Infinia LTF Regalia GOLD is better than Paid Infinia | Reward Points Calculations/Maths | INFINIA is OVERHYPED

Not open for further replies.
Ref to my recent post, Thanks everyone for your suggestions on Infinia Metal. I considered all points and did some calculations...There are 2 scenarios

1. If Spend is around 7.5 Lac (In normal scenario, Infinia is offered with this much spend..I am not considering special cases of LTF Infinia):

(a) Regalia Gold:
RP's: 20,000
Bonus RP's: 10,000 (5 Lac milestone)
Bonus RP's: 5,000 (8 Lac milestone)
Total RP's: 35,000
A = Value of RP's @ 30 paise = Rs 10,500 (Considering average redemption and not special cases like Gold catalogue/smartbuy flight @ 1:0.5)
B = Quarterly vouchers of Rs 1,500 X 4 = Rs 6,000
C = Flight Vouchers of Rs 5,000 X 2 = Rs 10,000 (5k @ 5 lac and 5k @ 7.5 lac) (Not considering airport drop voucher)
Total Benefit = A + B + C = Rs 26,500

(b) Infinia Metal:
RP's: 25,000
RP's for annual fees = 12,500
A = Value of RP's @ 50 paise = Rs 18,750 (Considering average redemption and not special cases)
B = Annual Fees = Rs 14,750
Net Benefits = A - B = Rs 4,000
Infinia Metal is a BIG loser in this case

Even if you consider RP's value at 1:1 where you have very limited choice to redeem
A = Value of RP's = 25,000
B = Annual Fees RP's value = 12,500
C = Annual Fees incl GST = Rs 14,750
Net Benefits = A + B - C = Rs 22,750
Benefits of Infinia Metal is way below Regalia Gold despite the fact, you will be forced to you redeem infinia RP's only in flight booking or buying apple products

2. If Spend is around 10 Lac

(a) Regalia Gold:
RP's: 26,666
Total RP's: 46,666
A = Value of RP's @ 30 paise = Rs 12,500 (Considering average redemption and not special cases like Gold catalogue)
C = Flight Vouchers of Rs 5,000 X 2 = Rs 10,000 (5k @ 5 lac and 5k @ 7.5 lac) (Not considering airport drop voucher)
Total Benefit = A + B + C = Rs 28,500

(b) Infinia Metal:
RP's: 33,000
RP's for annual fees = 0 (Annual Fees Waived off)
A = Value of RP's @ 50 paise = Rs 18,750 (Considering average redemption and not special cases)
B = Annual Fees = 0
Net Benefits = A - B = Rs 18,750

Even if you consider RP's value at 1:1 where you have very limited choice to redeem
A = Value of RP's = 33,000
B = Annual Fees = 0
Net Benefits = 33,000
Only 4.5k benefit compared to Regalia Gold which is actually less (refer to point #2 in final conclusion)

MY FINAL CONCLUSION:

1. Infinia Metal is only beneficial if you redeem rewards to book flights through smartbuy or apple products else it is a BIG LOSER compared to Regalia GOLD.
2. 1:1 redemption is actually not a 1:1 as you buy the flight ticket or apple product at FULL value and forego discounts available..This ratio is 1:0.85 (As shared by other experts)
3. Infinia Metal will give you serious stress to spend only on Infinia metal card and you might miss out on other great offers on other cards. Example: Currently Amex is giving maximum offers on Swiggy, Zomato, Blinkit etc.
4. Last but not the least, INFINIA is a OVERHYPED Card in my personal opinion. No offence to Infinia users.

I HAVE DECIDED TO DECLINE THE OFFER TO UPGRADE FROM LTF REGALIA GOLD TO PAID INFINIA.

I apologies if there is any error in my calculation...Kindly mention the same in the comments, I will correct it

Smart buy/Gyftr offers are available on paytm and so many other websites...In my opinion, nothing unique in smartbuy/gyftr....smartbuy flight tickets are normally 10% costly than other websites excluding discounts on other websites like yatra, easemytrip etc...
I would like to know where do you get 16% cashback on almost every brand voucher specially Amazon and Amazon pay.

Smart buy/Gyftr offers are available on paytm and so many other websites...In my opinion, nothing unique in smartbuy/gyftr....smartbuy flight tickets are normally 10% costly than other websites excluding discounts on other websites like yatra, easemytrip etc...
I bought few mumbai new york flights last year, and smartbuy rates were at par, as it has most of portals except makemytrip,

I recently booked few domestic indigo tickets and prices compared to other 3rd part aggregator were at least 10% higher and compared to indigo the prices were at least 15% higher (as indigo doesn't have convinience fees)

The 10% increase is inclusive of tax. Other 3rd apps show taxes only on the page just before payment. Try proceeding till payment and then see that smartbuy and other apps have the same price.

For any Promo / discounted fares, Indigo has started including convenience fees. I myself dropped out at the last stage due to this on Indigo app.

I think you should check the prices just before OTP page on all the portals to decide properly. Don't assume anything.

All the portals including airline app/websites have become supersmart to show low fares initially and then bumping up at the last step

Guys i have actually went till payment page just before otp and based on that only I am telling. Clearly indigo fairs are cheaper on IndiGo even without any coupons.

We should stop saying Infinia rewards are 1rp = 1 re

I would say realistically 1 rp = ~0.8 re

Even in case of apple we are at loss if we Compare discounts during sale time

Guys i have actually went till payment page just before otp and based on that only I am telling. Clearly indigo fairs are cheaper on IndiGo even without any coupons.

We should stop saying Infinia rewards are 1rp = 1 re

I would say realistically 1 rp = ~0.8 re

Even in case of apple we are at loss if we Compare discounts during sale time
How are you saying its 0.8? Is the external fare 20% cheaper?

I recently booked tickets to Andaman. The fare difference was just less than 1000 for tickets worth 20k which is less than 5% difference. Also paid 30% using card which gives 16.5% points back (around 900 points) which covered the extra fare.

Nowadays, smartbuy also adds additional discount to the fare which needs a coupon in other websites.

How are you saying its 0.8? Is the external fare 20% cheaper?

I recently booked tickets to Andaman. The fare difference was just less than 1000 for tickets worth 20k which is less than 5% difference. Also paid 30% using card which gives 16.5% points back (around 900 points) which covered the extra fare.

Nowadays, smartbuy also adds additional discount to the fare which needs a coupon in other websites.
Where to find SmartBuy coupon? And when did you made the booking?
I made in May and yes price difference was atleast 15%.. SmartBuy was around 21k where as if I would have booked through indigo app it would have costed 18k

Where to find SmartBuy coupon? And when did you made the booking?
I made in May and yes price difference was atleast 15%.. SmartBuy was around 21k where as if I would have booked through indigo app it would have costed 18k
Discount is included in the fare.

See screenshot for the fare diff in skyscanner vs smartbuy. Finding the cheapest fare is not easy. You need to keep checking during odd hours. And not on weekends. Even smartbuy fares keep changing.

• Screenshot_20240617_110951_Chrome.jpg
    Screenshot_20240617_110951_Chrome.jpg
    151.6 KB · Views: 30
  • Screenshot_20240617_110937_PayZapp.jpg
    Screenshot_20240617_110937_PayZapp.jpg
    94.6 KB · Views: 30
Discount is included in the fare.

See screenshot for the fare diff in skyscanner vs smartbuy. Finding the cheapest fare is not easy. You need to keep checking during odd hours. And not on weekends. Even smartbuy fares keep changing.
But I hope you realize that convinience fee will be added on top of what is shown in SmartBuy vs skyscanner prices are inclusive of convinience fee?

Yes, it comes to around 7450 in smartbuy while its 7355 in yatra. Even if you consider 7266 in yatra, its just a difference of ~200 which is 3% more.

I never said smartbuy is cheaper, its slightly more but is compensated with reward points. Again you have to find such flights. Not all flights will be like this but i have booked more than 5 flights till now from smartbuy on par with the external rates.

Smartbuy is especially useful when you book intl flights where external websites won't give flat 10-15% discount as there is a capping.

Ref to my recent post, Thanks everyone for your suggestions on Infinia Metal. I considered all points and did some calculations...There are 2 scenarios

1. If Spend is around 7.5 Lac (In normal scenario, Infinia is offered with this much spend..I am not considering special cases of LTF Infinia):

(a) Regalia Gold:
RP's: 20,000
Total RP's: 35,000
A = Value of RP's @ 30 paise = Rs 10,500 (Considering average redemption and not special cases like Gold catalogue/smartbuy flight @ 1:0.5)
Total Benefit = A + B + C = Rs 26,500

(b) Infinia Metal:
RP's: 25,000
RP's for annual fees = 12,500
B = Annual Fees = Rs 14,750
Net Benefits = A - B = Rs 4,000

A = Value of RP's = 25,000
B = Annual Fees RP's value = 12,500
C = Annual Fees incl GST = Rs 14,750
Net Benefits = A + B - C = Rs 22,750
Benefits of Infinia Metal is way below Regalia Gold despite the fact, you will be forced to you redeem infinia RP's only in flight booking or buying apple products

2. If Spend is around 10 Lac

(a) Regalia Gold:
RP's: 26,666
Total RP's: 46,666
A = Value of RP's @ 30 paise = Rs 12,500 (Considering average redemption and not special cases like Gold catalogue)
Total Benefit = A + B + C = Rs 28,500

(b) Infinia Metal:
RP's: 33,000
RP's for annual fees = 0 (Annual Fees Waived off)
B = Annual Fees = 0
Net Benefits = A - B = Rs 18,750

A = Value of RP's = 33,000
B = Annual Fees = 0
Net Benefits = 33,000
Only 4.5k benefit compared to Regalia Gold which is actually less (refer to point #2 in final conclusion)

MY FINAL CONCLUSION:

1. Infinia Metal is only beneficial if you redeem rewards to book flights through smartbuy or apple products else it is a BIG LOSER compared to Regalia GOLD.
2. 1:1 redemption is actually not a 1:1 as you buy the flight ticket or apple product at FULL value and forego discounts available..This ratio is 1:0.85 (As shared by other experts)
3. Infinia Metal will give you serious stress to spend only on Infinia metal card and you might miss out on other great offers on other cards. Example: Currently Amex is giving maximum offers on Swiggy, Zomato, Blinkit etc.
4. Last but not the least, INFINIA is a OVERHYPED Card in my personal opinion. No offence to Infinia users.

I HAVE DECIDED TO DECLINE THE OFFER TO UPGRADE FROM LTF REGALIA GOLD TO PAID INFINIA.

I apologies if there is any error in my calculation...Kindly mention the same in the comments, I will correct it
@nits123 please edit your post to remove the mention of milestone RPs (Reg Gold), as HDFC is no longer offering them? You were fortunate to receive it earlier.

Most of the time I found marginal difference between Smartbuy and other service providers flight. In some instance it was cheaper marginally on Smartbuy. However all of these were for domestic.

Yes, it comes to around 7450 in smartbuy while its 7355 in yatra. Even if you consider 7266 in yatra, its just a difference of ~200 which is 3% more.

I never said smartbuy is cheaper, its slightly more but is compensated with reward points. Again you have to find such flights. Not all flights will be like this but i have booked more than 5 flights till now from smartbuy on par with the external rates.

Smartbuy is especially useful when you book intl flights where external websites won't give flat 10-15% discount as there is a capping.
Also my comparison was between indigo app and SmartBuy.. Where hands down indigo won.. But I'll keep an eye on my future needs too.. And whenever I find such difference where SmartBuy is at least 10% costlier I'll update here

They’ve done an excellent job hiding it if you think Indigo doesn’t have convenience fees. 🙂

Not open for further replies.