As you all know, deposits made in India Post savings schemes (such as the Post Office Time Deposit or Fixed Deposit), are backed by a sovereign guarantee from the Government of India. That means your money is considered 100% safe.
Many elderly people - and even some from the middle age group - prefer to keep their savings in post office FDs and other schemes for this reason.
All post offices also have an agent system - agents can handle deposits and withdrawals on your behalf. This makes life easier for senior citizens who can’t visit the post office regularly.
But what happens when the same agent you trust betrays you?
Exactly that happened recently in Jadavpur, Kolkata - and more than 70 people have lost everything.
Recently, when a few customers went to check their passbooks, they found something shocking -
The passbooks were fake!
All of them had genuine accounts in the same post office. Some lost ₹3.5 crore, some ₹75 lakh - in total, crores of rupees have been siphoned off.
Police have arrested Siddhartha Karanjai, the accused agent, and are currently interrogating him in custody. A case has been registered at Jadavpur Police Station.
Reports suggest Siddhartha used to withdraw customer's money himself, even when cheques were issued. Once the scam came to light, chaos broke out, and many customers gathered outside the post office demanding answers.
The current postmaster has claimed that he joined recently and only learned about the issue now. After checking the passbooks, he confirmed they were completely fake.
Another victim, Partha Pal, said:
Image Credit: ABP Network
How could such a large-scale fraud go unnoticed by post office staff?
The agent had been updating passbooks and stamping them regularly - so how did he access official seals? If the stamps were fake, where did he get them made?
Police are now investigating whether any post office employees were involved, especially since such huge withdrawals should have raised red flags.
India Post needs to modernize its banking operations. Instead of depending on agents, they should expand doorstep banking services for senior citizens - a facility that already exists but is rarely promoted.
Local post offices often encourage customers to use agents, which makes them vulnerable. It’s time India Post takes accountability and ensures no depositor loses their money ever again.
Many elderly people - and even some from the middle age group - prefer to keep their savings in post office FDs and other schemes for this reason.
All post offices also have an agent system - agents can handle deposits and withdrawals on your behalf. This makes life easier for senior citizens who can’t visit the post office regularly.
But what happens when the same agent you trust betrays you?
Exactly that happened recently in Jadavpur, Kolkata - and more than 70 people have lost everything.
The Story
Over 70 customers of the Regent Estate Post Office in Jadavpur have alleged that their entire savings are gone. They had trusted a post office agent who managed all their transactions - deposits, withdrawals, and renewals.Recently, when a few customers went to check their passbooks, they found something shocking -
The passbooks were fake!
All of them had genuine accounts in the same post office. Some lost ₹3.5 crore, some ₹75 lakh - in total, crores of rupees have been siphoned off.
Police have arrested Siddhartha Karanjai, the accused agent, and are currently interrogating him in custody. A case has been registered at Jadavpur Police Station.
Reports suggest Siddhartha used to withdraw customer's money himself, even when cheques were issued. Once the scam came to light, chaos broke out, and many customers gathered outside the post office demanding answers.
The current postmaster has claimed that he joined recently and only learned about the issue now. After checking the passbooks, he confirmed they were completely fake.
What the Victims Said
Abhijit Majumdar, one of the victims, shared:“For years, my parents, wife, and I kept our savings in the post office. Earlier, an agent named Lokesh Karanjai handled everything. After his death, his son continued the job. We trusted him and gave him our passbooks for reinvestment. Later, we found all passbooks were fake - around ₹3.5 crore gone. He admitted transferring our money to his own account with help from the postmaster, whom he even paid!”
Another victim, Partha Pal, said:
Source: ABP Ananda“The previous postmaster once visited our house and assured my mother that her money was safe. Later, when we confronted the agent, he admitted he had withdrawn it. We found out he got fake passbooks printed from a local press in Bijoygarh. My mother lost ₹10 lakh.”
Image Credit: ABP Network
How Could This Happen?
That’s the big question.How could such a large-scale fraud go unnoticed by post office staff?
The agent had been updating passbooks and stamping them regularly - so how did he access official seals? If the stamps were fake, where did he get them made?
Police are now investigating whether any post office employees were involved, especially since such huge withdrawals should have raised red flags.
How You Can Stay Safe
- Avoid using agents - do your own transactions.
- If you must use an agent, check their official certificate and ID card. India Post issues authorization to all agents.
- Cross-verify with the postmaster to confirm if the person is truly an authorized agent.
- Link your mobile number to your post office account to get SMS alerts for every transaction.
- Use India Post’s internet banking for safer and transparent operations.
- Update your passbook personally from time to time at the branch.
- Report anything suspicious immediately to the postmaster or local police.
India Post needs to modernize its banking operations. Instead of depending on agents, they should expand doorstep banking services for senior citizens - a facility that already exists but is rarely promoted.
Local post offices often encourage customers to use agents, which makes them vulnerable. It’s time India Post takes accountability and ensures no depositor loses their money ever again.