Issue Resolved Mobikwik failed UPI txn not reversed - RBI Ombudsman - Query

The highlighted issue has been resolved by the bank/financial institution.

Sriim

Update - The beneficiary (AC technician) came to my house. He gave me his mobile and i installed and activated mobile banking on his phone. Downloaded the statement and the amount was credited just like @VISHESH_BANSAL had told, under a different name. I showed him the reference number of my txn in his statement and he agreed to send it back to me.

Story - Made a UPI txn of Rs 1400 from Mobikwik wallet to another person (AC service technician) on October 7. Payment was pending. Later when i checked status of the transaction under help and support section, it showed that payment was unsuccessful and refund will be processed in 2 working days. So i went ahead and paid using different method. When refund didn't arrive, i raised a ticket for which the response from support team was 'Payment was successful from our end, kindly share bank statement of beneficiary to proceed further'. I then escalated this over Twitter, they were asking for bank statement again in DM, but later they committed that they raised chargeback and to wait for 15 working days. But there was no refund after 15 working days (November 7). Now again, they're back to asking bank statement. So escalated to grievance mail and then to nodal officer (Nov 12) of Mobikwik, they're also asking for beneficiary bank statement.

Till date, the transaction is shown as pending in the app and as unsuccessful if I check the status under help and support section. But all levels of support are claiming that transaction was successful and are asking for beneficiary bank statement.

Out of desperation, i reached out to the beneficiary and requested his bank statement (i know he's not obliged to share, nor is any of this his fault). He was willing to help, but doesn't use internet/mobile banking and shared screenshots of Gpay transaction list showing that he didn't receive the amount. Now he's stopped responding to my texts/calls (I don't blame him)

I'm extremely frustrated and ready to escalate this to RBI Ombudsman

Queries -

1. It's been more than 30 days since the first ticket I raised on Mobiwkik app help and support section, can i file the RBIO complaint now? Or do i need to wait for 30 days from the complaint mail to highest level of support (it's the nodal officer in this case - mailed on November 12)?
2. How much should I demand as compensation? 10k? For delay in refund and mental anguish

@VISHESH_BANSAL @Tejo @sjmajumder

File a complaint stating that, as per RBI guidelines (RBI/2019-20/67 DPSS.CO.PD No.629/02.01.014/2019-20, dated September 20, 2019), you are entitled to compensation of ₹100 per day if the refund is not processed within five days of the transaction. Additionally, request compensation for the delay caused.

Solution New
Out of desperation, i reached out to the beneficiary and requested his bank statement (i know he's not obliged to share, nor is any of this his fault). He was willing to help, but doesn't use internet/mobile banking and shared screenshots of Gpay transaction list showing that he didn't receive the amount. Now he's stopped responding to my texts/calls (I don't blame him)
Since it is not a Real Time Successful Txn, It may not appear in Receiver UPI App Txn history

Bank Credit the Receiver Account after Reconciliation. Happend with me even while doing self transfers and narration for Such Delayed Credit is different from usual UPI Txn Narration.

That is Why Mobikwik is asking Bank Statment.

Before raising RBI Compalint ensure there is no Corresponding Credit entry in Receiver's Account.

Or Raise a Cyber Complaint, if he is not willing to share Account Statment/Passbook Snapshot.

Mobikwik may be at Fault too but who Knows Receiver do not want to return the Amount.

Since it is not a Real Time Successful Txn, It may not appear in Receiver UPI App Txn history

Bank Credit the Receiver Account after Reconciliation. Happend with me even while doing self transfers and narration for Such Delayed Credit is different from usual UPI Txn Narration.

That is Why Mobikwik is asking Bank Statment.

Before raising RBI Compalint ensure there is no Corresponding Credit entry in Receiver's Account.

Or Raise a Cyber Complaint, if he is not willing to share Account Statment/Passbook Snapshot.

Mobikwik may be at Fault too but who Knows Receiver do not want to return the Amount.
Thank you so much. Will check bank statement before raising complaint

Story - Made a UPI txn of Rs 1400 from Mobikwik wallet to another person (AC service technician) on October 7. Payment was pending. Later when i checked status of the transaction under help and support section, it showed that payment was unsuccessful and refund will be processed in 2 working days. So i went ahead and paid using different method. When refund didn't arrive, i raised a ticket for which the response from support team was 'Payment was successful from our end, kindly share bank statement of beneficiary to proceed further'. I then escalated this over Twitter, they were asking for bank statement again in DM, but later they committed that they raised chargeback and to wait for 15 working days. But there was no refund after 15 working days (November 7). Now again, they're back to asking bank statement. So escalated to grievance mail and then to nodal officer (Nov 12) of Mobikwik, they're also asking for beneficiary bank statement.

Till date, the transaction is shown as pending in the app and as unsuccessful if I check the status under help and support section. But all levels of support are claiming that transaction was successful and are asking for beneficiary bank statement.

I'm extremely frustrated and ready to escalate this to RBI Ombudsman

Queries -

1. It's been more than 30 days since the first ticket I raised on Mobiwkik app help and support section, can i file the RBIO complaint now? Or do i need to wait for 30 days from the complaint mail to highest level of support (it's the nodal officer in this case - mailed on November 12)?
2. How much should I demand as compensation? 10k? For delay in refund and mental anguish

@VISHESH_BANSAL @Tejo @sjmajumder
I believe I speak for many when I say this, Mobikwik has a notorious history of failed transactions. Their app claims a failed transaction, later after 1 or 2 hours, the beneficiary receives the amount and the status changes to Successful in the app. This is a dark pattern which is observed very frequently with Mobikwik.

Hence, I decided to refrain myself from using their service long ago just because of this two-sided behaviour.

Also, their Nodal support *sucks*. I can't think of less invasive words to describe them.

I believe I speak for many when I say this, Mobikwik has a notorious history of failed transactions. Their app claims a failed transaction, later after 1 or 2 hours, the beneficiary receives the amount and the status changes to Successful in the app. This is a dark pattern which is observed very frequently with Mobikwik.
Personally, I've had a good experience so far. I've been using for 6 months and this is the first time I've faced this issue

I can suggest you two better alternatives which I have personally used:
1. AmazonPay Wallet
2. PhonePe Wallet

1 major con I found with Amazon Pay is the unavailability of a downloadable pdf, whereas, PhonePe gives an option to download statements for transactions done using both Gift Cards & Wallet balance. This was more inclined to my preference.

Update - Got a call from Mobikwik support now. It went like this

"Calling from social media team, we had asked for beneficiary bank statement in our last communication. And we also saw your post on Technofino (wait, what?!). If you don't mind, can you please take the post down?"

I said I've updated the post as issue resolved and that the posts on this website are for awareness purposes. People learn from others experiences and hence I won't be able to take it down

Damn I never thought Technofino would become a level of grievance redressal 😱

@SSV @HumorSimpson @vaibhav111 @BVC @TechnoFino @Pavan @Wealth is my birth right! @VISHESH_BANSAL

"Calling from social media team, we had asked for beneficiary bank statement in our last communication. And we also saw your post on Technofino (wait, what?!). If you don't mind, can you please take the post down?"

I said I've updated the post as issue resolved and that the posts on this website are for awareness purposes. People learn from others experiences and hence I won't be able to take it down

@SSV @HumorSimpson @vaibhav111 @BVC @TechnoFino @Pavan @Wealth is my birth right! @VISHESH_BANSAL
Omg wtf 😳

@Bugs Bunny give legal services in this forum. Excellent opportunity to make money.
Bugs Bunny Money GIF by Looney Tunes

Inka bas chale toh ye jaman kundali maang le 🤣

Receiver is supposed to share the bank statement, for Mobikiwik's fault? Why are they not sure and not sharing proof by coordinating with the beneficiary’s bank

Are all receiver known to Sender? Do they possess contact details? 🤣

IDFC wale bhi hain bro aur bhi banks & platforms ke kuch staff hain 🤣

Ayesa kiya hi kyu? Abhi sharam/laaz/ reputation pe aagya? Post nahi kiya rehta toh kaan mein tel daalke soya rehta?

By the way, aapka issue resolved nahi huwa bas call ke basis pe resolved mark kar diye?

Good to see banks are considering feedback from TF.

Neither Sender nor Receiver is supposed to share the bank statement, for Mobikiwik's fault? Why are they not sure and not sharing proof by coordinating with the beneficiary’s bank

Ayesa kiya hi kyu? Abhi sharam/laaz/ reputation pe aagya? Post nahi kiya rehta toh kaan mein tel daalke soya rehta?

By the way, aapka issue resolved nahi huwa bas call ke basis pe resolved mark kar diye?
Now you will also receive their call 📞

Neither Sender nor Receiver is supposed to share the bank statement, for Mobikiwik's fault? Why are they not sure and not sharing proof by coordinating with the beneficiary’s bank

The beneficiary came to my home and personally checked his bank statement and showed him that he has received the amount.

He was a good person, so he came. He wasn't using mobile banking and the transaction didn't show in his UPI app (gpay).

He agreed to send the amount back

The beneficiary came to my home and personally checked his bank statement and showed him that he has received the amount.

He was a good person, so he came. He wasn't using mobile banking and the transaction didn't show in his UPI app (gpay).

He agreed to send the amount back

Good for you 😊

Actually the thing is these apps some time takes time longer than expected and sometimes show unsuccessful or something and then later txn gets posted as credited.

What was the reply over this?
"Now he's stopped responding to my texts/calls (I don't blame him)"

Suppose a situation when one don't know the receiver personally especially in case of P2M txn?😐

Mobikiwik's be like: Send Merchant's Bank Statement, then only we can help. 🤣