Legit questions by a tax payer, but our Nirmala Tai has no reply

Not open for further replies.
They are not, at least I haven't seen any real difference on the ground these days.
There is a big difference. One is at least trying. Other's primary motive was personal gain. Modus operandi of leadership is very different.

At lower level there always be corruption, because Indians are most corrupt. it is the indian way, has been going on since the time of collonial past( though worsened after independence both due personal goals , incompetence & political ideology)

When tte comes, wt people extend 50/100rs, when traffic police catch those who don't wear helmets, they extend 100rs. In railways many people pay their senior not to get promoted. So does in many govt financial institutions which provides loans. You'd be surprised how much money small time employees (both govt & private) have made from corruption. Leave clerk even illiterate guards at mines or any public official building starting from BDO office, to gardeners at forest department have more cash not just near by atm, but even small branches.

Blaming rich people & corporate is a low hanging fruit pointed by leftist who have never done any productive thing in their existence. If anything they pay much more tax then they should.

And their is no "honest tax payer". They are paying high tax because they have to, not out of goodness of their heart. Even these "honest tax payers" don't pay all tax they are required by law.

Everyone misuse power, that's the nature of power. It corrupts the person holding it.

what a worst FM we have
She is no where near the "worst fm" tag. When you compare her to to many of her predecessor & counterparts , she is doing a decent job.It is also true she has got good support from pm, Jaishankar, puri, gadkari, rbi gov.

I would've like this crazy (& genius ) guy called Subramanium swami to be fm, but he's a loose cannon. He might perform good in economic sense, but it would be a political suicide. 🤣

There was a small window where there could've been some course correction, that Lokpal bill from a decade back if it was framed and passed properly we might've had a ray of hope. But like you said most of us are corrupt anyways, even if not 100% of the time.
You'd be surprised how much money small time employees (both govt & private) have made from corruption.
I'm not actually, I'm slightly surprised how people expect "Ram rajya" when they themselves are doing things like Rāvaṇa. Which is to say that unless you're doing good things on your part don;t expect the same from others. The addendum to this is that many are forced to because their fair share is being taken away by the most power, rich and corrupt at the very top.

The bottom line is if we really want a change in fortunes of this country, not just going to a useless number like biggest economy in the world, we need a systemic revolution at all levels but arguably more importantly the expectations that you "need to pay" to get things done! This is not a norm & should've never been normalized like it is in India.
Blaming rich people & corporate is a low hanging fruit pointed by leftist who have never done any productive thing in their existence. If anything they pay much more tax then they should.
It's not because ultimately wealth accumulates at the top. Now you could argue that even big corporate houses have to "donate" to get the right things done which is indeed a fatal flaw in the current system.

How do you define or quantify that? Didn't the likes of AB, SRT or some celebrities declare themselves farmers to avoid paying some taxes in Maharashtra on land or something a few years back?

what a worst FM we have
Use Spotify. No need of FM radio 📻.
Lisa Simpson Waiting GIF by The Simpsons

There needs to a balance. Its true govt also needs tax to run the country but fault is on both sides.

The guy asking questions isn't so innocent himself. He is saying he pays all the taxes. Then how does it affects him if he pays by cheque. It is not advisable to buy house with cash. Neft/cheque is a proof of payment. This can be blocked in destination account if there is some fraud or other issues.

But this is also true that in india tax is much higher than what citizens get back due to many reasons mostly political & corruption. It might be true current govt is less corrupt than previous one, but they are no saint themselves. They wouldn't touch anything that will help the nation at the cost of their economic & political gains.
Let me tell you the reality
Suppose is someone is buying a shop and both purchaser and seller agreed for 1 crore as price

So 70-80% of them will be paid in cash and only 20% will be paid in cheque to reduce the costs

And that's the normal practice

Govt knows that too
Thats why they came up with GST
An indirect tax that's equal for everyone irrespective of slabs/age group etc

GST is the way govt is getting common man's money
Almost everything has GST on it
Unlike petrol and some other exceptions
I simply don't pay taxes. And you shouldn't too. Tax Evasion is the only way to climb the leaderboard.

There was a small window where there could've been some course correction, that Lokpal bill from a decade back if it was framed and passed properly we might've had a ray of hope. But like you said most of us are corrupt anyways, even if not 100% of the time.
Including those who were doing the dharna. I was 100% sure it was a political movement not a social/legal movement like they were claiming it to be. Each one of them had big aspiration.
Except Kiran Bedi & Kumar vishwas, the rest had a shady past & these 2 also had clear political aspirations.
I'm not actually, I'm slightly surprised how people expect "Ram rajya" when they themselves are doing things like Rāvaṇa. Which is to say that unless you're doing good things on your part don;t expect the same from others. The addendum to this is that many are forced to because their fair share is being taken away by the most power, rich and corrupt at the very top.
People wants others to lose privilege but don't want to surrender own privilege. It is very easy when you convince a small set of people( the 1%) is real enemy. This is primary reason why leftist ideology is so appealing: communism, socialism, feminism, race/religion/caste/gender identities.
History has given us so many evidence that this mentality doesn't work, but it's so damn easy to blame others.
The bottom line is if we really want a change in fortunes of this country, not just going to a useless number like biggest economy in the world, we need a systemic revolution at all levels
Some small steps can make india the biggest superpower but no political would dare to touch that.

It's not because ultimately wealth accumulates at the top. Now you could argue that even big corporate houses have to "donate" to get the right things done which is indeed a fatal flaw in the current system.

How do you define or quantify that? Didn't the likes of AB, SRT or some celebrities declare themselves farmers to avoid paying some taxes in Maharashtra on land or something a few years back.
I wasn't even talking about bribe. In absolute terms they pay a lot of tax, much more than a fair share. Rich people or corporate shouldn't be punished because politicians want to please certain groups of people for votes.
Now it's true these celebrity pay very less taxes in % terms, but a lot in absolute terms. Thousands of people gets employed because of them. They indirectly generate way more tax than they evade.

Someone might claim msd pays very less tax in % terms. But just look at the impact. To see one man at least 15k more people are coming to watch the match. They would travel, stay, Eat. From all thar govt will get much more tax than msd could ever avoid.

Govt knows that too

That's why income tax on individuals does not make sense, what's the point of double taxation on salaried people who only constitute 5-10%

Govt knows that too

Gst is very good to stop people to evade tax. Even that isn't fool proof in a market like india, where unorganized retail is much much bigger.

That's why income tax on individuals does not make sense, what's the point of double taxation on salaried people who only constitute 5-10%
There is a economics reason.

If we stop putting individual income tax, it will drastically increase tax on products. In best case scenario it will make our economy even more savings focused, which we want to change badly.

Consumption will drop, price will rise, unemployment will rise and poor people won't even get a single meal.
Not just govt but business also subsidize poor section. They are catered only to get economies of scale, not for profit. With higher tax on product it won't be possible to do that.

Rich people or corporate shouldn't be punished because politicians want to please certain groups of people for votes.
I didn't said that, I said even the biggest billionaires in this nation have to pay their "fair" share to get legit contracts where they'd absolutely win on merit - that is clearly wrong, but also the cost of doing business in India. Now tbf that's the case almost everywhere in the world, including US or Europe although the quantum(%) of bribes ought to be much smaller.

The more important point was that they have an outsized influence & reach which generally makes it very hard to compete with them directly, in business or other places where policy is defined by the state. Basically "jiski lathi uski" which should not happen as often as it does in this day & age.
Someone might claim msd pays very less tax in % terms.
Yeah let's not go there. That guy should've retired immediately after 2015 WC, his overstay probably cost us 2 ICC trophies although Kohli being a knucklehead didn't help either!

At least she did not say "chaliye aap ko vannakam".
Instead of asking such questions that everyone knows will not be answered, why not just exercise the right to vote

Not open for further replies.