Infinia What's the big deal about the Infinia?

d3rvish

I'm not trying to be provocative, just genuinely puzzled about why this card is held in such high regard and so many people seem to think it's some kind of endgame card.

Just to break the benefits down:

1. 3.3% reward rate on regular spends (with a whole bunch of exclusion categories). This is hardly best in class, even if you take the Magnus party to be over.

2. Unlimited Priority Pass. Meh. Been there, got that.

3. Get one night's stay free on a two-night paid stay (at best available rate, I assume). Decent, but limited to ITC hotels. Ditto for the buy one-get one on buffets. Also, few five-star buffets are all that great, and I don't think most ITC restaurants make that cut. I'd rather take the Magnus Eazydiner 40% off up to Rs 1000 at a large number of restaurants (of which a large number are very good) once a month instead.

4. Club Marriott membership. Overrated and you end up spending a fair amount if you try to optimise this membership. And its for just the first year.

5. "Global Personal Concierge". Yeah, right. Bollocks. I think just about every so-called credit card concierge available in India below the level of the Amex Centurion one, probably, is rubbish.

6. "Metallic card". Ergo, a heavier wallet. A truly stunning benefit.

7. Forex mark-up of just 2%. Cancelled out by the lack of a points accelerator on forex spends.

8. Good Food Trail Programme. I do not know what this is and don't care enough to find out.

9. Overseas travel insurance. Appreciated, but you need to yell at them to actually get a valid policy document

10. Smartbuy travel portal for accelerated rewards. I'd rather book directly with airlines and hotels because when things go wrong, you're most likely screwed if you've booked with an OTA, particularly those like Yatra and whoever, who are Smartbuy's vendors. But yeah, I can see this is a solid benefit for those who don't mind booking via OTAs. Though with the caps on points earning per day/transaction, the rewards are not as good as they used to be.

11. Gyftr vouchers whatever blah. Okay. A valuable benefit.

I don't know if I've missed something major, but if you look at that list, it's wildly disproportionate to the awestruck talk this card inspires. Truly a marketing case study of demand created by artificial scarcity and social media buzz. If the restrictions about how many points you can earn a day did not apply and the terms and conditions were the same as they were some 3 years ago, this card would be a clear winner, but the way it is now, I don't think it is quite that?

maybe. but just understanding your reasoning with the card you like.

you excluded all points saying nada, meh, been there even with 3 years, after using much better, average, and ok multipliers in smartbuy (16% is just blah..)

15% discount then and now with Swiggy Dineout along with platform offers.

1% extra with global value program to get positive rewards with forex spends even after markup.

1 RP = 1Rs. even with Tanishq just incase in 3 years points validity not able to plan for travel or sufficient points for apple products.

You liked and hope saw best and worst phases in Prestige and still thinks better than other cards (even atlas better).

Travel, not everyone likes or patience to understand, wait and postpone their plans because of award seats. Some needs simple option, just book (after discount and rewards it should be lesser than other platforms) revenue bookings and go.

Even all these I'm not saying this is the best card or worth big deal with bank to get this card. There is a better card for everyone, depends on specific categories of spending, rewards, redemption options.

If I just say, "whats the big deal about apay card?" with

5% cashback on amzn, only with 1500rs. prime - Meh. Been there. got that.

1% on others - whatever blah, okay.

means, it never is a big deal for me.

But this card designed for new to card who has simple cashback for their normal spends, who doesn't know whether they can handle rewards, miles etc.

I'm a keen fan of APay card too.

I took Manhattan to get 5% on Offline groceries, Supermarket, no voucher allowed shopping stores. Which simply no other card provides 5% as cashback even Infinia or Prestige.

If the card features not beneficial to you then its not a big deal card to you.

Note: even big fans also switched to magnus because that provides better value than this and moved back when its not, because those people value and see these features in different way.

There are big deal cards for Cashback, big deal cards for Miles, big deal cards for revenue bookings, big deal cards for voucher. Each fan has their own favvourite cards.

Still would like to know which card is a big deal to you and preferred redemption?

I also regularly use this offer from Infinia, though I have noticed one thing that I do not get the 3.3% cashback on the spends.

Eg : If I get 1000Rs off on a 5000Rs bill and pay 4000Rs at the restaurant, 4000Rs is not eligible for base 3.3% RP. I noticed this recently in my CC bill statement.

I also regularly use this offer from Infinia, though I have noticed one thing that I do not get the 3.3% cashback on the spends.

Eg : If I get 1000Rs off on a 5000Rs bill and pay 4000Rs at the restaurant, 4000Rs is not eligible for base 3.3% RP. I noticed this recently in my CC bill statement.
Some Swiggy transactions are marked as grocery based on the MCC. HDFC now calculates grocery RPs on a calendar month basis, meaning the points may come in the statement after the one where the transactions are billed, depending on when you transacted. You're sure that isn't the case here?

Actually with the recent deval, value toh Kam Hui hai points ki, now the burgundy magnus is more attractive lekin....axis pe bharosa nahi hai hearing rumours about more (hopefully better) changes coming to magnus... Let's wait and see