Which Debit Card to use for Credit Card Bill Payment in February & March 2025

The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.
Hi people,

I've Kotak 811 super, IDFC First DC, SBI Rupay DC and HDFC Millennia DC.

Could you suggest me how can i maximise my rewards on paying Credit Card bills using these options?

Thanks!!
Apply 2nd IDFC debit card, add-on IDFC firstap RuPay variant debit card.

You will get same rewards + 10x rewards and one more time welcome rewards.

Use on phonepe app cc bill payment, there is no charges on RuPay variant.

Read the post carefully.

what is MCC for justdial is it 4900 ?
Transaction of CC bill from Just Dial failing with Kotak DC details. Tried multiple times.
I think now is the time to close the Kotak account
After Axis, Kotak is also added to my list of unrealiable and avoidable list
I am happy with SBI and HDFC with IDFC and other smaller banks in the mix.
I will not ask how to close 811 account here as there is another thread for that

@Abhishek012 bhai I recently got converted to select program from basic variant in last week. Today I activated select DC by generating pin & did 1005rs transaction for 4000RPs. I will also do monthly milestone on app. I am yet to get physical DC.

1. So will it be ok if I apply for this FirstTAP rupay dc today itself or I should wait?

2. Also from this firstTap we can do only max 5000 bill payments right? I have seen larger amount from this DC, how users are doing it?

3. After activation of firstTap I will be also eligible for 1st transaction right? Considering i activated select visa DC today itself? Hopefully there is no such criteria that either or one will get because visa is activated recently? Please confirm.

4. For visa I used phonepe to try merchant but I didn't got those merchant which was expected (was trying). So For visa & rupay which platforms to use other than phonepe for credit card bill payments?

@Abhishek012 bhai I recently got converted to select program from basic variant in last week. Today I activated select DC by generating pin & did 1005rs transaction for 4000RPs. I will also do monthly milestone on app. I am yet to get physical DC.

1. So will it be ok if I apply for this FirstTAP rupay dc today itself or I should wait?

2. Also from this firstTap we can do only max 5000 bill payments right? I have seen larger amount from this DC, how users are doing it?

3. After activation of firstTap I will be also eligible for 1st transaction right? Considering i activated select visa DC today itself? Hopefully there is no such criteria that either or one will get because visa is activated recently? Please confirm.

4. For visa I used phonepe to try merchant but I didn't got those merchant which was expected (was trying). So For visa & rupay which platforms to use other than phonepe for credit card bill payments?
Visa/mastercard not eligible on phonepe app and also extra charges.

ya apply firstap RuPay now, no need to wait. You will again get 4k welcome rewards, in short 2 times 4k+4k welcome rewards. One from primary card and one from firstap RuPay dc.

Note - your welcome rewards is included on your monthly reward capping.

Firstap RuPay card spend - you will get same rewards + 10x rewards as per your select account.

So, use Firstap RuPay DC on phonepe app and pay cc bill payment.

RuPay variant all merchant names already mentioned in my post.

Daily ecom limit is 1 lakh per day, use every day.

you can also use on freecharge app, no extra charges on firstap RuPay.

@Abhishek012 I am trying to pay via my IDFC Wealth Debit Card through PhonePe. Getting merchant name as Phonepe Pvt Ltd. Will that qualify for rewards?

apply 2nd IDFC debit card, add-on firstap RuPay.

For an IDFC Wealth account – It’s an IDFC Wealth Debit Card, but in the RuPay variant.

Apply firstap RuPay. You will again get 8k welcome rewards.

Now firstap RuPay - use cc bill payment on phonepe app and get same rewards + 10x rewards too.

Eve

For an IDFC Wealth account – It’s an IDFC Wealth Debit Card, but in the RuPay variant.

Now firstap RuPay - use cc bill payment on phonepe app and get same rewards + 10x rewards too.

you can also use on freecharge app, no extra charges on firstap RuP

And even if the merchant name is www phonepe com, then also we'll not get points if I have a visa card?

ya apply firstap RuPay now, no need to wait. You will again get 4k welcome rewards, in short 2 times 4k+4k welcome rewards. One from primary card and one from firstap RuPay dc.

Note - your welcome rewards is included on your monthly reward capping.

Firstap RuPay card spend - you will get same rewards + 10x rewards as per your select account.

So, use Firstap RuPay DC on phonepe app and pay cc bill payment.

Thanks Bhai..kar deta hu apply abhich...BTW ye daily Ecom limit 1 lakh per day means 5k multiple times karna padega na cc bill payments? Ya max 1L ka ek shot me bhi ho jayega cc bill payment..

Arey bhai jab likha he visa mastercard not eligible toh milega nahi na
No bro. Milega, if it tag correct (eligible) mcc. I am not aware specific to that exact merchant name though, but good probability mil sakta hay. Saath mein charges v dena padega. 0.6%.

And even if the merchant name is www phonepe com, then also we'll not get points if I have a visa card?
There is a good chance, do some test transaction.

But why u want to use visa? When u can generate rupay and reward limit is same. Rupay has many advantages like zero charges, always correct mcc etc.

No bro. Milega, if it tag correct (eligible) mcc. I am not aware specific to that exact merchant name though, but good probability mil sakta hay. Saath mein charges v dena padega. 0.6%.

There is a good chance, do some test transaction.

But why u want to use visa? When u can generate rupay and reward limit is same. Rupay has many advantages like zero charges, always correct mcc etc.
Rupay can't be generated for accounts having joint holding. I checked with IDFC bank.

The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.