Suggestions /guidance required in false allegations by bank MD office

gunik1123

Friends need your valuable suggestions /guidance in my unique case!

I have been holding an HDFC credit card for the past five years. From March 2024 to October 2024, the bank repeatedly refused to approve a credit limit enhancement (CLE) or upgrade my credit card, despite my submission of updated income documents. Each time, the bank cited "internal parameters" or "internal policies" without providing a clear explanation for their decision.

After 7 months of repeated refusals, I escalated the matter to the MD's office, referencing RBI guidelines that require banks to provide specific reasons for rejecting CLE or card upgrade requests. The MD's office claimed that I was ineligible for CLE and Upgrade due to a payment default on my card. When I asked for evidence of this default, including the date it allegedly occurred, the office consistently refused to provide any proof. Despite follow up three times, MD office response remained unchanged.

This situation caused me five weeks of immense stress, loss of focus on my professional commitments, fear of being blacklisted from financial markets, potential credit score damage, and the prospect of higher interest rates on future loans—posing significant financial risks.

I ultimately filed a complaint with the Banking Ombudsman under the subject line: False Allegations of Default, Violation of RBI Guidelines, and Continuous Harassment. I also demanded monetary compensation for the distress caused.

Following the RBI's intervention, the bank promptly offered a CLE without requesting any additional documents. They also issued a response stating:

"There has been an error identified in our database which led to the team mentioning default on card payment in our earlier communication. We hereby extend our sincere apologies for the same. Once the Bank Database was rectified, we could offer you the revised limit enhancement.
We hereby confirm that the Bank has not shared the false default status to any Credit bureaus. Hence, please be rest assured that there has been no impact on your credibility. This was only inadvertently communicated to you. Hence, the compensation payout situation does not arise. "

I am not satisfied with HDFC's response to the Ombudsman complaint and planning to approach District Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission (DCDRC) .

Can you please guide me on what things I need to mention in the DCDRC case?

Bro...My personal experience and not binding on you to follow my inputs.

The whole system is rotten from top to bottom....I understand your pain....You will keep fighting but this fight will never end... Everyone is hand in gloves....I filed a complaint for misappropriation of funds in 2022 and it was clear case but nothing happened....I gave up for the sake of peace of mind and focus on my work....

Evaluate whether its worth fighting the case...Rest is your choice...

Friends need your valuable suggestions /guidance in my unique case!

I have been holding an HDFC credit card for the past five years. From March 2024 to October 2024, the bank repeatedly refused to approve a credit limit enhancement (CLE) or upgrade my credit card, despite my submission of updated income documents. Each time, the bank cited "internal parameters" or "internal policies" without providing a clear explanation for their decision.

After 7 months of repeated refusals, I escalated the matter to the MD's office, referencing RBI guidelines that require banks to provide specific reasons for rejecting CLE or card upgrade requests. The MD's office claimed that I was ineligible for CLE and Upgrade due to a payment default on my card. When I asked for evidence of this default, including the date it allegedly occurred, the office consistently refused to provide any proof. Despite follow up three times, MD office response remained unchanged.

This situation caused me five weeks of immense stress, loss of focus on my professional commitments, fear of being blacklisted from financial markets, potential credit score damage, and the prospect of higher interest rates on future loans—posing significant financial risks.

I ultimately filed a complaint with the Banking Ombudsman under the subject line: False Allegations of Default, Violation of RBI Guidelines, and Continuous Harassment. I also demanded monetary compensation for the distress caused.

Following the RBI's intervention, the bank promptly offered a CLE without requesting any additional documents. They also issued a response stating:

"There has been an error identified in our database which led to the team mentioning default on card payment in our earlier communication. We hereby extend our sincere apologies for the same. Once the Bank Database was rectified, we could offer you the revised limit enhancement.
We hereby confirm that the Bank has not shared the false default status to any Credit bureaus. Hence, please be rest assured that there has been no impact on your credibility. This was only inadvertently communicated to you. Hence, the compensation payout situation does not arise. "

I am not satisfied with HDFC's response to the Ombudsman complaint and planning to approach District Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission (DCDRC) .

Don't do it because you don't have a case.
You will only waste your time and energy.
Credit limit enhancement is at the sole discretion of the bank and they don't need to provide a reason to deny it.
Since they are providing you increased credit limit, be happy and relax.

If you go to consumer court they may not only close ALL your cards, but THEY CAN EVEN BAN you forever

Lulz. It will definitely backfire.

Don't waste your time on going to other channels - they make you spend more time, more money n more effort - n the issue drags on n on for a long time. Not worth the trouvle for just knowing the reason. For that any way HDFC said sorry n is willing to give you the CLE. TAKE IT N BE HAPPY.

How much CLE they gave (percentage)?

Also why are you going to DCRC, you closed the case in RBI ombudsman?

has been there cases where DCRC made banks or any other business for that matter gave compensation for distress caused?

(btw I also had credit card related case of harrasment/distress with HDFC, just didn't want to get RBI involved unless i am sure that it would benefit me - never went to ombudsman before)

How much CLE they gave (percentage)?

Also why are you going to DCRC, you closed the case in RBI ombudsman?

has been there cases where DCRC made banks or any other business for that matter gave compensation for distress caused?

(btw I also had credit card related case of harrasment/distress with HDFC, just didn't want to get RBI involved unless i am sure that it would benefit me - never went to ombudsman before)

40%.
I plan to approach DCRC as my situation is unique.

I am getting married in February and was initially planning to take a marriage loan of approximately ₹10 lakhs from HDFC(But never applied for loan).
However, after receiving repeated mails from HDFC MD office regarding payment default on credit card, I became apprehensive and decided not to proceed with the loan for obvious reasons (fear of bad credit score, rejections from other FI and higher interest rates on loan if approved). This also led me to reduce the percentage of even my contribution toward marriage expenses.
But now HDFC apologized for the wrongful mail send due to system error.
So, considering approaching DCRC, mentioning the whole scenario to them.

Don't waste your time on going to other channels - they make you spend more time, more money n more effort - n the issue drags on n on for a long time. Not worth the trouvle for just knowing the reason. For that any way HDFC said sorry n is willing to give you the CLE. TAKE IT N BE HAPPY.
Sir thanks for your suggestion.
My case is unique.

I am getting married in February and was initially planning to take a marriage loan of approximately ₹10 lakhs from HDFC(But never applied for loan).
However, after receiving repeated mails from HDFC MD office regarding payment default on credit card, I became apprehensive and decided not to proceed with the loan for obvious reasons (fear of bad credit score, rejections from other FI and higher interest rates on loan if approved). This also led me to reduce the percentage of even my contribution toward marriage expenses.
So, considering approaching DCRC, mentioning the whole scenario to them ( If RBIO close the case w/o compensation).

Sir thanks for your suggestion.
My case is unique.

So, considering approaching DCRC, mentioning the whole scenario to them ( If RBIO close the case w/o compensation).
bhai marriage ke liye bhi loan lena hota hai!!??.. simple marriage karlo... marriage se pehle miles collect karlo.. then free/discounted honeymoon enjoy karo (just kidding 😛 )

sensible advice sir 👍

considering the number of increasing complaints against HDFC, RBI may definitely twist HDFC’s arm. Would I recommend it in your case? Maybe not. If the present situation is giving you stress, further escalation may affect your health.

HDFC after mr. Puris exit is run by a bunch of egoist retards.

Hdfc New

If you wish to go ahead All the Best. I will just give you a heads up, the pic is just like what sunit said. Till RBI it is fine; if you go beyong that entity, the problems multiply.
The whole system is rotten from top to bottom....I understand your pain....You will keep fighting but this fight will never end...

The MD's office claimed that I was ineligible for CLE and Upgrade due to a payment default on my card. When I asked for evidence of this default, including the date it allegedly occurred, the office consistently refused to provide any proof. Despite follow up three times, MD office response remained unchanged.
The reply which you received from MD Desk, what is from a woman named Bhanu Rekha or Reema Kaimal ???
If its one of them; I would say escalate it to RBI itself; and tag all the Senior Managment. Bhai ye dono log 💩💩💩 log hai bank. F##### bloody shi###### who have no respect for customer, they are downright manipulative and Arrogant AF. Send some strong worded emails to Senior Management.

I have heard so much about these Bas#### even before joining this forum (from more than a 1 and half year ago ) From some internal Telegram groups which I was in and reddit as well. If I was their Boss, I would fired these ass#### long ago. Let me provide you some senior id's I have had from that time

sashi.jagdishan@hdfcbank.com ||| managingdirector@hdfcbank.com ||| kaizad.bharucha@hdfcbank.com ||| bhavesh.zaveri@hdfcbank.com ||| paresh.soni@hdfcbank.com ||| parag.rao@hdfcbank.com |||

DM me your Branch. because, there is a high chance that even after sending emails to them; the reply will still be from above 2 people. You will have to escalate through your Branch Banking Head, Cluster Head and Group Head and sit on their heads to look into your complaint and escalate it to Director Level Person