Have Read Lot of reviews and for the first time, posting one from My side on my recent Europe (PARIS/SWITZERLAND) Trip
Journey Begins in Baroda
My journey started in Baroda, where I booked an airport transfer using Magnus. The flight was with Air India, taking me from BDQ to DEL and then to CDG. I had booked Meet & Greet (M&G) services for the transfer from domestic to international flight at Delhi, and Encalm's service was impressively smooth. Thanks to having one ticket in business class, immigration was faster.
Check-in Experience at Delhi
At the check-in counter, I encountered some issues with the Air India staff, who were not very accommodatingpossibly due to my redemption ticket. Nevertheless, I proceeded to the Encalm Lounge, where I also took advantage of a complimentary spa treatment courtesy of my ICICI Sapphiro Credit Card. I opted for a foot spa, which was incredibly relaxing.
Lounge Experience
The Encalm Lounge was nearly full, but the food was exceptional. The lounge provided a comfortable and enjoyable pre-flight experience.
Business Class Flight Experience
This was my first time traveling in business class, and the seat was very comfortable. However, the TV remote had intermittent issues, and the charging socket was non-functional. Despite these minor inconveniences, the rest of the experience was excellent. The food was surprisingly good, especially considering I had requested Jain meals.
The pilot even announced when we were flying over the Himalayas, allowing us to enjoy breathtaking views. Although the flight departed late, we arrived at Paris Airport almost an hour earlier than scheduled.
Overall, despite a few hiccups, my flight and lounge experience was quite positive.
Now Comes to Hotel Reviews
Paris, France
· Novotel Paris Vaugirard Montparnasse
· Novotel Brussels Centre Midi
· Apart Hotel Adagio Access Freiburg
· Movenpick Zurich City
· Royal St Georges Interlaken Mgallery
· Novotel Bern Expo
· Novotel Paris Centre Bercy
Return Journey to India
Paris Check-in Experience
The check-in experience at Paris was excellent, featuring faster immigration and a separate security line for business class customers. My AMEX card's concierge suggested visiting the Lufthansa Business Lounge for free access with Priority Pass, but it was closed. Fortunately, we tried our luck at the Star Alliance Business Class Lounge, and despite only one of us having a business class boarding pass, the staff kindly allowed both
Lounge Experience
The Star Alliance Business Class Lounge was impressive, offering a nice view, comfortable seating, and a variety of food options The lounge also had shower facilities and ample seating space. Unlike Delhi, there were very few travelers, making for a relaxing atmosphere.
Flight Experience
For the return flight, I traveled in economy while my wife enjoyed business class. Economy was comfortable, though the food was not as good as on the outbound flight.
Arrival in Delhi
Upon arrival in Delhi, we had booked M&G services again, thanks to Axis. We had an evening domestic flight, but had to recheck our baggage. The arrival lounge only accepted Diners and Priority Pass cards. We used one Diners and one Priority Pass, though the latter will likely incur a charge due to domestic use. The lounge was average, providing a decent place to spend two hours waiting.
Departure from Delhi
For our departure, we used M&G services again, which provided faster security and a buggy ride straight to the Encalm Business Class Lounge. Entry was based on our boarding passes. I took advantage of the free spa, opting for a head massage this time. There was a wait, and while the massage was good, it wasn't great. The Encalm Business Class Lounge seemed to have the same food offerings as before but with separate seating. The food was once again excellent.
I also visited the much-talked-about Centurion Lounge. It was small and crowded, with only one or two spaces available. Although the food was good, I personally preferred the Encalm Lounge.
Final Flight
The flight was delayed by two hours, and boarding began even before the plane was ready. The cabin was quite hot initially, but the pilot explained it was due to the high ambient temperature and it cooled down once we departed.
Overall, despite a few minor issues, the return journey was pleasant and well-managed.
Comes to Expense Part
Hotel Points Used – 142000 Accor Points
Travel Redemption – 98000 Turkish miles + 21K Taxes (one Eco return + one biz return)
Visa and other local Expnse – around 35k
Food and other Expense at Europe – around 1.5 Lakh
Cards Used – Zenith+ for all POS transactions, Indus Exclusive debit card for Cash Withdrawal
Thanks for Reading
Journey Begins in Baroda
My journey started in Baroda, where I booked an airport transfer using Magnus. The flight was with Air India, taking me from BDQ to DEL and then to CDG. I had booked Meet & Greet (M&G) services for the transfer from domestic to international flight at Delhi, and Encalm's service was impressively smooth. Thanks to having one ticket in business class, immigration was faster.
Check-in Experience at Delhi
At the check-in counter, I encountered some issues with the Air India staff, who were not very accommodatingpossibly due to my redemption ticket. Nevertheless, I proceeded to the Encalm Lounge, where I also took advantage of a complimentary spa treatment courtesy of my ICICI Sapphiro Credit Card. I opted for a foot spa, which was incredibly relaxing.
Lounge Experience
The Encalm Lounge was nearly full, but the food was exceptional. The lounge provided a comfortable and enjoyable pre-flight experience.
Business Class Flight Experience
This was my first time traveling in business class, and the seat was very comfortable. However, the TV remote had intermittent issues, and the charging socket was non-functional. Despite these minor inconveniences, the rest of the experience was excellent. The food was surprisingly good, especially considering I had requested Jain meals.
The pilot even announced when we were flying over the Himalayas, allowing us to enjoy breathtaking views. Although the flight departed late, we arrived at Paris Airport almost an hour earlier than scheduled.
Overall, despite a few hiccups, my flight and lounge experience was quite positive.
Now Comes to Hotel Reviews
Paris, France
· Novotel Paris Vaugirard Montparnasse
- Room Type: Superior Suite with Eiffel Tower View
- No of Nights stayed : 2
- Review: The Eiffel Tower view from the room was absolutely breathtaking! Watching the light show right from our balcony was a highlight of our stay. The food options were excellent, and the minibar being complimentary in the suite was a nice touch. The only downside was an unexpected deduction of extra points during tax payment, amounting to around 7 euros, which was a bit confusing. Nevertheless, aside from this, everything else about our stay was exceptional.
· Novotel Brussels Centre Midi
- Room Type: Superior Room
- Review: The hotel is conveniently located next to Midi Railway Station without any disturbance from passing trains once inside the room. Our room reservation went smoothly even without breakfast. The reception staff were exceptionally kind and helpful. The only drawback was that the area where we stayed felt a bit off the beaten path; next time, we might opt for a more central location for safety reasons.
· Apart Hotel Adagio Access Freiburg
- Room Type: Family Studio
- No of Nights stayed : 1
- Review: The room was spacious and comfortable. As an apart hotel, we were aware there wouldn't be daily housekeeping, which was fine for our short one-night stay. Although the AC wasn't working, they promptly offered us an additional smaller room to ensure our comfort.
· Movenpick Zurich City
- Room Type: Superior
- Review: The room was stunning, although the hotel is a bit further from the city center, it's located in a nice area. We received a complimentary drink coupon; however, when we opted for soft drinks, the bartender seemed a bit tired and offered only a small glass, which wasn't the best in taste.
· Royal St Georges Interlaken Mgallery
- Room Type: Modern,Air Conditioned deluxe rooms with Balcony
- Review: This was the most luxurious option of our trip. The hotel provided valet parking and even escorted our luggage to the room. The breakfast options were superb, and the hotel itself was simply outstanding. After a day of exploring, the large bathtub was a perfect way to relax. The check-in and checkout processes were seamless.
· Novotel Bern Expo
- Room Type: Executive Room
- Review: The hotel has ample parking space, albeit at an additional cost. Our room was pleasant, and we were pleasantly surprised with a complimentary welcome drink. Unlike our experience in Zurich, we were served a full glass of soft drink at the bar, which made for a very relaxing evening.
· Novotel Paris Centre Bercy
- Room Type: Executive room with balcony
- Review: This hotel was somewhat disappointing initially. We were asked to pay taxes upon arrival and initially given a room without a minibar or balcony as advertised. After notifying the reception, we were promptly moved to a room with both amenities. The room itself had very bright lighting, but the balcony offered no view due to an obstruction, rendering it somewhat useless. We requested a change of floor, but were informed the hotel was fully booked. Additionally, the location seemed a bit shady.
Return Journey to India
Paris Check-in Experience
The check-in experience at Paris was excellent, featuring faster immigration and a separate security line for business class customers. My AMEX card's concierge suggested visiting the Lufthansa Business Lounge for free access with Priority Pass, but it was closed. Fortunately, we tried our luck at the Star Alliance Business Class Lounge, and despite only one of us having a business class boarding pass, the staff kindly allowed both
Lounge Experience
The Star Alliance Business Class Lounge was impressive, offering a nice view, comfortable seating, and a variety of food options The lounge also had shower facilities and ample seating space. Unlike Delhi, there were very few travelers, making for a relaxing atmosphere.
Flight Experience
For the return flight, I traveled in economy while my wife enjoyed business class. Economy was comfortable, though the food was not as good as on the outbound flight.
Arrival in Delhi
Upon arrival in Delhi, we had booked M&G services again, thanks to Axis. We had an evening domestic flight, but had to recheck our baggage. The arrival lounge only accepted Diners and Priority Pass cards. We used one Diners and one Priority Pass, though the latter will likely incur a charge due to domestic use. The lounge was average, providing a decent place to spend two hours waiting.
Departure from Delhi
For our departure, we used M&G services again, which provided faster security and a buggy ride straight to the Encalm Business Class Lounge. Entry was based on our boarding passes. I took advantage of the free spa, opting for a head massage this time. There was a wait, and while the massage was good, it wasn't great. The Encalm Business Class Lounge seemed to have the same food offerings as before but with separate seating. The food was once again excellent.
I also visited the much-talked-about Centurion Lounge. It was small and crowded, with only one or two spaces available. Although the food was good, I personally preferred the Encalm Lounge.
Final Flight
The flight was delayed by two hours, and boarding began even before the plane was ready. The cabin was quite hot initially, but the pilot explained it was due to the high ambient temperature and it cooled down once we departed.
Overall, despite a few minor issues, the return journey was pleasant and well-managed.
Comes to Expense Part
Hotel Points Used – 142000 Accor Points
Travel Redemption – 98000 Turkish miles + 21K Taxes (one Eco return + one biz return)
Visa and other local Expnse – around 35k
Food and other Expense at Europe – around 1.5 Lakh
Cards Used – Zenith+ for all POS transactions, Indus Exclusive debit card for Cash Withdrawal
Thanks for Reading