
  7. DO NOT use this link https://creditcards.federalbank.co.in/#/entry to check the application status etc once you have completed the VKYC process. If you do, you would end up getting new credit enquiry for your Experian credit report. Be patient after completing the VKYC, at least for 1 working day. You will get the message/email/call for sure.
Do share your experience after applying!
Congratulations to you 🎉, and excellent write up, Pleasure to Read, seems we are part of Journey.

FYI: TnCs clearly says 'bank descretion to provide suitable card based on ur eligibilty, its never u applied and its not compulsory but same can be rejected from ur side if not satisfied', this statement for every bank including federal.

-- for future reference purpose
True.
What I meant is suppose Celesta was shown to me as "THE" card offered based on my credit worthiness and I completed the VKYC, but the credit team decides to offer anything else. That's the case I was referring to.

There's a catch here.
It's always the bank's discretion to provide "THE" card to someone or not.
But the bank cannot force someone to accept/activate "ANY" card they delivered out of the blue just because the person applied for "THE" credit card.

In couple of Federal threads from last year, folks have shared their bad experience of Federal not being transparent throughout their application process as to which card was being processed. It was only when it started showing in the app or email.
Folks filed the RBIO complaint for that. Either cancel the delivered card or provide what I applied for. That was their ask.
I added the highlighted part in my post for the same reason. That shouldn't be interpreted as a weapon to fetch a desired card.

Which one is better as per you, the Visa one or the MC one ? I heard that they give Celesta in Rupay as well, not sure if that exists.
The MC one has an additional benefit of Golf.
Celesta in Rupay? Never heard of it. As of now, I don't think they provide the Rupay variant for Celesta. Their website doesn't list it.
But you could talk to their customer support to get info on that.

I had tried for last four quarters the same thing but was always rejected due to internal policy. Cibil is 801 but experian is 766. Both score are stuck like these for these four quarters. I have a chance apply it this month again but seems like it will be rejected due to experian.

Better to apply when you cross 800 on Experian. Are your CIBIL and Experian reports same data-wise?