• Hey there! Welcome to TFC! View fewer ads on the website just by signing up on TF Community.

What are the options to pay indirectly via Amex when Amex is not accepted?

nikhilk21

TF Buzz
Hello everyone,

I wanted to know what do you guys generally do when Amex is not accepted for a particular payment? I have been using MRCC & Plat Travel since last 3 months. Although my monthly expenses are ~ 60-70k, I am able to only do 20-25k through direct Amex/GVs. To avoid the stress of hitting 20k every month, and the 4L annual milestone I started loading MobiKwik @3% charges and using that

Is this wise? Would I be getting net +ve returns on my MR earned? Is there any other way you guys pay via Amex indirectly?

Last edited:
American express charges 3% MDR from every merchant, hence most merchants don't want to accept them
even most swipe machines in India don't accept them.

Mobikwik is simply passing on the 3% charges to you.
It is not wise to lose 3% every time.
You need to buy 1500 x 4 Amazon pay from Amex Gyftr portal every month. Or 5000 x 4

American express charges 3% MDR from every merchant, hence most merchants don't want to accept them

You need to buy 1500 x 4 Amazon pay from Amex Gyftr portal every month. Or 5000 x 4
Thanks for the response. I do use the GV wherever I can. But still there are a lot of payments that cannot be done using Apay Wallet, specifically the UPI payments to small vendors. So, my Amazon GVs are just getting piled up in my APay wallet.

Kindly provide link for AMEX Gftr

I don't think you can load using credit card and it is not for UPI payments
We can load gosat using cc, new account need to wait 15 days and 5 card load transaction

Post that there maybe multiple options:
1. Use gosat prepaud card off-line/online
2. Use it via snapay for utilities payment/ cc payment (neft)
3. Use on superpe for upi payment

Go through this once

Post in thread 'AMEX PLATINUM TRAVEL CARD BEST WAYS TO SPEND'