No cost EMI on SBI credit card

emiya007

Hi. I know that on HDFC, ICICI and some other credit cards you can cancel the no cost EMI and save on interest payments without paying foreclosure charges.
SBI charges 3% foreclosure charges if you close the EMI later.
However, I read in another thread here that you can cancel the EMI by paying the full amount and so will not be charged the foreclosure charges. Could somebody guide me how to do so?

Iam willing to purchase a laptop from Amazon and want to get extra discount through no cost emi cancellation. Unlike smooth experience with other banks, Seen somewhere that sbi is charging 3% for converting no cost emi to full pay. Can anyone please help me with the exact process that i could get discount with no charges or very minimal charges?

Hi Team,

those who tried SBI no cost emi trick can you pls confirm do only these entries show up in your transactions or more.
View attachment 78609
Principal credit adjustment is not related to EMI, some times it will come without EMI transaction, some time random number.
I have just received text today 👇
"Dear SBI Cardholder, we regret to inform you that your MERCHANT EMI conversion request opted at the time of purchase at FlipkartPayments for trxn of Rs. 25558 done on 20-DEC-24 has not been converted for the following reason: Insufficient Retail Outstanding Balance. For more information, kindly call our helpline at 18601801290 or 39020202 (prefix local STD code)."

Principal credit adjustment is not related to EMI, some times it will come without EMI transaction, some time random number.
"Dear SBI Cardholder, we regret to inform you that your MERCHANT EMI conversion request opted at the time of purchase at FlipkartPayments for trxn of Rs. 25558 done on 20-DEC-24 has not been converted for the following reason: Insufficient Retail Outstanding Balance. For more information, kindly call our helpline at 18601801290 or 39020202 (prefix local STD code)."
After how many days since the NCEMI transaction did you receive this message?

Did you make outstanding balance negative or zero?

@Anupama_Jha check attachment. I did 25558 Rs EMI transaction but Principal credit/debit adjustment transaction is not showing in my statement.
Today I got EMI failure confirmation.

• IMG-20241228-WA0009.webp
    IMG-20241228-WA0009.webp
    42.6 KB · Views: 10