This is not Bank's website. This is Amazon's screen 😃Yesterday i did a purchase on AMAZON and the OTP page is like this
View attachment 33708
Looks like AMAZON is the BOSS here. Not HDFC & VISA.
Like before a SMS OTP with no amount.
IMHO this is a serious FLAW.
It lead to SCAMS.
I think its high time we should all report this to the bank
Didn't notice(bank page) it until you pointed out. My bad...losing FOCUS @ 45 age itself. 😉What flaw dude? Lamao
There is nothing flaw in this.
You always have option to enter OTP on bank page (see below).
There is no flaw or glitch, its just the way its designed by Amazon.Yesterday i did a purchase on AMAZON and the OTP page is like this
View attachment 33708
It lead to SCAMS.
Two things to think about here -There is no flaw or glitch, its just the way its designed by Amazon.
If you carefully observe, in the bottom of the page there is "Complete the txn. on your bank's website..." link. If you click this link, you'll be redirected to bank site and you'll receive a new OTP with amount this time.
So, if someone wants to more sure, can try this option!!
I had taken up this issue with ICICI bank on Twitter last year. But I received responses from bots asking template questions like "Share the screenshot of error msg" / "In case of fraud pl reach out to our helpline no." etc !!Two things to think about here -
1. last I checked rbi guidelines require these sms to have amount and I'd etc. Toh logically yahan bhi hona chahiye
2. Amazon / third party payment aggregators may be responsible for the OTP input page, however thinking like a security expert the OTP triggering and verification is still done by the bank via their api's toh in the end OTP ka template bank ke paas hona chahiye(actually @rajcasio kis naam se aata hai OTP which doesn't have amount etc). Now why they don't send the same template for all otps woh unki maaya but yeh OTP without amount & id is a genuine problem as rightly raised by the OP.
I'm sure yeh update karna reh gaya inse, if this information is sent to the right folks at the bank (who knows how to reach them) they will fix it immediately.
Flaw is getting OTPs sms without amount, and sometimes payment page doesn't show amount.
Hmm. I still don't get OTP with amount in NSDL bank.It isn't exactly a scam but @rajcasio isn't wrong fully, I think this might be a reason for getting OTP without the amount, they most likely have different OTP templates for the one coming from banks own website vs vendors one.
This is why I asked before in this thread which page he entered the OTP on.
Not sure if it's a scam might be they forgot to update this template.
This is called ON-US transaction.Yesterday i did a purchase on AMAZON and the OTP page is like this
View attachment 33708
It lead to SCAMS.
i checked for kotak .. for me Amount is Shown and same for HDFC too..Whenever i purchase using AMAZON/FLIPKART using my CC i'm not getting the transaction amount in OTP sms.
View attachment 33536
I find it as a serious threat/flaw on the bank side.
Anyone noticed it.
Based on my usage both HDFC & KOTAK has this issue.
Ah I did not know this, thanks for sharing.This is called ON-US transaction.
Here HDFC bank is the acquirer and issuer. So, HDFC bank bypass visa card network gateway and save few % MDR fees.
when you click on "Complete the txn. on your bank's website..." link, your transaction will complete through Visa/master/RuPay card network and this is called OFF-US transaction.
matlab bank ko choona lagakar manoge 🤣Ah I did not know this, thanks for sharing.
Now I will always select complete on bank page 😈
yes always do itAh I did not know this, thanks for sharing.
Now I will always select complete on bank page 😈
This is called ON-US transaction.
Here HDFC bank is the acquirer and issuer. So, HDFC bank bypass visa card network gateway and save few % MDR fees.
when you click on "Complete the txn. on your bank's website..." link, your transaction will complete through Visa/master/RuPay card network and this is called OFF-US transaction.
Yeh mera 2017 ka post dekh kar mujhe Arindam ka youtube video sab yaad aa gaya, woh youtube k apne videos me aise cut kut karta raheta hai. 🤣🤣abhishek bhai ka hi message 2017 ka mil gaya for those who want to read![]()
On-US vs Off-US transactions (How to bypass Visa/Mastercard payment gateway and save our country's foreign reserve) | DesiDime
On-US vs Off-US transactions (How to bypass Visa/Mastercard payment gateway and save our country's foreign reserve) at Others. -- Created at 17/02/2021, 25 Replies - Finance -- India's Fastest growing Online Shopping Community to find Hottest deals, Coupon codes and Freebies.www.desidime.com
The moment we realise, we're getting old 😢.Yeh mera 2017 ka post dekh kar mujhe Arindam ka youtube video sab yaad aa gaya, woh youtube k apne videos me aise cut kut karta raheta hai. 🤣🤣
Just got my ICICI Coral RuPay credit card. And it's the first thing I noticed: ICICI has still not added support for merchant name and amount on their RuPay cards' second-factor authentication page. Worse, their OTP SMS mentions neither of them, too.Almost all major banks now added transaction amount and merchant name on the otp page/sms
Only Kotak, Yes bank and ICICI RuPay card is not added. Yesterday i will complaint on Twitter to RuPay support team. You guys must also complaint.
Approx 8 months ago we complaint about transaction amount and merchant name is not showing on all RuPay cards. Everyone retweet and complaint on twitter and they added this feature within a few months to almost all major banks.
last month we complaint about RuPay EMI not supported on Amazon and RuPay team added this feature.
by the way some payment gateway also remove transaction amount and merchant name for Kotak bank Visa cards. 🤣🤣
RuPay is improving their service and Visa is downgrading their service. 🤣🤣
View attachment 33611
Ya, i already complaint but you guys also need to complain.Just got my ICICI Coral RuPay credit card. And it's the first thing I noticed: ICICI has still not added support for merchant name and amount on their RuPay cards' second-factor authentication page. Worse, their OTP SMS mentions neither of them, too.
View attachment 38372
View attachment 38373
Also, I've noticed that in the current statement (after the transaction is settled) it displays only the merchant name there without the location. For example, "RetailRetail" instead of "Reliance Retail, Kolkata, IN." It doesn't matter much for online transactions though.
Pata hai, bhai. My comment was about showing the location of the merchant in the statement. ICICI doesn't show it for their RuPay cards.Merchant name is decide by merchant. They also have multiple merchant names register with payment gateway companies or acquirer banks.
Just got my ICICI Coral RuPay credit card. And it's the first thing I noticed: ICICI has still not added support for merchant name and amount on their RuPay cards' second-factor authentication page. Worse, their OTP SMS mentions neither of them, too.
View attachment 38372
View attachment 38373
Also, I've noticed that in the current statement (after the transaction is settled) it displays only the merchant name there without the location. For example, "RetailRetail" instead of "Reliance Retail, Kolkata, IN." It doesn't matter much for online transactions though.