Now that I am on the verge of....

RAMESH BABU N

Now that I am on the verge of 65, I am out of the race applying for new CCs.

Been using CCs from 1985. Got all types of CCs (credit n charge n pre-paid) - on all platforms - and from almost all major banks (except HDFC n AU) to whom I had applied.

Surrendered 42 cards, till now. I rarely used to hold a card beyond 2-3 years and except for 4 cards closed them all before their validity month.

Currently holding 20 cards - out of which a few will be closed by Mar26. I might hold 7-8 cards - as long as they are useful n banks continue to renew them.

I have seen all the developments in this area - right from manually written physical charge slips to Virtual n one time use CCs.

From no Internet Banking, no mobile banking, no Apps, no OTPs, no UPI, no CIBIL, no...., no.... days to this day, I have seen n experienced all. From 2-3 months purely manual to almost fully-algo-based online Instant application-to-processing-to-approval-to-activation-to-usage. I have seen them all.

Finally, all those banks may feel some respite in seeing me retire from this active (to hyper active) role of dabbling in DCs/CCs.

One last word. I shall continue to be on the lookout for offers from a few banks, which continue to accept applications from 65+. Aadat sae majboor hai....

I will continue my association with TF.

Ramesh

Been using CCs from 1985. Got all types of CCs (credit n charge n pre-paid) - on all platforms - and from almost all major banks (except HDFC n AU) to whom I had applied.

Surrendered 42 cards, till now. I rarely used to hold a card beyond 2-3 years and except for 4 cards closed them all before their validity month.

Currently holding 20 cards - out of which a few will be closed by Mar26. I might hold 7-8 cards - as long as they are useful n banks continue to renew them.

I have seen all the developments in this area - right from manually written physical charge slips to Virtual n one time use CCs.

From no Internet Banking, no mobile banking, no Apps, no OTPs, no UPI, no CIBIL, no...., no.... days to this day, I have seen n experienced all. From 2-3 months purely manual to almost fully-algo-based online Instant application-to-processing-to-approval-to-activation-to-usage. I have seen them all.

Finally, all those banks may feel some respite in seeing me retire from this active (to hyper active) role of dabbling in DCs/CCs.

One last word. I shall continue to be on the lookout for offers from a few banks, which continue to accept applications from 65+. Aadat sae majboor hai....

Ramesh
So banks will close all your card once you turn 65?

Ramesh
Wonderful experience Sir.. Thanks for Sharing 🙏
If possible, Could you share/name of your surrendered card list.

Ramesh
Scary thread title, sir. It scared me.

I think untill bank renew the cc it will be active.
ToDo : Apply CC on 64 years to have CC till @6ix9ine years
scared season 4 GIF

Ramesh
🙏🏻
We all know one important line: "journey is more important than destination". Yours is prolific. I hope Banks one day comes to their conscience and accepts 'age is just a number', since in Banks case it would be practical, and they will start issuing cards as long person is alive.

On the other hand, think about it: banks decline after 65 based on the fact that a person is more vulnerable to death )in addition to other factors) in comparison to young ones, but are we? Anyone can die anytime, anywhere, anyhow, irrespective of any discrimination. Remember, YAMRAJ is the true epitome of non-partiality.
🙏🏻

Wisdom of CCs New
No regrets. Never complained to RBIO seeking any compensation. However, brought to RBI's notice a couple of wrong doings by banks (HDFC and HSBC).

Never paid even Re. 1/- as penalty for late payments.

Never opted for EMIs.

Never shared my CCs with any others. (except wife n two sons - via add-on CCs).

Never looked upto the CIBIL/... scores or ever worried about them.

Never used my CCs for any manufactured spending or circulation.

Never spent on CCs driven by offers or sales promotion targets.

Never regretted NOT taking some specific CCs.

Never had any major hiccup or problem with any bank.

Never lost any money due to any trxn going bad or due to disputes.

Never used CCs ONLY because of any rewards/ponts/cashback/....

No regrets. Never complained to RBIO seeking any compensation. However, brought to RBI's notice a couple of wrong doings by banks (HDFC and HSBC).

Never paid even Re. 1/- as penalty for late payments.

Never opted for EMIs.

Never shared my CCs with any others. (except wife n two sons - via add-on CCs).

Never looked upto the CIBIL/... scores or ever worried about them.

Never used my CCs for any manufactured spending or circulation.

Never spent on CCs driven by offers or sales promotion targets.

Never regretted NOT taking some specific CCs.

Never had any major hiccup or problem with any bank.

Never lost any money due to any trxn going bad or due to disputes.

Never used CCs ONLY because of any rewards/ponts/cashback/....

Great @RAMESH BABU N sir!!!

Mostly, I too follow the same.

Using credit cards since 2012. Having 30 credit cards. All are Life time Free cards.

Always pay Full amount before the due date, No EMI, No late payment.

Great thread sir. My father also started using credit cards from early 2000s and I remember getting those monthly envelopes from banks containing the CC statement/bill and him maintaining a seprate diary for noting down all the transcations. We have indeed come a long way from those manual days to present app/mobile-based days. Could u tell which 2-3 CCs have been ur most memorable/favourite ones in these 40yrs of using CCs?