Priority Pass Fraud! False Charges By Priority Pass

Joel Johnson

Hello Technofino community, this is my first post. I wish it could've been on better circumstances.

My problem begins in October 2024. I had to visit Bali (Indonesia) for my work for 2 weeks. I had to travel from Kochi (Kerala), via Kuala Lumpur, to Bali.

I had an SBI Prime card which gave me access to Priority Pass, so I was excited to use it for the first time. This card gave me

4 complimentary visits per calendar year to International Priority Pass Lounges, outside India (max. 2 visits per quarter)
8 complimentary visits per calendar year to Domestic Lounges in India (max. 2 visits per quarter)

So, on the 14h of October, I started from Kochi, entered the Earth Lounge with my SBI Prime. Then, the next day, I reached Kuala Lumpur for my transit and entered the Travel Club Lounge with my Priority Pass. Then went to Bali

On the 30th, I returned from Bali and reached the Kuala Lumpur Travel Club Lounge once again. Then came back to Kochi and did not enter any lounge in India that day. Just went home.

In January, when I checked my SBI Prime card statement, I was surprised to see a charge of almost Rs 2700. So, I contacted SBI Cards and they said I used Priority Pass in India on the 30th (the day I came back), which shouldn't be done.

I said, there was no way I entered the lounge in India on the 30th. The flight landed at 11 PM and I was so tired from the journey, I just wanted to go home and sleep.

Then they sent me the exact statement they got from Priority Pass:

Country-India/Lounge-Travel Club Lounge/Visit Date-20241030/Guest-0/Total Visits-1/Reverse-0

Country-Malaysia/Lounge-Travel Club Lounge/Visit Date-20241015/Guest-0/Total Visits-1/Reverse-1

At this point, even I was starting to doubt myself. "Did I even go to that lounge that day?" even though that made no sense.

But on looking again, I found the problem. Both entries say "Travel Club Lounge" . That's the name of the lounge I went in Malaysia. However, there is no lounge in Kochi airport which is called "Travel Club Lounge". The one in Kochi is called "Earth Lounge"

On checking further, the closest Travel Club Lounge (which is operated by a company called TFS) is in Chennai. And my itinerary proves that I couldn't have been in Chennai that day.

Also, it shows that I visited the Kuala Lumpur lounge only once which is not true. I visited it twice (both to and fro on 15th and 30th). So here is what happened. My second lounge entry on the 30th at Kuala Lumpur was wrongly marked in their system as an entry in India. Its a computer error.

So I emailed SBI again, then they called me today. I explained everything to them. They believed me but they said they cannot do anything. Priority Pass just gives them these details and they have no control on charges. They asked me to contact Priority Pass directly.

When I checked, there weren't any customer support in India. There are only a couple of international numbers on their website. Now I have to recharge an international pack just to contact them.

Look, I wouldn't mind spending 2 or 3k. I'm not someone who complains about bank charges, but when you carefully spend time meticulously reading all their terms and conditions and then plan your journey accordingly to avoid any charges, and in the end you still get charged anyway feels like extortion. I'm not going to pay for a system error. This was my first experience with Priority Pass and I'm dissapointed to say the least.

Does anyone have any advice for me?

Hello Technofino community, this is my first post. I wish it could've been on better circumstances.

My problem begins in October 2024. I had to visit Bali (Indonesia) for my work for 2 weeks. I had to travel from Kochi (Kerala), via Kuala Lumpur, to Bali.

I had an SBI Prime card which gave me access to Priority Pass, so I was excited to use it for the first time. This card gave me

4 complimentary visits per calendar year to International Priority Pass Lounges, outside India (max. 2 visits per quarter)
8 complimentary visits per calendar year to Domestic Lounges in India (max. 2 visits per quarter)

So, on the 14h of October, I started from Kochi, entered the Earth Lounge with my SBI Prime. Then, the next day, I reached Kuala Lumpur for my transit and entered the Travel Club Lounge with my Priority Pass. Then went to Bali

On the 30th, I returned from Bali and reached the Kuala Lumpur Travel Club Lounge once again. Then came back to Kochi and did not enter any lounge in India that day. Just went home.

In January, when I checked my SBI Prime card statement, I was surprised to see a charge of almost Rs 2700. So, I contacted SBI Cards and they said I used Priority Pass in India on the 30th (the day I came back), which shouldn't be done.

I said, there was no way I entered the lounge in India on the 30th. The flight landed at 11 PM and I was so tired from the journey, I just wanted to go home and sleep.

Country-India/Lounge-Travel Club Lounge/Visit Date-20241030/Guest-0/Total Visits-1/Reverse-0

Country-Malaysia/Lounge-Travel Club Lounge/Visit Date-20241015/Guest-0/Total Visits-1/Reverse-1

At this point, even I was starting to doubt myself. "Did I even go to that lounge that day?" even though that made no sense.

But on looking again, I found the problem. Both entries say "Travel Club Lounge" . That's the name of the lounge I went in Malaysia. However, there is no lounge in Kochi airport which is called "Travel Club Lounge". The one in Kochi is called "Earth Lounge"

On checking further, the closest Travel Club Lounge (which is operated by a company called TFS) is in Chennai. And my itinerary proves that I couldn't have been in Chennai that day.

Also, it shows that I visited the Kuala Lumpur lounge only once which is not true. I visited it twice (both to and fro on 15th and 30th). So here is what happened. My second lounge entry on the 30th at Kuala Lumpur was wrongly marked in their system as an entry in India. Its a computer error.

So I emailed SBI again, then they called me today. I explained everything to them. They believed me but they said they cannot do anything. Priority Pass just gives them these details and they have no control on charges. They asked me to contact Priority Pass directly.

When I checked, there weren't any customer support in India. There are only a couple of international numbers on their website. Now I have to recharge an international pack just to contact them.

Look, I wouldn't mind spending 2 or 3k. I'm not someone who complains about bank charges, but when you carefully spend time meticulously reading all their terms and conditions and then plan your journey accordingly to avoid any charges, and in the end you still get charged anyway feels like extortion. I'm not going to pay for a system error. This was my first experience with Priority Pass and I'm dissapointed to say the least.

Does anyone have any advice for me?
Priority pass used for outside not india, it was specifically mentioned. you used in india so they charged. Even in sbi website mentioned it, priority pass for outside india only.

he used both times in Malaysia as per him.. and even in the same lounge not even a different lounge so how is it possible once he got free access and other time he was charged ?

Its priority pass statment, already mentioned it.
as per this maybe he must have used arrival lounge then only possible this .. but he says he used it in Malaysia

but again his destination was kerela i guess and i doubt there is an arrival lounge there in kerela

he used both times in Malaysia as per him.. and even in the same lounge not even a different lounge so how is it possible once he got free access and other time he was charged ?

So, you want to say that Priority Pass can not make mistakes? 🤔
Read the whole post carefully.
YES Not possible,he scanned priority pass in lounge.
Priority pass and credit card work differntly.Thats why charges in priority pass will apply on next quarter.
If he used credit card than 2 rs credit/debit in next month credit card bill statment.

YES Not possible,he scanned priority pass in lounge.
Priority pass and credit card work differntly.Thats why charges in priority pass will apply on next quarter.
If he used credit card than 2 rs credit/debit in next month credit card bill statment.
😂😂
Sorry bro, I guess you aren't following the thread and just making your own assumptions. Can't help you.

😂😂
Sorry bro, I guess you aren't following the thread and just making your own assumptions. Can't help you.
I was following the thread. Every POS has different code, you cant use one POS at different location(india/bali). Without scan at POS it was impossible to make entry in register. Even after scanning Priority pass at lounge, person has to sign in receipt voucher. If he had not used priority pass in india, he mail voucher receipt of Kochi lounge.
In this case, high likely person does not known how to use priority pass.

If you have the PP slips, you can just attach them (along with your tickets) as proof that you did not visit the lounge and/or airport on that day.

Important Information New
I was following the thread. Every POS has different code, you cant use one POS at different location(india/bali). Without scan at POS it was impossible to make entry in register. Even after scanning Priority pass at lounge, person has to sign in receipt voucher. If he had not used priority pass in india, he mail voucher receipt of Kochi lounge.
In this case, high likely person does not known how to use priority pass.
Still not getting the points OP making?

A lounge which is not even there at India airport, how can PP card be used/scanned at POS of such lounge? Like New Delhi has Encalm lounge but if prioirty pass shows statement that you swiped at XYZ lounge at New Delhi and in reality XYZ lounge itself dont exist then he should pay for it? If it shows Encalm then believable.

IT systems do make mockery of things sometimes. Like I swiped my ICICI card at Dubai and that txn was put in domestic txns by ICICI and it didn't even charged the forex charge of 3.5%+GST while SMS said 430 AED. As I was gaining I didn't report it to bank but if Indian txn had perceived as International then I would have fought for it.

There are many companies in India where you can get charged forex charges because Terminal ID and POS code is of different country. So maybe you never came out of woods and in reality many things beyond your understanding are running.

In US there are some hotel who are allowing you to pay in Rupee these days and you don't get charged forex charges on that after swiping your card.

Still not getting the points OP making?

A lounge which is not even there at India airport, how can PP card be used/scanned at POS of such lounge? Like New Delhi has Enclam lounge but if prioirty pass shows statement that you swiped at XYZ lounge at New Delhi and in reality XYZ launge itself dont exist then he should pay for it.

IT systems do make mockery of things sometimes. Like I swiped my ICICI card at Dubai and that txn was put in domestic txns by ICICI and it didn't even charged the forex charge of 3.5%+GST while SMS said 430 AED. As I was gaining I didn't report it to bank but if Indian txn had perceived as International then I would have fought for it.

There are many companies in India where you can get charged forex charges because Terminal ID and POS code is of different country. So maybe you never came out of woods and in reality many things beyond your understanding are running.

In US there are some hotel who are allowing you to pay in Rupee these days and you don't get charged forex charges on that after swiping your card.
Chalo international spends me bhi Sbi Rewardz 10x campaign laga dete he viru bhai🌚

Thank you for your kind comments, everyone. For those still supporting Priority Pass, here is my exact itinerary attached as a PDF. Also a screenshot of it which shows my flight landed in Oct 30 at 10:40 PM, which means I wouldn't have time to fly to any other airport with a Travel Club Lounge. Also, another screenshot of a google search to show you that there are no lounges in Kochi airport called "Travel Club Lounge".

EDIT: Someone suggested here to show the slip they gave me at Kuala Lumpur lounge but I thought I had already thrown it away because its been 3 months. But just as I was typing this, I thought I'll check my bag and lo and behold I found the slip. The ink has faded since it has been so long, but it is somewhat readable. You can clearly see that it says Kuala Lumpur airport on October 30th (i dont know if the image will be compressed for you guys, but its readable on my end). I will use this and talk to priority pass. Thanks everyone

• Itinerary (1).pdf
    Itinerary (1).pdf
    133.5 KB · Views: 4
  • Screenshot 2025-02-04 164120.webp
    Screenshot 2025-02-04 164120.webp
    25.8 KB · Views: 12
  • Priority Pass.webp
    Priority Pass.webp
    106.5 KB · Views: 12
  • Screenshot 2025-02-04 164340.webp
    Screenshot 2025-02-04 164340.webp