@bvc19296 @Vasuki
Did an exercise to calculate start date and spends on my current Millennia card.
Took out all bills and checked old sms to know card activation date.
Findings:
- Millennia Diners was activated on 26th October 2023.
- Changed the card to Millennia Visa and it was activated on 28th Dec. So it completes 6 months on 28th June 2024.
- Spends were below 4 lacs on Millennia Visa, while I was fighting with HDFC for upgradation. But if Millennia Diners is also included then it was well above 4 lacs.
Had some discussions with customer services of HDFC. What I understood:
- Transfer of network from Diners to Visa is not counted as upgradation. Time and spends on previous network card is also counted, as its same card account.
- There is not much rigidity about 6 months waiting period. It can be waived off if fulfilling other criteria.
- Whether billed or unbilled doesn’t matter. Total spends is seen.
- Upgradation is done basis customer profile and offers (Backend team has different offers on their system). Was not able to get more details on what they mean by 'customer profile'.
Possible reasons that I think could have prevented upgradation of Millennia to DCB metal in May 2024:
- I am a new customer for HDFC. Both bank account and credit card are new.
- Upgradation being asked directly from Millennia to DCB Metal (bypassing Privilege and Regalia Gold).
- The criteria for DCB Metal might be different from DCB PVC. As there is change in annual spends waiver criteria from 5 to 8 lacs compared to DCB PVC, there might be change in spends in last 6 months and minimum CL criteria for upgradation.
- Number of upgrades they can do in a month. April/May might be a lower number target for them.
I would take another attempt of applying for upgradation to DCB in a couple of days. But not escalate. Don’t want to become an irritating customer for them. This time going to fill the Chennai wala form alongwith supporting documents and share with customer services on email to take action.
Will update soon.